We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice & great view”

Puerta Vieja Restaurant
Ranked #124 of 608 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, wonderful service, good prices for vacation/nice restaurant, very clean, good variety/choices on menu. The view of the arch and rocks are beautiful, but there are power lines that obstruct your view a little from the patio seating, definitely able to ignore them and take in the view though. We would go back for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amsullivan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Public Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

We make everyday a special occasion. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated. We try our best every day to be the bes restaurant in Cabo.! See you back soon! It would be a pleasure to have you back with us on your next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 368 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great restaurant off the main highway - not far from the Costco if you use that as a landmark. The restaurant has beautiful view of the ocean/arc. We had seafood dishes here, including a wonderful scallop appetizer that was a special of the day. The chef stopped by to say "hi" and see how we liked our dishes, and there was great live music that was a great compliment to our evening. The service was just as wonderful as the food. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Cabo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QPiperQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Public Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Puerta Vieja Restaurant bar in Cabo San Lucas.
We make everyday a special occasion. Thank you for taking the rime to write a review. We appreciated. We try our best every day to be the bes restaurant in Cabo.! See you back soon! It would be a pleasure to have you back with us on your next trip
Marketing Puerta Vieja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I loved the ambiance of the restaurant. The food was amazingly seasoned, not too salty or bland, just perfect! the service was super. The view of cabo city lights and the ocean make it so romantic when you also have a live singer which used a drum, flute and other various musical instruments. Soooo romantic! We met the owners and they were very friendly. We felt like we were at a friends home not a restaurant. Our last night in Cabo we had to go back and repeat the experience one more time. We also at the the #1 restaurant in Cabo and let me tell you all this place should be #1 not that one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iramex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond:
We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful and sincere review, we are truly honored to hear that you had an amazing time at the restaurant. We look forward to pampering you in your next visit and we will do our best to make it even more memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I ate at Puerta Vieja on his birthday during a weeklong trip to Cabo. The restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge as the place local Mexicans celebrate special occasions. It rests over the ocean with a great view of the water and the arches, close enough to see the tip but a good distance from the craziness of the town. We ordered the lobster special, $20 for a good size tail with side dishes.

The décor is old style Mexican, elegant but not overly fancy or pretentious. There is a Cuban band that plays several nights a week but we missed it on our visit. I understand the show is quite good, but we enjoyed the visit just for the food. If you are looking for fresh, affordable, and elegant dining, this place is a great deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed at the Restaurant. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back.
Hasta Pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Eight of us, including my wife and I and our two year old grandson ate dinner last week. We had a table in the wine cellar. The meals were nothing short of excellent. My wife and I were in Paris and Rome a couple of months ago and our meals were better here than what we had in Europe. We were a little hesitant to have dinner here due to average reviews, but everyone had a great dining experience. My son and I both ordered the Mexican steak and the meal was wonderful. Our servers were very nice and attentive and were always available when we needed something. The Cuban music was an added touch we enjoyed. If you choose to eat outside, the views of Land's End are great. This restaurant should have much higher ratings in my opinion!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mulit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Public Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Puerta Vieja Restaurant bar in Cabo San Lucas.
We make everyday a special occasion. Thank you for taking the rime to write a review. We appreciated. We try our best every day to be the bes restaurant in Cabo.! See you back soon! It would be a pleasure to have you back with us on your next trip
Marketing Puerta Vieja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Vieja Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Puerta Vieja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing