We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

You will not be disappointed by Sirena del Mar! We traveled there for a week stay with 5 other couples the end of March. We are all ages 40-45 and loved it here! This hotel was a great find! The rooms are spacious and clean and have everything you would need. We stocked up on food for the kitchen (grocery store, Walmart/Sams or Costco are a short ride down the road) and had breakfast and lunch in our rooms daily. You can mix your own drinks and bring poolside without any hassle, which was nice for our group! We were NEVER bothered by the timeshare people--you can go to them if you want, but they will not stop you when you are there, which was very nice considering how many places in Mexico are NOT like that. The staff, especially Manny and Carlos, were great!! They've got some activities planned every day and different dinner nights during the week--we did the poolside BBQ Sunday which was great! Just as an FYI, we did the pool bartending class one afternoon, but didn't know until the end, it's not free--I believe it was about $18 per person, but you do get 3 drinks and 3 shots and it was a good time! Also, snorkeling down on the beach is available daily. We only ate dinner there once, which was pretty good. There is only the 1 restaurant, so if you want lots of dining options, you need to go to town, but it's a short cab ride there. Had a great massage one afternoon also. This hotel is very relaxing--not loud, not jammed with people, just a great, fairly quiet, small hotel. There's nothing much to do there at night, so if you're looking for nightlife, this isn't the place for you. The views from the hotel are amazing!! We did see whales most days right from the pool or the balcony of our room. Just as a side note, we had a group of 10 people and did not use the hotel shuttle to/from the airport, but booked through Impala ground services, which is insideloscabos.com. They were much cheaper and we had absolutely no issues with them--huge, new van, timely and they stopped at Costco for us on the way to the hotel for an extra $35, which was so convenient. (You prebook online and prepay via paypal for the round trip service)My husband and I loved Sirena--especially the smaller size. You will not be disappointed with this hotel--the views, the rooms, the staff--it was all great!!

Room Tip: Amazing views from the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    275
    62
    20
    14
See reviews for
369
808
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We're Welk owners, and decided that going to Cabo yearly is a great way to get away from Oregon rain. Every year we learn things to make next years' trip easier. This years' lessons: maybe taking a cab to/from the airport is just as easy as pre-arranging private cars; we still think using cabs & public transport is less stressful than renting a car; going to try to add an additional week to extend the Cabo feel next year.
It seems that the disappointments in others reviews often are related to Sirena del Mar being a timeshare property, not a hotel. True, you must pay if you want daily maid service; true, the restaurant is not a destination culinary experience; and you may get a pitch to go to the timeshare talk. But, from my experiences at other timeshare facilities, this one is very low-key. The positives are that every room has a fantastic view, beautifully appointed with a kitchen, dining room and living room. Fees and charges are minimal because it's not how this facility makes their money (it's from people buying into it).
I was very pleased this year with the massage I had. The therapist was excellent! Thanks to all the staff that made our week at Sirena del Mar fantastic, especially Francisco, Roman, Gina and Manny.
Counting the days till we return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabernt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. The staff was friendly, the rooms are nice, the property was extremely clean & well kept and the best part are the views - from every inch of the resort in addition to our room!! I have read different reviews about the food but we liked every meal we had. (and my husband calls me a food snob) The breakfasts were especaily yummy & taco Tuesday was awsome! We will definetly be back. I cant think of anywhere else I would rather go on vacation now. I think the bar & resteraunt prices were reasonable. After a week of "can you put it on our room?" at the bar and resteraunt, we were pleasantly surprised with our bill. (AFTER we remembered it was in pesos & not dollars!! LOL! few!) We were expecting to owe more! ( : I especially loved going down to the beach which was always nearly empty, beautiful & relaxing! The resteraunts up the hill were good & we enjoyed the walk - it really wasnt as bad as some have described it - we are in our mid 40's. The "adventure" walking back in the dark was especially fun. Cant wait for next year...we'll be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostonterrierlover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Cabo with the intent of relaxing. In other words, for siesta, not fiesta! The property was very well kept, and the rooms are a dream. Perfectly suited, with a view that will distract you from just about anything. I lucked out with a corner room, in the new building, with a veiw of the pool grounds to the left, and the Arch to the right. There is a small shop with water, beer, wines, snacks and a few other items located next to check in. If I had known this I may have forgone the 10$ taxi to Walmart.

A taxi into Cabo was about 160 peso's if that's your thing. I did venture in one night for dinner at The Office but otherwise was completely content at the resort.

I travelled alone and always felt safe and secure. The Mexican people, in partifular the staff at the Sirena del Mar, are so accommodating that their helpful attitudes put me in the best mood every day. The hotel concierge can arrange your transport to and from the hotel from the airport. I would recommend this. And do follow instruction to avoid all people pretending to know anything about you until you exit the airport and see drivers waiting for you.

With the exception of one day lounging by the pool with a group of adults playing their own music and being a little obnoxious the pool/bar and view complete the most comfortable situation. I think they will improve their dining options in the future, and with this the resort will be incomparable with others for the value. All in all, a perfect hotel experience, I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We ended up booking this room last minute because two of our other favorite resorts were sold out and when hotels.com had a deal last minute, we jumped on it because it made it to the 2013 Traveler's Choice list and figured it can't be a bad place!

First off, let me say that all the rooms are oceanfront view rooms, you can't get a bad view. However, any room that is a Deluxe 1-bedroom villa and not a PREMIUM (two different rooms) will be the smaller room of 490 sq ft. with a kitchenette (two electric stove top, no oven), microwave, sink, dishwasher, dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc.), a washer/dryer with detergent for your convenience, eating area, couch, decent bathroom and a balcony. Our room was pretty decent for what we paid for, but after we saw the Premium 1-bedroom, we regretted not going with that (but we didn't have the option anyway, since they only had one room left and that was our room).

Checking in was a little long, resort fee a day is $7, which is pretty cheap. Room cleaning service is only if you requested, otherwise it's once a week. One restaurant with mediocre food, we ate here three times, once for lunch, once for dinner and once for breakfast, not too many options. Lunch and dinner menus are the same, different theme dinner events every night (extra, usually $35 a person).

If you sit through a timeshare presentation, you can usually get what you want for free excursions, we got to do the dolphin encounter with pick up and drop off for free for doing a breakfast timeshare presentation.

This place is rather quiet, rooms were apparently all sold out yet, we hardly saw all 36 rooms out in public at once. Pools were always available with ample space. There was a wedding that took place one night and even then, it wasn't that loud.

It was a nice place for us to get away for my babymoon and since we had a toddler with us, nothing too rowdy. We got a cab to go to a nearby market to buy and cook our own food on most days, made more sense and more cost effective.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Welk's Sirena Del Mar is our home away from home.We travel there regularly and have never had a bad experience.The property is absolutely stunning and private as it is located conveniently out of town. The staff is exceptional with their service and always friendly. The convenient location on the cliffs overlooking the Sea of Cortez provide beautiful views of migrating sea life and passing boats from the fully equipped and luxurious rooms.

This year we traveled in the low season during February. With less crowds we were able to see much of the Cape as well explore even more inside Cabo San Lucas with ease. The bbq pit, firepit, pool and jacuzzi at the resort were all hits this trip as always. Chileno Beach and Cabo Pulmo provided awesome beach experiences and we will definitely return to both locations.

While the resort does only have a small poolside resturant - a larger, full service resort restaurant is current under construction - the fully equipped kitchens in the room make up for any inconvenience.

Bottom line...after traveling the Carribean, Europe, and Asia I have yet to find a location or resort which exceeds Sirena Del Mar!

Room Tip: The rooms in both buildings are great but the higher the room the better view you have!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StepAtATime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Previous reviews are very accurate. The place is lovely, very clean, quiet (mostly, except happy hour but that is to be expected), and not too far from Costco, Walmart and Los Cabos. The Penthouse was very spacious, clean, well stocked kitchen (but dull knives) with great views and morning whale watching from the deck was wonderful.
Only a few people would get up early and place towels on the best seats. Not nearly as bad as in some places we have been. Occasionally it was hard to find someone to take a poolside drink/food order and you would have to go to the swim up bar and get it yourself. But apart from that not much to complain about.
One reviewer said there was no snorkeling but you can go down to the beach and snorkel on the far side. You must be a good swimmer to swim on the near side especially if the tide is out. Small kids can swim a little right where the snorkeling is, with fish all around you! And there seemed to never be more than 10 people on the beach at one time. You can sign out backpack beach chairs to take down there with you.
The best part about the Sirena Del Mar is the staff. They were outstanding and we had heard many have been there for quite some time. You can tell. From Jazzie at Concierge who warned us of the hustlers at the Airport (totally true) and were very happy to take our prepaid shuttle with the guy waiting outside for us. If you rent a car the Mega store is on the way to the Resort just past San Jose (wished we had gone there instead of Walmart). Francisco at the Front who gets your cabs for you was great. He always negotiated the price before we got in the cab and told us prices for coming home or stopping off somewhere. Always smiling and very helpful. The real stand out was the Activities Manager: Manny. I can't say enough about this employee. He does the snorkeling class at 10 am, the fun water aerobics at noon, bingo some days, spanish lessons, etc. Lots of fun things to do but only if you want to. He is always there with a big smile and really added to the experience. Outstanding!
The food at the restaurant was quite good. My one son loved the steak and the other the calamari.The tubs of their Guacamole in the small store was really great and worth buying. All the tacos were very good, especially on $2 Tues. And the drink prices were reasonable with happy hour in the afternoons.
When you read that it is a quite place at night (a draw for us) it is very true. By 6 pm there is no one by the pools and it is very quiet with only the crashing waves on the rocks to listen to (and Music on Friday Fiesta Night which was nice to hear). Go to Medano Beach for a crazy, loud time if you need it.
The place never seemed very crowded and we were there Mar 13-22. Lots of people we met were repeat customers and I can see why. Not many kids and no young ones really.
As for it being a time share place, when we checked in Jazzie mentioned a meeting we could go to in 2 days but we didn't go and it was never mentioned again. I did occasionally see the sales staff walking people around but it was not obtrusive. If I return to Cabo I would stay there again as it was very relaxing, wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Penthouse Rooms are very spacious (1400 sq ft) and the older building (we were in, Rm 1504) had bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,203 reviews
2.7 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,754 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Property: Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 | Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is either ocean or garden view. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca and indoor Estrella Restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing