We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, seriously poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great location, seriously poor customer service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I did take a few videos of this resort which you can see on my youtube page at www.youtube.com/thetripandtravel.

First the cons:
-Many travelers we met said they had a hard time with their reservation and check in.
-Pool Bar closes at 6pm and serves the waiters on the other side more than the pool guest.
-You have to sign a receipt for everything at this resort even the buffet.
-The lobby bar is maybe 6 feet long and closes at 10pm. One night the bartender asked us to sign and said he even stayed open late for us. That was until one of the other guest called him out and pointed out it was 9:58. I tipped him signed my receipt and asked for another two drinks for my friend and myself and was refused (2 minutes prior to closing).
- I watched the manager behind the bar yell at the bartender for serving one customer more than one drink at a time
- I am still pretty chewed up from all the mosquitoes in the lobby
-Although the A la carte restaurants were good they were super slow. At all the restaurants we had to ask for things upwards of 4 times (water, or drinks generally)
-There was only one girl at the front desk during check out even though the line was out the lobby doors?
-Time share lady in the resort was very pushy
-Zero entertainment here, no music at the pool or in the lobby or anything
-YOU MUST have reservations for dinner or they will turn you away
-They severely limit the dinner seating in the A la carte restaurants intentionally. We booked one morning at 830 am and they guys acted like we waited to late and said there were only a few spots left. Basically they want you eating at the buffet because it saves them money.
-They put a donation on my bill without my consent
-Waiters and staff primarily were not friendly or helpful. On several occasions I witnessed their staff standing around talking. They would even look at you and continue their conversation.
-We noticed when walking up to the activities or concierge desk on more than on occasion they person there would get up and walk away even though they looked directly at you.
-I walked up to the buffet and was told I had to order from a waiter? Honestly this resort is just weird? Who orders from a waiter at a buffet?
-Wifi is a joke, barely works in the lobby.

Resort has some customer service issues, they do not at all seem to be concerned by your overall satisfaction at all. I have never met so many complaining guest at one resort in all my travels. Everyone we met had a story about these guys.

Now the good, yes there is some good.

-Location Rocks! Next to everything (Mall, Marina, Downtown, Squid Roe, Cabo Wabo, Everything
-Gold Zone restaurants were pretty good. Imomo Sushi was bad but we loved Jacks Grille. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all very good at Jacks. Service at Jacks was the best as well.
-Room was very nice
-View was spectacular
-Pool was absolutely gorgeous
-Drink selection for all Inclusive was pretty good
-Oh did I mention the VIEW lol
-Nice beds, very comfortable
-A/c worked very well
-Had a very nice large balcony
-Room was stocked with Beer, Soda, and water
-Had a full Kitchenette with bar and stools

I am torn about this resort because I had a great time. I just find it hard give your money and spend time with management and staff that don't care about customer service. Honestly had I not spoken to anyone and witnessed the treatment of others by the staff here I would have a better opinion. Thanks for reading my review and helpful votes are appreciated. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TheTripandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaFiestaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We will take in count your comments to make it better
We are sorry your experience was not as expected we wish you could give us a second chance. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    855
    267
    136
    104
See reviews for
635
1,120
78
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN, CA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed from July 15 to July 22.

This hotel has the best location on the Marina..

This trip seemed like the service was better and everyone was friendlier than past visits.

We were in rooms 515 & 516 which was centrally located above the pool with a wonderful marina view as well.

The lobby bar is a great place to go after 2PM...the bartender, Fernando is awesome! He made our trip really special. (He may be wearing a name tag that says Israel as he lost his original and is waiting for a new one).

Our favorite restaurant nearby is Los Deseos. We did not do the AI this time around as we decided to venture out and try new places.

The beds are pretty comfortable, the rooms are OK...we were in a room that had not yet been updated but the view made up for it!

The shower is good....lots of pressure and constant temperature.

The lounge chairs by the pool need pads...they are pretty uncomfortable.

The Wi-Fi is free, however, it only works when it wants to..it always works in the Lobby.

Then location here just cannot be beat!

Do go try the massage next to Mangoes...and do try Mi Suenos! Awesome food and service there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TERRESA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoU, Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2016
Dear Guest Thank you for your review

Marina Fiesta Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a girls trip to Cable and stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights. We opted for the all inclusive package-well worth it. They have many bars and restaurants to choose from. Service is slow as hell. Better order 2 or 3 drinks at a time. Also each bartender made drinks differently so be specific with what you want. Security of the hotel was wonderful, always staff on patrol and u needed your room key to come and go. Staff was not so friendly... not sure why. They weren't rude or mean it was like they just didn't care that you were there and wouldn't go out of there way for u in any regard. Everything was very clean. Beds were okay but all fabrics were hard n scratchy, towels, sheets, pillowcases. Location was perfect for nightlife! You walk out the hotel and down the marina a little bit and you have tons or restaurants , bars, and clubs and don't need a cab. I don't know that is go back but I don't regret staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColeyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoU, Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2016
Dear Guest Thank you for your review

Marina Fiesta Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found this property using aavacations.com and read LOTS of reviews before deciding on this location. We paid the very small upgrade to get a King size bed with view of the marina. We loved our room, it had a great view with a patio as most all of their rooms do. We chose the all inclusive package which was worth every penny. The room fridge was well stocked and the room was very clean. The all inclusive option included the golden strip of several restaurants around the marina with lots of variety. We had no problem using the conceirge getting reservations for every night at one of the locations. The steak restaurant was our favorite. The hotel breakfast buffett was a great mix of local flavors and as well as American classics. The lunch menu was good, but if we hadn't had the inclusive package it would have been very expensive. We tipped the staff after we found out that tips were not included as we had been told and that is my only complaint. The staff including Joaquin, Solomon, Vincent and Daugbert were especially helpful and attentive. The location on the marina made it easy to grab an excursion for sailing, deep sea fishing, atv'ing where other customers from other resorts had to taxi in.

We highly suggest the snorkeling and sailing trip. They take you to a nice area for snorkeling after a tour around the arch. The staff was wonderful, friendly and the food and drinks were plentiful. Be careful when booking a sailing/snorkeling excursion, not all catamarans are equal. The one we took had a lower covered area, which the sun can be brutal on a long tour and this was a great option that not all catamarans have. It had a bar in the lower area. We were allowed to sit on the sides and front area even on the nets across the front. So my recommendation is to see the catamaran you book.

My husband and brother rented a boat to fish for Marlin almost everyday. It was expensive but a a dream to fish for blue marlin for them and the focus of why they came to Cabo San Lucas. I recommend looking for boats that have consistent Marlin flags meaning they caught a Marlin that day. The marlin our group caught that was longer than their boat and it was a big boat. They also caught loads of great fish (el dorado) that we brought back to Marina Fiesta and paid a small fee for them to prepare for us for dinner with sides. We gave the remaining fish to the local people who were so nice to us. They really appreciated it, since the fish was worth a lot of money.

We compared notes with other travelers who were on the same excursions we took and they all paid more money for less service and accommodations than what we had. They complained about the locations of their resorts and having to taxi or take a shuttle to the area ours was located. We toured many other resorts but this one with the great location, short walk to the swimmable beach, flea market (where you can buy almost everything the expensive mall next door sells) and wonderful staff is really the only place to stay. Although we went with another couple, this is a family friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The king sized bed is worth it and the all inclusive will save you money. The drinks were good they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank networkaholic24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I read a lot of the reviews before booking and ran into NONE of the complaints I had seen regarding the timeshare pitches, noise, or bad service. The rooms were updated and spacious. The pools were great and the atmosphere was fantastic. I didn't get asked once to attend a presentation, but we sort of by-passed the timeshare folks the first day and they must of assumed we already weren't interested. The place is local to tons of stuff. We got picked up right outside the marina entrance of the hotel for water taxis to Lovers beach, a booze cruise, and banana boat rides which was super convenient. Rooms 507-508 (the adjoined one bedroom timeshare unit) was right next to the Solarium which we used almost exclusively for our own private patio and meeting place. Coffee in the am and drinks at night with great views, and two hot-tubs for the kids to hang out in. We had three families together (18 people) so this worked out perfectly. The back pool didn't have anyone working the bar, but we brought our own food and drinks and weren't hassled about it. Once again, we had the back pool almost to ourselves with a couple exceptions. Our normal place was Solmar, but not anymore. This was nicer, more convenient to everything, and generally more fun. The highlight was meeting Kerri Walsh Jennings in the pool the last day, who was very sweet and gladly took pictures with our kids. I felt like a real jerk to even ask her, but she hopped right in. A very classy and generous lady.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goninety54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaFiestaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Nothing like self-check and not take 100% of the comments. Good that we satisfy your needs. Hope to see you very soon. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We opted for the "All Inclusive" package for two. We chose not to listen to the sales pitch so no activities were included in our price. Our $200/day included: two queen beds, kitchenette, changing room, bath, walk-in closet, table and chairs for 4, balcony facing pool, beverage stocked refridge (restocked daily), breakfast and lunch (two choices of restaurants), supper at several choices of restaurants on the water, unlimited beverages and appetizers from pool bar. We loved the atmosphere ! The staff was wonderfully accommodating and friendly , even though we turned down the option to visit their other properties for sale to the public. At checkout there were NO additional charges ! I would love to return there and bring my grown kids and there families. Plenty of options for activities right on the marina. Or walk about ten minutes to beautiful beaches with an abundance of activities as well. I definitely want to return here! Worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveler1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from a week's stay at Marina Fiesta, and we had a lovely time :) our room had a Marina view and a rather large veranda to relax on. At night we could hear the guitar player until about nine, but it was enjoyable and made it a fun atmosphere while we were having drinks and getting ready for a night out.
Wendy at the concierge and Georgina at reception were both pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable in helping us navigate Cabo and book a few excursions. We only ate at the Japanese restaurant which was delicious! The store down on the marina was a great place to pick up water, toothpaste, alcohol for the room, etc.
I do agree that the Internet is spotty and best used in the lobby. The housekeepers were wonderful, my room was spotless each day and we were given plenty of towels :). The solarium on the rooftop was a hidden, romantic spot! Lots of lounge chairs and two hot tubs. The hotel is in a great location, very safe and family friendly as well as couple friendly too.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina vie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimmyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaFiestaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We love reading comments like yours happy. Thank you and hope you return soon. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,660 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa

Property: Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. La Marina | Lotes,37 y 38, Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Or the ultimate Cabo vacation with the best location, luxurious accommodations, and the most amazing experience, the Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa is unbeatable. Experience the heart of Cabo San Lucas at it's best and take advantage of its unique Dine Out All Inclusive concept where you can enjoy an A la Carte All-Inclusive dining at a selection of fine dining restaurants and bars down at the Marina Golden Zone and at selected restaurants at its sister resort Hacienda Encantada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Fiesta Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Fiesta Resort And Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing