We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always.... an excellent experince”

Puerta Vieja Restaurant
Ranked #122 of 601 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Food and service is absolutely top notch. A Cabo favourite

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Public Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

We work every day as a team to make your experience the best! So glad we succeeded. Please come and visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 364 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Food was very good, excellent service, but on the pricey side. Entrees ranged from $14 US up to $32 US. Outstanding view of the bay in Cabo San Lucas!

Thank kstedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Public Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Come and visit again soon. if you have any photos of the sunset please place them here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband, children and I went to Puerta Vieja Restaurant and were seated quickly although we didn't have a reservation. Our drink order was taken promptly also, but that was the end of efficient service for the remainder of the evening. We were in the restaurant late on a Friday night. Therefore, I can not comment on the view. The restaurant has a romantic, rustic feel. There was a woman singing various song and welcoming the guests. The section of the restaurant that we were seated in had a couple of lights missing from the lighting fixtures and no one attempted to chance the bulbs to provide better lighting. It was difficult to see the food that we were eating.

As for our food, the nachos that they served with the salsa were overcooked. The pina colada that I had was tasty. We ordered a seafood soup that was delicious. It was tomato based and had crab, shrimp, scallops and squid. I ordered sea bass, which was the catch of the day. It was overcooked and while the seasoning was savory, the texture was dry and rubbery.

We had to wait for a very long time to order additional drinks and for our entrees to be served. We had to wait even longer to receive our bill. We felt like the staff seated us and forgot about us.

Overall, the food was average, but the service was poor. We would not dine at this restaurant again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SavvyTraveler973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Public Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience and what we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This restaurant was located right next to our hotel, and when we got into town at 9 pm, we were thankful the restaurant was serving until 10 pm. The food was awesome and a perfect introductory meal to Cabo! Their patio looked awesome, but alas, we were there just before closing time so we didn't get to experience it. We started our meal with tortilla soup and seafood soup, both of which surpassed our expectations. My husband ate an awesome seafood sampler and I ate grilled chicken with veggies - all of it excellent. We will definitely return to this restaurant on our next trip to Cabo - reliable and yummy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lsayerscullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Public Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for such detail and nice review. It would be a pleasure to have you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great food, good value. Go on Wednesday, Friday or Sunday to enjoy the beautiful singing of Rosalia de Cuba with your dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I will be very happy to share it with our team members.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at Puerta Vieja.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Vieja Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Puerta Vieja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing