We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,603)
Filter reviews
1,603 results
Traveler rating
1,191
301
68
25
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
301
68
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachestrella restaurantfull kitchenwhelkswasher dryerswim up barhome depotrented a carfire pitactivities directortacomexican fiestasmall resortthe penthouseocean viewtime shareon the rocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,308 - 1,313 of 1,603 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I just returned from a week at the Welk Resort Sirena Del Mar in Cabo San Lucas.There are so many wonderful things to say about this place that I don't even know where to begin. First, when driving down the narrow road to the resort, you realize it's not part of the highly commercialized properties in Cabo. There are many resorts where our transportation stopped to pick up other visitors, and you could see that some of these places were huge. If you're looking to stay in a large Vegas style resort, this is not the place for you. If, however, you're looking to spend an incredible time at a beautiful resort with spectacular views, amenities, and personalized customer service, then this is the place to be. From your arrival to your departure, you are treated as a real guest at Sirena Del Mar. Everyone knows your name, what room you are in, and treat you with such great kindness and care that this kind of service is very hard to compare to anything you would ever get at a large resort.

The large villa featured a nice kitchen with stainless steel appliances including full sized fridge, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, there was also a washer/dryer, a large jacuzzi in the master bedroom, separate a/c units in the living room/kitchen and the bedroom areas to keep things comfy. One of the most incredible parts of the of the villa was the almost 400sq ft balcony overlooking the Sea of Cortez, the infinity pools below, and the famous Arcos (arch) in the distance. It's simply amazing and the views are spectacular.

This is a time share, however, there is no pressure to participate in their presentations. They will offer you a free excursion if you speak with one of their sales agents for 30-60min. Otherwise there is no mention of buying. Very unlike one resort in Cancun where the staff were knocking on doors daily, putting pamphlets under the door, and constantly trying to coral you into their sales room with high pressure to buy.

For my tastes, this was the perfect spot. It is about 3-4miles from the Marina and downtown area. Taxi to Marina is $15 flat rate. Taxi to WalMart, Costco is $10. Far enough from the downtown madness to be a very quiet and relaxing environment and close enough to enjoy daily excursions and trips into town. For some, the Marina area might be an option to stay during your trip to Cabo, however, in my opinion, the Sirena Del Mar offered the perfect balance of location and serenity of the quiet beauty.

In an attempt to make this review balanced, I tried to find 3 things that I didn't consider perfect about Sirena Del Mar. The first one, and perhaps the most annoying, was the internet service. Everyone in the resort was having trouble with the wifi in their rooms, and the only reliable service was in the restaurant area on the 1st floor. The internet is certainly not the highest priority when vacationing in Cabo, however, when you want to make a Skype call or a quick check of email and you can't connect, it is very annoying. They worked diligently to try to fix the problem, and even had their corporate office working to resolve the problem, but after 6 days it still had not been fixed. The 2nd thing that wasn't the most appealing is the break in peaceful serenity during some of their special events. The Friday Night fiesta dinner which includes a Mexican food buffet and an open bar. The food is actually very good. However, the blasting of loud music from the pool area is understandably a part of the fiesta ambience, it detracts from the peacefulness of this beautiful resort. You couldn't really hear it from your villa unless opening the entry door. The waves seemed to drown out the noise from the ocean front balcony and windows. They even add a little Mexican Flea Market at the edge of the pools selling blankets, silver, and other very basic souvenirs. As I mentioned, this isn't a big deal, and I'm sure some enjoyed the loud 'fiesta' music. In the small resort atmosphere, it just seemed a bit out of place. The last thing, was only an issue on the final night and may have only been the guests above me. The ceilings/floors seemed a bit thin as I was woken up by what sounded like a woman in heels clomping back and forth across the unit above me for at least an hour. The next morning, there was no sound of heels, but the stomping continued. So it could have been thin floors or could have just been a group of heavy walkers. None of these things were significant enough to detract from my review of Sirena Del Mar. It is an excellent resort.

Special thanks to Concierge Ferda and Gina, and to Domingo, Maurio, Jesus, Antonio, and the Welk team for providing such a great experience. They truly offer great service.

Room Tip: Request a room above the first floor for the best views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank struct84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was our second stay at Sirena del Mar. We stayed here the first week of November and last year around the same time - both times in the penthouse (top floor, non-lock off 2 bedroom). The rooms themselves are very clean and well appointed. However, in the penthouse rooms the second bedroom is at the rear of the unit so those in that bedroom could not hear the ocean after retiring in the evening. There is a TV in both bedrooms, sitting room, and in the kitchen/dining area. There are no accessible plug in the sitting room where we spent most of our evenings so charging laptops and phones was difficult while using them. We were at the end of the row, furthest away from the lobby and pool areas and had some difficulty accessing the free wifi. Jesus did try to remedy this problem by adding another wifi repeater in the sitting room, but it did not help substantially. Wifi worked really well in the lobby and main pool areas. The room also had 4 air conditioning controllers for each area of the penthouse. The master bathroom was large with a walk-in shower (3 showerheads), jacuzzi tub, 2 sinks, and separate toilet area. The vanity mirror was awkwardly high so I had to stand on my tiptoes and tilt my head back to use it - not that anyone spends much time fooling with makeup in Cabo, but it was clumsy. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were one size fits all - very large and bulky.

The restaurant and bar is only open until 5 PM, but there were several nights of special activities with music and food available. The beach is only accessible by walking around the lobby and down a long flight of stairs. The waves can be rough and there are shallow rocks to be aware of, but we enjoyed some decent snorkeling. After checking in guests are shuffled off to the concierge for the obligatory timeshare push, but if you are firm there is no additional pressure. The star employee at Welk is Gina in the concierge. She has gone above and beyond in helping our group both trips. She always has a friendly smile and helped with arrangements for activities that we arranged through Welk and some we did not.

Being a timeshare, there is no daily maid service unless you pay extra, but there is a mid-week tidy to freshen up the rooms. There is also a resort fee that appears on the final invoice of 87.5 pesos per day. The resort did offer some organized activities, including wateraerobics, Spanish lessons, Salsa dance lessons, snorkeling, and games. The only one we investigated was snorkeling, but the activities director Manny never showed up and the staff said he had not yet arrived for the day (although snorkeling is scheduled for several days at the same time).

The resort is beautiful and quiet (for the time being anyway). There is a second set of rooms being constructed, expected to be completed by the end of December. There was some debate regarding the layout of the penthouse rooms in the new building - we were hoping for a double master suite arrangement, but received conflicting information from various staff members. The penthouse also has a huge balcony with chairs, table, and lounge chairs. This was the best place to enjoy an amazing view and listen to the waves crashing on the rocks below. We prefer the quiet, but did speak to others who complained about the lack of activities onsite. Being on the corridor between San Jose and Cabo San Lucas (but much closer to Cabo) there is not much within walking distance. We have driven in this area for the past four or five years without problems and would recommend renting a car, but there are taxis available (be prepared to pay). We enjoy this property and will continue to use our Welk points here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LovetoScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I was here with my fiance and family for seven days. The resort staff were amazing! Antonio at the front desk was especially funny... Carlos and Angel at the bar and restaurant were the best... great to chat with (about anything really, but especially Cabo) and friendly as well as quick to serve. Many a time I saw Carlos up and down stairs serving people pina coladas pool side. The cleaning staff were so kind, especially with how much trash the 10 of us made on a daily basis... picking up our overflow... and always giving us what we needed with genuine warmth and hospitality. And of course the porters and valets... always there with our rentals waiting and ready... and on return checking in on our needs and how our day out had been without being intrusive, but always having us feel welcome and happy! THANK YOU ALL so much for such a wonderful time. It wouldn't have been the same without you.

Not saying much about the actual resort... but just check out the website. They speak for themselves. BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL! And far enough from Cabo to feel like it's easy to get to but also far enough to be away from the craziness of it too. Easy access to stores and groceries and local beaches with great snorkeling.

WE WILL DEFINITELY SEE YOU ALL AGAIN! HOPEFULLY SOONER THAN LATER!

MUCHAS GRACIAS TODOS!!!!!

Room Tip: We loved being on the same level with the pool and bar... but just far away enough that we had the ocean view right outside our balcony111
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rosemarie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This resort was perfect for a long weekend getaway with my husband. It has amazing views, beautifully tasteful decor, landscaping and grounds. If you want a beautifully relaxing getaway spot the Sirena del Mar is perfect (and the couples massage facing the ocean was also awesome). My husband and I did take the timeshare tour and were impressed how they explained the features of the property without being pushy. We chose not to buy because we don't plan to return to Mexico often but we have only the highest recommendations for the resort. If we do decide to go to Cabo again though, Sirena del Mar would be our first choice!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DenverMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We spent 4 spectacular days at this fine resort! Sucks to be back! Swimming up to the bar, seeing the whale tail in the distance, 180 degree ocean views from the room, 86 degrees out, incredible service...what more can we say? Book it now!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews