We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO FUN ZONE”
Review of Marina Sol Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Sol Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NO FUN ZONE”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This facility is in a good location and the pool is one of the nicer pools I've seen in Cabo. There was a group of 10 of us staying in the 5 bedroom condo. The condo is large and suitable for a large group. However, the tenants that live there are not welcoming to "outsiders". Our unit had a very large terrace that overlooked the pool and was beautiful. We had large pocket doors that we could open and that was very nice. One afternoon we were singing (10 women) on the terrace at 4:00 in the afternoon, laughing and chatting, and security visited us and told us to shut off the music and be quiet. AT 4:00 IN THE AFTERNOON! I can see if it was 2:00 a.m. and we were swearing and carrying on, but it was 10 grown women singing and laughing.

The food around the pool and the bar was very good. Not open on Tuesdays though which we thought was strange. Raul at the check in desk is the friendliest person in the facility. Don't plan on purchasing a lot in the hotel mini market, it's kind of pricey. Also--we prepared to walk up a lot of steps if you're on the 3rd floor. No need to workout if you are.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mztlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    58
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
80
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck ,nd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We had stayed in a 4 bdrm condo and the room was in fair condition at best. If you expect to have a good time beware!! They will shut you real fast if you make any noise at all and we were told it was quiet time at 10:00 but they will send security anytime they want. If you want to take a hot shower you better bring your own hot water heater, everyone in our party complained about the lack of a hot shower and 1 of the bathrooms it took 3 days of complaining to finally get hot water. This place is a retirement village and they like it quiet and if your not quiet they will shut your power off in your room (which happened to someone in our party). They tell you its only 1 block from the beach and 2 blocks from the marina but you better bring your walking shoes because its at least twice as far as that. They have people staying here that are on the association board and they watch you like hawks and they will get on their phones and have security talk to you. The internet service is absolutely terrible so don't plan on getting service in your rooms. The positive things at the hotel is a couple staff members. Raul at the front desk is an awesome guy and very entertaining. Yolanda was also very nice and tried to help us as much as she could. I will never stay here again and I wouldn't send my worst enemy to this place. If you plan on staying here bring your book and a game of scrabble. We were going through some of the rules and we found one very entertaining. (it said there were no team sports in the pool and "No Marco Polo") Really!!!!!!!!!!

They should have called this place the Marina Lamo Inn

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blumenort
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We can not say enough about the totally superior service we received from Claire Griffith of Cabo Caliente Vacation Properties at the Marina Sol in Cabo San Lucas. The quality, cleanliness, and overall condition of the condo we rented was excellent. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was very well stocked and the laundry facility was clean, accessible and good quality washer and dryers.
Cabo is a very safe place to visit in Mexico and the location of Marina Sol is very central. You can walk to the beach (a few blocks) or anywhere downtown. It is a short bus ride to WalMart for groceries or there is a great little supermarket right in the downtown area.
There are lots of things to do, Zip Lining, Parasailing, Banana boats, Whale watching, or many other activities. Just make sure you negotiate to get yourself the best deals.
The climate, the people, the location is perfect for a really great vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Our family spent Christmas 2010 in Cabo San Lucas. From the moment we arrived at the airport I knew that it was going to be a wonderful vacation. We were greeted at the airport by Claire, our property manager. She not only drove us to our condo, but also took us grocery shopping so that we could stock up for the week. Marina Sol was a pleasant surprise, our condo was clean and roomy and had a beautiful view of the pool and courtyard. The location was perfect as we were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go. The beach and the marina were just moments away and we spent countless days relaxing and exploring the beautiful city of Cabo San Lucas. Carlos and Ricardo of Cabo Caliente gladly helped us with everything that we needed and even lined us up with a Christmas Day fishing trip. We caught YellowFin Tuna all day and cooked them up on our BBQ for dinner.
This was truly our best family vacation ever, a perfect location for any age. Our teenagers loved Cabo and Marina Sol and we felt safe and secure with them there at all times. We look forward to our next trip to Cabo San Lucas and will definitely stay at Marina Sol again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequeenb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We were disappointed by room 610 at Marina Sol. Claire and her staff were friendly and welcoming on our stay. The 2 bedroom condo was spacious but out dated and lacking some primary needs for cooking. The room was the noisiest room we have ever stayed at. The city party noise stopped after 3:00 am and the car / truck noise started at 5:00 am. We are not complainers, so we lived with it but even ear plugs didn't help in the view room. The water pressure was also terrible, only able to run one fixture at a time just barely. Be aware that the tap water is not filtered in this building so we were warned to use bottled water for everything.

Please note we did not complain during our stay and on our return trip to the airport Claire did say she wished we would of said something so she could try to help. We thought we were booking at a more upscale resort condo. This room has potential but needs upgrading before it should be considered for a relaxing vacation.

We liked Cabo better than Puerto Vallarta or Playa Del Carmen for layout and things to do. Everything is close and you feel safe everywhere. We never had a bad meal. The city officials do need to clamp down on aggressive sales by the vendors and activity pushers. The worst case was a trip out to Lovers Beach and the men that so called help you off the water taxis than give you a bunch of grief about giving them a big tip for helping you for a few seconds.

Cabo Escape (4 hour cruise with snorkling) and the Cabo Adventures (Zip lines and more) were both good values and nice breaks from sun and beach if you need that.

The beach and marina layout is great and the bars are all close together so there is lots to choose from. It was our first trip to Cabo so we now will know how to set up our next trip so we can avoid the things we didn't enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairegriffith, Owner at Marina Sol Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
I thank the reviewer for the comments, however they are a bit harsh. Due to our location, in the middle of the action, the city noise is always a factor. Especially, during the holidays. Unfortunately, the city controls the water pressure, a common problem in Mexico. This unit does not contain a UV filter water system, but bottled water was furnished, at not extra cost. On the plus side, there is an on demand hot water heater, which furnishes as much hot water as needed.
The reviewer booked through a website with pictures that are very representative of the decor. At no time did I misrepresent the property. This was a party of parents and adult teenagers. They were not charged for extra people, nor an up charge for the holidays..
The air conditioning mini-splits are less than four years old, the flat screen , Dish network and hard wire Internet are there, stainless steel pots and pans, and crystal are furnished. Sheets, between 400-1000 thread count. Serta pillow top in MB.. All the appliances are in working order.
At no time was Marina Sol depicted as an upscale property. We are family friendly, our location is the best in Cabo, but the property is older. If you are looking for slick and up-market , this is not for you.
I am also a property in the condominium complex, some units are very upscale, some are horrible and most are comfortable and clean. Most often, the price point reflects the quality of the unit and the services provided.
Claire Griffith Cabo Caliente Vacation Properties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and I just spent a week at Marina Sol and we had a fantastic condo. All the condos are owned by individuals and there are around 3 people who rent the ones in the rental pool out. We have been guests for years and have had concerns before but when we went guests in January our condo was a run down dump.We booked with a different rental company this time (cabo catiente) and it made the difference. The cost was the same but the service and condo were fantastic!! Clare and her staff go out of their way to give you a nice comfortable place to stay. Why have I been returning for Years??? It is the location, Book it with Cabo Catiente to ensure a nice unit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txtom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

What a joke! The room was not as represented in VRBO (46292). Crappy beds with mold, sliding doors did not slide, ceiling and floor holes, paint peeling off walls and ceiling, fridge door (inside) broken and freezer with mold. 4 out of 6 beds not sleepable. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful but the owners do not take care of this unit. Hotel confirmed that they have had many complaints.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoalaTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Sol Resort

Property: Marina Sol Resort
Address: Paseo de la Marina, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Sol Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Sol Resort since 1997. Is central to everything and within walking distance to Medano Beach, The Cabo Marina, Puerto Paraiso Shopping Mall and Downtown Cabo. Our English speaking, professional staff and concierge assistance are available 7 days a week to make your Cabo experience unforgettable. See you soon at Marina Sol Resort in beautiful Cabo San Lucas...Mi Casa es su Casa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Marina Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sol Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Sol Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing