We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss”
Review of Marina Sol Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Sol Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We booked this through parent's timeshare so it was basically free. If we had to pay, it's doubtful we would pick this place. The resort itself has a good location right in the heart of Cabo. It's made up of 3 or 4 different towers, we stayed in the main one. All of the units are apartments owned by individuals so they all differ in style and upkeep. The first apartment we checked in to was horrible. Everything was old to the point of decay. There were cockroaches on the balcony and there was a stench throughout the place. We couldn't think of how we would stay there for a week. Luckily we spoke to reception the next day and they showed us a remodeled unit. It was very sleek, modern, with a beautiful new kitchen and flat screen TV. It was only a bit more per night. What a difference. We actually had a very enjoyable one week stay in our brand new condo. However, would probably not come here again unless we were promised a similar renovated unit. Couldn't take the chance to live in something like that first apartment. It was hard to get through the night. The rest of the resort is ok, we did not use the pool, there are beautiful beaches and other resorts to go to we also did not try the restaurant. It all has a feel of time passing it by, could definately use a sprucing up throughout.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

Great pool, great location, great happy hour, great staff however...

You do not know which place you are going to get so don't pay attention to the photos. We stayed there and had several friends staying there as well. Everyone else had the most beautiful rooms and ours was nothing close. For a place that sleeps 6, one of the showers didn't even work. Our air conditioner almost blew up, the racks in the oven didn't even fit that oven...not sure how that happens but anything we tried to cook was burnt completely on one side and not cooked on the other.

We did go through a timeshare so I can't speak for everyone but I can say that this hotel was extremely noisy. Please just make sure you do not get a room that looks out to the street by the main entrance of the hotel. Every car that passed shook the room and they all felt the need to honk several times as they drove by.

Some of the rooms were absolutely stunning so just make sure you know which one you are getting.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmperry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

The Marina Sol is a condo complex that has been around for over 20 years. Many of the condos are rented out. Our condo A501 was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. It was fully furnished and had all the necessary pots, pans, utensils etc. It was comfortable, although the bed in the second bedroom wasn't super comfortable.

The pluses to staying at the Marina Sol are the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the hotel's location is in the middle of everything, a super easy walk to shops, dining, dancing, clubs, the marina, the beach, etc. Can't say enough about the location. The pool area and restaurant are very nice and seem to be pretty popular.

Overall, we would recommend the Marina Sol and would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank cgal41go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We have spent our last 3 (2 week) vacations at Marina Sol. We reserve the same room each year. It is on the sixth floor, on a corner, so we get a great view all around. The room is clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. It has a full kitchen, which we prefer if staying over a week. We spend a lot of time on the balcony. I am very impressed with the staff. They were always friendly and helpful with any questions or requests. We like the Oasis restaurant very much. They have tasty meals at a good price. After a few days we felt like we lived there and the staff were old friends. The hotel has a great heated pool. We spent many an hour relaxing, reading and 2 for 1 drinking there. The location is central for the beach ( under 2 short blocks) and downtown. We will always come back to a place that remembers our names!
Chuck & Sharell

Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
Thank littlered3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Feb 1st/09 we will arrive at Marina Sol this will be our Tenth time At Marina Sol...We stay 4 weeks...We wouldnt think of staying anyplace else. Beautiful condos with everything you need...Huge Heated Pool ... great food and service...locked gates around the complex...Great Complex to take your children to...Its in walking distance to where ever you need to go...

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank corrinemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We stayed at this condo complex Aug10th for one night before our timeshare check- in. I had booked this resort specifically because of the size of the unit and the price which was very reasonable for one night with ample space for our family. I booked directly through the Marina Del sol website that was easy to use and you could view all the condos as they all differ.
The condo was the 1 bedroom garden view(facing the interior garden) It had a large patio, living room w/flat screen TV and a large tiled counter for eating also there was a small room off the living room that had bunk beds. It had a Large bedroom with a queen size bed and TV and a nice bathroom with a large shower. The kitchen was fully equipped with all the appliances and dishes etc.. we didn't stay long enough to use anything but the refrigeratorbut everything appeared to be in good shape. The entire condo was very, very clean and I didn't notice anything that I could complain about. Marina Sol is not a fancy place but it seemed to be well maintained. We used the pools the night of our stay and no complaints there either, all seemed to be well maintained and clean. We had breakfast there at the poolside restaurant the morning we left. Service was a little slow and the food was just average for the prices.
This is a good place to stay for a night or two. I would definitely
stay again if I needed a comfortable clean and spacious place to stay in Cabo that is within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedandlisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Our condo was clean, and very spacious, it was a family trip for us but it was spring break, we did not hear any noise at night, the condo was clean and the staff was great. location location walking distance to the beach, restaurantes, night clubs, marina and the mall, no need to rent a car, there is a little market in the property where you can get bread, milk etc

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maria66Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#38 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
2,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medano Hotel and Suites
Medano Hotel and Suites
#12 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.9 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
4,037 reviews
0.9 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Sol Resort

Address: Paseo de la Marina, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $114 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Sol Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Sol Premier Properties since 1997. Marina Sol Resort is located one block from Medano Beach, central to everything and within a couple of blocks to The Cabo Marina, Puerto Paraiso Shopping Mall and Downtown Cabo. We have English speaking, professional staff and concierge services available 7 days a week to coordinate your private transportation needs from and to sjd international airport, and provide many additional services to enhance your Cabo experience. See you soon at Marina Sol Resort in beautiful Cabo San Lucas! Mi Casa es su Casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Marina Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sol Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Sol Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing