We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”
Review of Marina Sol Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Sol Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Great pool, great location, great happy hour, great staff however...

You do not know which place you are going to get so don't pay attention to the photos. We stayed there and had several friends staying there as well. Everyone else had the most beautiful rooms and ours was nothing close. For a place that sleeps 6, one of the showers didn't even work. Our air conditioner almost blew up, the racks in the oven didn't even fit that oven...not sure how that happens but anything we tried to cook was burnt completely on one side and not cooked on the other.

We did go through a timeshare so I can't speak for everyone but I can say that this hotel was extremely noisy. Please just make sure you do not get a room that looks out to the street by the main entrance of the hotel. Every car that passed shook the room and they all felt the need to honk several times as they drove by.

Some of the rooms were absolutely stunning so just make sure you know which one you are getting.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmperry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 232 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2009

The Marina Sol is a condo complex that has been around for over 20 years. Many of the condos are rented out. Our condo A501 was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. It was fully furnished and had all the necessary pots, pans, utensils etc. It was comfortable, although the bed in the second bedroom wasn't super comfortable.

The pluses to staying at the Marina Sol are the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the hotel's location is in the middle of everything, a super easy walk to shops, dining, dancing, clubs, the marina, the beach, etc. Can't say enough about the location. The pool area and restaurant are very nice and seem to be pretty popular.

Overall, we would recommend the Marina Sol and would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank cgal41go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We have spent our last 3 (2 week) vacations at Marina Sol. We reserve the same room each year. It is on the sixth floor, on a corner, so we get a great view all around. The room is clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. It has a full kitchen, which we prefer if staying over a week. We spend a lot of time on the balcony. I am very impressed with the staff. They were always friendly and helpful with any questions or requests. We like the Oasis restaurant very much. They have tasty meals at a good price. After a few days we felt like we lived there and the staff were old friends. The hotel has a great heated pool. We spent many an hour relaxing, reading and 2 for 1 drinking there. The location is central for the beach ( under 2 short blocks) and downtown. We will always come back to a place that remembers our names!
Chuck & Sharell

Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
Thank littlered3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Feb 1st/09 we will arrive at Marina Sol this will be our Tenth time At Marina Sol...We stay 4 weeks...We wouldnt think of staying anyplace else. Beautiful condos with everything you need...Huge Heated Pool ... great food and service...locked gates around the complex...Great Complex to take your children to...Its in walking distance to where ever you need to go...

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank corrinemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We stayed at this condo complex Aug10th for one night before our timeshare check- in. I had booked this resort specifically because of the size of the unit and the price which was very reasonable for one night with ample space for our family. I booked directly through the Marina Del sol website that was easy to use and you could view all the condos as they all differ.
The condo was the 1 bedroom garden view(facing the interior garden) It had a large patio, living room w/flat screen TV and a large tiled counter for eating also there was a small room off the living room that had bunk beds. It had a Large bedroom with a queen size bed and TV and a nice bathroom with a large shower. The kitchen was fully equipped with all the appliances and dishes etc.. we didn't stay long enough to use anything but the refrigeratorbut everything appeared to be in good shape. The entire condo was very, very clean and I didn't notice anything that I could complain about. Marina Sol is not a fancy place but it seemed to be well maintained. We used the pools the night of our stay and no complaints there either, all seemed to be well maintained and clean. We had breakfast there at the poolside restaurant the morning we left. Service was a little slow and the food was just average for the prices.
This is a good place to stay for a night or two. I would definitely
stay again if I needed a comfortable clean and spacious place to stay in Cabo that is within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedandlisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Our condo was clean, and very spacious, it was a family trip for us but it was spring break, we did not hear any noise at night, the condo was clean and the staff was great. location location walking distance to the beach, restaurantes, night clubs, marina and the mall, no need to rent a car, there is a little market in the property where you can get bread, milk etc

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maria66Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

I have stayed at The Marina Sol four times. 1st of all, you need to understand it's not a resort and doesn't really offer resort like amentities. If that's what you are looking for then stay down the beach at Los Arcos or Villa del Palmar.

I would suggest getting a room that overlooks the grounds, not the town by the mall. Terrible view.

For the last three years, I have stayed here with two girlfriends for a girls get away. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach where you can hang out at The Office or Mango Deck. It is down an unpaved road but you are in Mexico not Hawaii. The beach during the day is the best place to be.

The pool is nice and the restaurant is good. The staff has always been wonderful to us.

We feel very safe walking to town (5 minutes) to the Gigglin Marlin, El Squid Roe etc. We have never felt the need to take a cab.

You can also book round trip private transportation to and from the airport direct from Marina Sol, it's very nice and convenient. Probably more pricey but worth the privacy. You don't have to wait to pick up or drop off of other travelers.

Like I said, this place is truly the most convenient location in Cabo. We love it here. You just need to have the expectations that its a condo not a resort. I have always booked through vrbo.com

As a side note for the beer drinkers. As you begin your descent down the hill to The Office there is a small mercado that sells beer for $1. We tried Victoria and loved it, can't find it in the states.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JLL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Sol Resort

Address: Paseo de la Marina, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $142 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Sol Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Sol Resort since 1997. Marina Sol Resort is located one block from Medano Beach, central to everything and within a couple of blocks to The Cabo Marina, Puerto Paraiso Shopping Mall and Downtown Cabo. We have English speaking, professional staff and concierge services available 7 days a week to coordinate your private transportation needs from and to sjd international airport, and provide many additional services to enhance your Cabo experience. See you soon at Marina Sol Resort in beautiful Cabo San Lucas! Mi Casa es su Casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Marina Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sol Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Sol Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing