We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view, the pace, the food, the service...que bueno!”

Puerta Vieja Restaurant
Ranked #123 of 601 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our second visit to Puerta Vieja was October 2012. We returned because we remembered the view of the harbor, the pace of the meal, the quality of the food, and the attentive service...and we were not disappointed.
For us this is a "last night" dinner--a time to sit and relax before the hectic travel the next day, an opportunity to chat with locals, and to eat well-prepared local cuisine. We sat on the deck/patio and listened to the soft flute and well-tuned voice of the performer. Our waiter was a young man with limited English skills, which, matched to my limited Spanish, made for additional entertainment--a real joy to get a bit silly and know that he was trying very hard to please us (he did).
Our meals, again, were excellent. We tend toward fish while in Los Cabos, and Puerta Vieja does not disappoint. We chatted with a few others and the opinion was the same: wonderful setting, good service, great food, right price (you get what you pay for here).
(Getting off and on the carretera [freeway] is a bit confusing, so get a good map and directions from a local. The road is safe in both directions. Park in the back of the restaurant; it's a bit hidden.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterJVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed at the Restaurant. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back.
Hasta Pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time we visited Cabo and we had to go back to experience this great place. We actually had our small wedding reception at Puerta Vieja in July 2011 and that was great but we wanted to go back and experience it more intimate. No disappointment. The food was delicious. they had a great flute player who played some great music and the sunset view just made it a very special night. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bellanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated.We make everyday a special occasion. It would be a pleasure to have you back with us on your next trip.
See you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

there were 8 of us and the evening was perfect! We had a great view of cabo- the staff was very attentive and happy! The owner was very hands on and a added bonus was the live music from Rosalia!!! Made the night special she is a true talent- the food was fresh -maybe a bit heavy on garlic if you like but love love this place!!! Recommend for romantic table for two or large group! great wine room also! A must while in Cabo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmptyWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.

Thank you for your high recommendations and beautiful description of your experience with us, your opinion is very important.We try our best every day to be the best restaurant in Cabo.!
Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

While in cabo we ate here twice. And i ate the same thing .. Prime rib and lobster tails. Mmmmm.. High cielings make the place look bigger but actually pretty big.. Excellents views of the arch.. Huge open windows gave a great breeze once the sun went down.. Staff very attentive.. Turned us on to don julio coffe tequilla .. If i stayed longer than 2 weeks and didnt want try all of cabo would have eaten here a third time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brettnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our menu at The Restaurant!
We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great food, service and views. This place can handle large or small groups and the service doesn't change - it is exceptional!!! The food is very good and is priced well. They have inside and some outside seating which makes it a good options for viewing the Arch.

Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.We are very pleased with your high criterion about us. I will be very happy to share it with our team members.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at Puerta Vieja.

See you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Vieja Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Puerta Vieja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing