We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for everyone”
Review of Cabo Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabo Inn Hotel
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place for everyone”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I really enjoyed this place. There was lots of great people staying here and the owners and staff we all so friendly and helpful. The rooftop chill area and pool was my favorite past of this cozy mexican hotel. The whole place felt warm and inviting and had a great vibe about it.
Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms are amazing and you'll wish you booked one when you see them in person. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    134
    28
    25
    20
See reviews for
44
149
154
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Cabo Inn could be one of the last traditional family-run Mexican inns.

Although small, the rooms are clean. And, really, if you are in paradise, how much time do you intend to spend in your room? They are beautifully decorated in the custom of Michoacan and are subtly made larger by the addition of tables and chairs just outside the rooms on the mezzanine, a mezzanine lush with plants offering a sense of privacy. There is generous space to set your laptop or share a beverage or a meal with another guest. The internet is surprising fast for Mexico. Not without significance, the shower is amazing and the water is hot.

The Cabo Inn is close to many good restaurants and the staff provides you with a listing of them along with a map of the area so you can find your way around. The personnel is helpful but not hovering. One employee helped me with my Spanish and the maid offered to take my shoes out to be polished for return the next day. My Spanish is appalling so, although I'm not certain about the Cabo Inn, often staff in Mexico will take your clothes home and wash them, even iron them, for a small tip. Based on my (limited) understanding that she would have my shoes shined, I'm assuming that you could ask for laundry services as well. I give 50 pesos for a load but I think they would do it for less. Just, please, don't 'foul the water' on that one, okay? I love having my laundry returned to my room smelling of being line-dried. Me gusta!

Cabs are expensive in Cabo San Lucas but buses are cheap. Bus routes are at either end of the block and come every few minutes. Hopping on a bus and getting completely lost is one of my favourite things to do in an unfamiliar place and, don't worry, they always return to where they picked you up, although the driver may ask you for another fare. The driver will usually give you change but it's better to have the right change. The first time I took a bus, I gave the driver 200 pesos and didn't get change. I don't think he had enough to make change. After that, even though I knew the fare was 20 pesos, I gave 5 or 10. As well as I could understand, they have special fare considerations for the dimwitted so, after the 200 peso incident, I chose to claim that exemption. Strangely, no one said a thing. Being close to the vitality of Cabo but located on a quiet side-street offers both the advantage of accessibility and the tranquility of being off of the beaten track.

The atmosphere is traditional and hospitable and maintains the feel of a simpler and more wholesome time. It is laid out in the hacienda style with plenty of spaces to interact with other guests as well as ample comfy nooks to just chill on your own if you choose. The pool and library and sitting area on the third level are usually vacant because, of course, the inn is situated in Cabo San Lucas. Who can read when you can hear the ocean calling? But, if you're weary from traveling, this is a great place to recuperate and, if you're looking for fun, there are fine restaurants and clubs steps away. The family who owns and runs the posada has been doing this for a good long time and surely knows something compelling about ambiance and hospitality.

They say Cabo is for lovers and everywhere you go, you'll see couples. I wonder if this has more to do with the fact that they use Damiana (a local aphrodisiac) in the margaritas rather than Triple Sec. If you're so inclined, the Cabo Inn has its own romantic charm. Although I didn't see inside, I heard that the entire top floor is a honeymoon suite. There is a separate staircase leading up to the fourth floor, which makes it exclusive and romantic.

One caution. At the time that you make your reservation, the Inn will make arrangements for a shuttle to pick you up at SJD (San Jose del Cabo airport) for $20 USD, which is a reasonable amount, but, on the way back, you need to make other arrangements. There is no shuttle TO the airport. This has something to do with the cab drivers' union. A cab trip back to the airport can cost you $85 USD or somewhere less than $50 USD if you are prepared to negotiate. Never fear. You don't need to pay that. If you walk down Calle Narciso Mendoza (to your left as you exit the inn) near to where it meets Camino Real, a couple of short blocks, you can catch a bus to within a few hundred feet of Terminal 2 for 32 pesos. Buses leave every eight minutes. There is a man who stays at the bus stop and will help you load your bags for a small tip (20 pesos?) and the bus driver will also get up and put your bags on and take them off for you when you get to the airport (50 pesos worked like a charm). With my suitcase, it took the two of them. They take a different route along the coast and through San Jose del Cabo which is interesting as well and it doesn't take significantly longer than the shuttle or a cab. If you're really lazy, you can ask at Fox car rental for a ride up to Terminal 2. If they are not busy, they might but don't forget to tip so the next person who might really need the help isn't compromised. It's a short walk but it's along a road, which can be busy at arrival times.

For $50 USD for the basic room in high season, the Cabo Inn Hotel is a delightful and charming alternative. I love being immersed in the real Mexico, which, particularly in Cabo, is all too rapidly giving way to time shares and resorts. I stayed in January and again in March. The Cabo Inn Hotel was consistently good quality.

Mucho bueno!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheDonaldaAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Location was awesome and the owner was super. He gave us information about the area and tips on good restaurants. He brought us to a local restaurant where the tacos were delicious! We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay. I usually stay at all inclusive resorts but was on a budget. The hotel was quaint and small but we didn't go to Cabo to stay in the room. All in all, I'd stay there again. If one wants an inexpensive room with great staff and great location, Cabo Inn is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hundested, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Cabo Inn is the right place to stay in Cabo San Lucas.
We enjoyed our stay 110%! The staff is helpfull and nice, rooms simple, but contained what you need, the location is perfect if you want to be colse to the center, but not in the middle of it all.
And most of all, it felt like beeing home.
Our best recomandations, and we will for sure be back.

Room Tip: If you prefer a more quiet stay, you should ask for rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Before arriving in Cabo we tried to book this place but unfortunately the site didn't work. We turned up and there was 2 rooms left. The staff were so kind and gave us the price for two people instead of what the room was actually worth. She was also trusting enough to give us two room keys to check out which room we prefer and just said to bring whichever we didn't choose back to her "later". Got to love Mexican time!
Neat little room, very Mexican style. We took a room at the front for more light and a view over the street to people watch. Thank god for it's fan because without it its quite stuffy and hot. My partner left something of his in the shuttle from the airport and the staff went out of her way to help him locate it. Great downtown location, close to plenty of things and not too far from the beach!
If you're looking for a budget stay in a decent location this place has great ambience and character.

Very pleased!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shepppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Welcome to the true authentic Mexican Cabo experience, it was a pleasure to stay at this beautiful hacienda. The colours of the plants and paintings at Cabo Inn are exhilarating and make you feel alive.
Onedia and her family are amazing, sweet and kind as they quietly welcome you into their mornings, with waking to the smell of fresh coffee and bright smiles.
The common kitchen area is well equipped for cooking and mingling with other traveler's. There is a fridge and microwave and stove, with dishes and pots and pans. Nothing beats cooking up an egg outdoors in the beautiful garden kitchen. The best spot at The Cabo Inn was the roof top patio with a plunge pool and a library with a comfy couch to read a book with the breathtaking foliage around you. I had a late night nap in the library amongst the fresh air and the sounds of Cabo around me.
The rooms are nice with outrageous artwork, air condt., fan, t.v. the best part of the room is the comfy beds! I stayed in the Picasso and Frida Kahlo rooms on the main floor easy access to the garden kitchen for a smoker.
Cabo Inn has a calm energy and is completely safe. A taste of true Mexico right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Third year here and if you are after a neat place to stay near to everything Cabo has to offer this is the place. Very Mexican, well kept, but the best part are the great people you will meet. Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Second floor nearer back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Hotel Mar de Cortez
#35 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#44 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#43 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#46 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Inn Hotel

Property: Cabo Inn Hotel
Address: 20 de Noviembre | entre L. Vicario y N. Mendoza, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabo Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Inn Hotel was originally built in 1955 and remains a stunning hotel with vibrant colors and traditional Mexican ambiance. We offer 20 rooms and we are centrally located 2 blocks from the marina. All rooms have air conditioning, TV's and refrigerators in most, additionally, we offer two rooftop palapa units. Located in the beautiful city of Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, the Cabo Inn Hotel is the perfect place for a fun-filled vacation or relaxing getaway. Our Cabo hotel is dedicated to providing you with quality amenities such as, a spacious community kitchen and grill, an outdoor social pool, FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and rooms, a shared balcony, sundeck, and more! The goal at our Cabo San Lucas hotel is to ensure you have an excellent stay whether for spring break, winter vacation, or the perfect Mexico getaway. We'll provide you with an authentic Mexico experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cabo Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Inn Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing