We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best hotel”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Just returned from another stay at the Bungalows. As always Stella and Erik were there to tend to our every need. Our room was quite nice, the pool refreshing as always and the breakfasts to die for. Who can not love banana pecan pancakes with fresh fruit and fruit smoothie for breaksfast. And their Cabo coffee is fantastic. We are sad that there are so many fears about Mexico, because Cabo remains safe, you are guaranteed great weather and the staff at the Bungalows does everything in their power to make it a great stay. We ask for a rent a car, it was delivered with in fifteen minutes. We asked for in room massages and we had a massage therapist there the next morning on time and both had a wonderfully relaxing massage. The morning breakfast allows you to meet others, talk about where to go, what to do and the atmosphere is just perfect for those who want to relax, avoid the glitz, the crowds and simply relax. And if you want the nightlife, its a cab ride away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lutzinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    90
    22
    12
    2
See reviews for
127
402
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Eric and Jr. are great, everybody treats you like family. Eric will provide recomendations for just about anything you can think of. Eric set up a fishing trip for my son and I, everything was great. Try to get Eric to go fishing with you!

Room Tip: Any of the casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 74inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

we stayed here for 5 days and really liked this hotel. whey serve breakfast each morning with fresh fruit, a main dish and excellent coffee. the pool was a great place to beat the heat, and the hotel is in a very quiet part of town. it's a bit of a walk into the center of town (10 minutes), but it's nothing taxing. the rates were extremely reasonable, and the room (cozy suite) had plenty of space. we chose this place based on a lonely planet recommendation and we were not disappointed. the staff (eric and family) was extremely welcoming and helpful the entire time. highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fulbright2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My fiancee and I just returned from a perfect vacation in Cabo. If you want a change of pace from the All-Inclusive resort scene, then The Bungalows is your place. Eric and Estrella will make you feel like you are at a home away from home as soon as you arrive!!!

All the reviews are true! A stay at The Bungalows will not disappoint. The breakfast is wonderful and I doubt anyone knows Cabo any better than Eric. We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SethB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Not just for families and couples. Stayed with two of my buddies over 4th of July weekend and absolutely loved it. Greeted by Eric with a big hug and he took care of our every need the entire stay. We had no problem walking back and forth to the downtown/marina area, but eventually found a driver who would pick us up anywhere at any time so we started taking advantage of that for $5 - $10 a ride. Rooms were clean and looked just like the pictures show. Tons of plants, trees, and flowers in the courtyard give it a much more secluded feel than the big resorts on the beach. And as other reviewers have said, you can still check out the other resorts whenever you want..just walk down the beach and pick one and hit the pool at your leisure (don't forget to check out the Nikki Beach pool party on Sunday!). My only complaint was that there was no meat served with breakfast, but I was more just giving the staff a hard time. We had quiche, waffles, and pancakes the three days we ate, served with fresh fruit, juice, and smoothies....very tasty and great for hangovers! Price was very reasonable and the staff was extremely friendly. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkopec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Bungalows. The property is small but gorgeous and very intimate. The family who runs it is exceedingly welcoming and helpful and made us feel right at home. The rooms (and we saw several of them) are all immaculately clean and well appointed. What set this Inn apart was defintely the service and character. The rooms were not cookie-cutter, and we were treated like old friends, rather than a number. It made for a very different (in a good way) experience from the large resorts down on the beach. They were also able to arrange a FANTASTIC massage therapist who came to our suite. She was so good I booked her TWICE. Very reasonable prices, delicious breakfast and zero regrets.

The only caveats: it is a little bit of a walk to get down to the beach. Definitely doable, but not for the lazy, or anyone with mobility issues. I also got quite a few mosquito bites at dawn and dusk--- but they seek ME out for some reason no matter where I am... no-one else got a single bite. If you're like me, bring your bug spray just incase.

Other bonuses: A feeling of being in Mexico rather than a nameless resort. Away from the crowds and loud party scene (but still accessible if thats what you want). Yummy fish taco stands just around the corner. They can arrange a very reasonably priced and hassle free private transfer to/from the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are darling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank whiteheather99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel was absolutely wonderful- went on and read all the reviews before we went and everything was exactly as I read. It is small, quaint and beautiful. Old spanish hotel with the buildings surrounding a center courtyard/pool area and bouganvilla growing up the walls. The grounds are impeccable. The best part however, THE STAFF!!! Eric is truly an amazing host- anything that you needed, he got for you. All guests are greeted like old friends and treated that way the entire time. The breakfast is included and each one was homemade and AMAZING, we never ate anywhere else for breakfast. Stuffed french toast, cheese omlettes with a homemade mushroom sauce, spanish style eggs style and pecan/apple filled waffles. WOW!

Other stuff- the rooms are very nice with really comfortable beds and down pillows. All have A/C, small kitchen areas with microwave and a fridge. Buy some beer and snacks and keep them there, big plus. Make sure to do this so you don't have to go walking for snacks when you're hungry. Our room had a large plasma tv and dvd player, bonus is that Eric has a very large collection of really good, current, DVD's that you can borrow at any time.

We stayed in suite, room #3, which is on the bottom floor and had a separate seating area apart from the bedroom/kitchen. Nice clean bathroom/shower. I think this is one of the best because of the LARGE PRIVATE patio off the back. It has two lounge chairs and a hammock, but the best part if the fact that there are beautiful trees over it and vine covered walls. Our friends stayed in the King suite that is on the second floor, had its own covered patio/kitchen/bar area with a hammock and a completely separate room with a pullout sofa that would be great for kids.

Yes, it is a short walk to town, this is the only downside, if there is one at all. But the streets are safe and we never felt worried. Not a long walk, 5-10 minutes. You can take a cab for a few dollars every time if you want- heck, with the money you will save on this hotel and breakfasts, plus the quaintness and personableness, it would more that make up for it. Honestly, you will pay $20 at least to eat in town every day in order to get a breakfast as good. Also, if you are worried that you might miss out on the fancy hotels with the fancy pools, well, go to one! They don't charge you to go there, we did it for a day just to check it out, and it was nice. But, way overcrowded, the drinks are very expensive, so if you were to stay at the hotel it would be crazy expensive. I personally liked visiting the giant hotels and escaping back to our oasis when we were done.

Room Tip: Room 3 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pbwetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,183 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Property: The Bungalows Hotel
Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing