We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabo Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabo Inn Hotel
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Cabo Inn is an excellent hotel to stay at while in Cabo San Lucas. Victor, the owner, is very helpful to book tours, give useful insights of the area, and friendly. His parents, Stanley and Maria, are also very helpful in booking tours and friendly. Orneida, an employee, wrote me a detailed and useful email in how to get the correct shuttle from the airport to the hotel. The rooms are attractive and practical with a high quality air conditioner which feels great when it's hot out and one can sleep well. The common area is very warm with tenets and I met a lot of new people over complimentary morning coffee and conversations. The common area has lots of wonderful plants and foliage which bring in a very natural and pleasant feel to the hotel. I also enjoyed the swimming pool on the third floor and relaxed. Another attractive feature of the hotel is it's just a block away from the downtown area, marina, and shopping mall. I highly recommend Cabo Inn for your next visit in Cabo San Lucas. Review by Cliff Bull – Happy customer!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Imfriendly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    130
    23
    23
    18
See reviews for
39
140
146
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Cabo Inn is an unpretentious, cute and charming place that worked just find for my daughter and I on a 6 day visit this June. Plusses: it's not a big commercial resort that could be anywhere, it's real and it's in a real mexican neighborhood; it's cute and has an authentic charm; it's close to everything; it has A/C and comfy (though small) beds; staff are sweet and you won't feel like an ugly american staying here. you feel like you're actually traveling! Coupla minor negatives: rooms are tiny; A/C is loud; the towels are badly needing replacement (ha! i read about it and dismissed it but then there they were, all worn out and stained!); amenities are kinda lacking (but is that what you came for? for cable TV and a big pool?). Overall I would recommend it for anyone who likes an authentic, charming and comfortable place that does not require the ostentatious type of american luxury that has come to take over Cabo.

Room Tip: Those on the roof are cute but not so private. I would suggest the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff friendly and helpful. Basic rooms but if you are just looking for a bed because you want to spend your time outside enjoying Cabo then this is your place. Close to the beach, bars, clubs and the pier. Cool little sitting area on the roof complete with an outdoor pool (little but does the job) as well as an outdoor library.
Definitely reccommend for backpackers!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jowatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Nice place, kind of a mexican look.Very close to the bar and the beach. People at the desk can help you arrange activies and more. The surf teacher is very good ! I Enjoyed my stay!! I recommend the place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you are looking for luxurious rooms and great views, this is obviously not the place for you. But this will have everything else, including things that the best resorts do not offer.

My boyfriend and I stayed here after a few days in an all inclusive resort on the Corridor and after this stay, and this is way better than any resort. The rooms are small and old fashioned, but I thought it was clean and just what we expected for something this cheap. It was also pretty artsy: we stayed in the Picasso room, and there was a Picasso painted on the wall, kind of cool. We had some mosquito problems in the resort in the Corridor but there were no mosquitoes here. The shower was hot and pressure good, there was a fan as well as air conditioning which is definitely required in Cabo.

There were several different receptionists during the 3 days and they were all super helpful. The first guy helped us call a bunch of places because we were looking for tours on a Sunday, and apparently very few tours are available on Sundays. So he called a bunch of different places for us. BTW we stayed at a nice resort before this, and when we needed to urgently contact our tour company that didn't show up on time, the resort charged us 14 pesos per minute to dial from their phone in the lobby. Not only did Cabo Inn receptionist not charge us, but they called the tours for us to find the information and did so repeatedly.

Then the next day we realized we were low on sunscreen and the receptionist let us just borrow one for the day. We were pretty grateful because we were on a schedule and probably wouldn't have had time to shop around for sunscreen before going on a fishing trip, during which we were sure to burn. They also had all kinds of games that we borrowed to play during down times. And on the day we left, they told us another guest was leaving for the airport around the same time and coordinated for us to share a cab, which really reduced the fare for everyone.

We stayed at two resorts in Mexico before this, and the resort staff has NEVER been this helpful. They may be all manners but when we really needed something they never provided.

And in addition to all this, we really liked that there is a kitchen available. We had caught a marlin on a fishing trip and all the restaurants were charging 10-20 to cook it. We though eh it's a fresh fish, it practically cooks itself. So we went back and cooked it on the little gas stove they provided. The kitchen is fully stocked, and there was a little bit of oil, salt and pepper, just enough for us to cook up a delicious plateful. Again, this is something we would not be able to do at another hotel.

The common areas are also clean and nice to hang out. If you're looking for a super nice room to stay at and enjoy the view, this is not the place for you. But if you're not high maintenance about your sleep but need a bit of help with everything else, this is way better than any hotel I've ever been at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tracyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was very excited to stay at this hotel from the trip advisor reviews. When I first saw it, it was the #10 hotel in Cabo, it has since dropped to #20 and I can definitely see why. The location of the hotel (not being beach front) is very convenient to the beach and The Marina. We only had a short 10 min walk to the main area. My fiancé and I have travelled all over the world staying in average-high cost hotels. This was the one time I decided to take a risk and book a lower budget hotel based on the rave reviews and boy did I learn my lesson. The rooms were terrible. The door doesn't even fully shut - there is an opening on the top of the door as well as the bottom so you can hear all of the street noise throughout the night. Also, no vent/fan when using the shower. And the shower, wow, I had to keep my flip flops on because they were so bad. The worst shower I have ever seen let alone used. The people who work there didn't even acknowledge us when we would come in and head out, not the best customer service. This is the first and last time I will be staying at this hotel, it is more like a hostel in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stenigmaphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Cabo Inn Hotel was the perfect choice for me in Cabo. It was pleasant and homey, clean, had plenty of hot water,and was the right price. It is close to everything without being part of the large, resort scene. It's perfect for the independent traveller who wants to go to a resort destination without the "resort" experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Hotel Mar de Cortez
#37 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#35 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#42 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#38 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
#32 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Milagros Hotel
Los Milagros Hotel
#40 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Inn Hotel

Property: Cabo Inn Hotel
Address: 20 de Noviembre | entre L. Vicario y N. Mendoza, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabo Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Inn Hotel was originally built in 1955 and remains a stunning hotel with vibrant colors and traditional Mexican ambiance. We offer 20 rooms and we are centrally located 2 blocks from the marina. All rooms have air conditioning, TV's and refrigerators in most, additionally, we offer two rooftop palapa units. Located in the beautiful city of Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, the Cabo Inn Hotel is the perfect place for a fun-filled vacation or relaxing getaway. Our Cabo hotel is dedicated to providing you with quality amenities such as, a spacious community kitchen and grill, an outdoor social pool, FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and rooms, a shared balcony, sundeck, and more! The goal at our Cabo San Lucas hotel is to ensure you have an excellent stay whether for spring break, winter vacation, or the perfect Mexico getaway. We'll provide you with an authentic Mexico experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Cabo Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Inn Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing