We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
218
138
22
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
138
22
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousecrazy lobsterno elevatorsmall tvsalvatore's italian restaurantsliding glass doorwithin walking distanceair conditionermin walkfull size refrigeratorliving areadowntown cabothe location is perfectfishing triprental carsan josenight life
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 397 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We loved how the hotel was right downtown in the middle of everything- bars, marina, shopping, bank, etc. Right around the corner is Gordo LeLe's taco stand which has great $1 tacos. Up the street is a great place for 50 cent shots at Panchos and the best deal of surf'n'turf at the Crazy Lobster. Siesta Suites is small and very cozy place with an amazing staff who helped us with anything we needed. Being young spring breakers, we felt safe with their nightly security. The commodities were very sufficient, nothing really fancy. However, the pool was an inadequate size and the Bar Cantina was under construction but will be a great place to go when finished. We definitely recommend Siesta Suites and their great staff and atmosphere!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AnnaH785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2006

We stayed at Siesta just last week. We were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable we were right downtown. The room was a nice little suite, nothing fancy, and it had everything we needed. The manager Juan was always very helpful and gave us great tips on where to eat. They are remodling the restaurant and Alex the owner told us that it will be open next week. Too bad we missed it. We loved the fact that we could walk out the door and be in the middle of the excitement of downtown and also be walking distance to any part of the town and the marina.
We are so happy that we did our research and found this little hideout instead of spending everything on a hotel. This way, we saved a bundle and had money to spend on the fun stuff.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank exvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

We found our stay at the Siesta Suites to be mostly enjoyable. First off, the location is fantastic, close to everything in downtown Cabo, negating the need for a rental vehicle. We were there for 7 days and never ate at the same restaurant twice, due to the walking proximity of so many places. Everything in Cabo was typically with an 15-20 minute walk - marina, beaches, shopping, etc.

The rooms are basic but come with a kitchenette and a mattress mounted on concrete, but after the first night you get used to it. Anyway expecting a 4 or 5 star accomodation should not come here. However, the rooms are clean and well set up for the very low price. There is a high demand for this place given its very reasonable price. All rooms were full the entire week we stayed there and when we checked out of our room, the new occupants were already waiting in the lobby.

The surroundings are great with lush tropical plant life and large shade trees. The pool is small but good for that late night cool off dip. The area around the pool seems a bit negelected now that AJ's has left, but the owner has big plans and seems motivated to spruce it up in the coming months with a new restaurant and new decor.

The lobby offers internet access for a very reasonable $3 an hour. Other places in Cabo are typically higher than that.

The staff was friendly and welcoming. The only problem we encountered was a mouse that took up residence in our room. With the help of the owner, the manager, and the night desk attendant we eventually managed to get it out.

If you are epecting resort like conditions you will be disappointed. This is a great little hideaway at a great price with a good location to use as a stepping off point for exploring dowtown Cabo.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank traveler2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2006

We stayed at Siesta Suites for awhile in January, and were pleased with everything: location, service, ambiance, etc. I picked it based on previous Trip Advisor reviews.

The staff (and the owner and his wife, who are there virtually everyday) make you feel at home. They treat you like....if you're staying here, you must be family. The units are very small and basic, but very clean. The big hitters for us (other than location and the other obvious benefits of that, such as not having to rent a car) were having a stove and refrigerator, and convenient, inexpensive Internet access. $3US for an hour of access.

I got the impression that alot of folks who were there were repeat customers. We met quite a few people who were there for two weeks or more. Most in their 40's-60's, I would say. Everyone I met was from Canada or Northwest US. Very friendly.

The disappointments were as the last few reviewers described. AJ is gone, and won't be back - so there was no restaurant or pool bar. Based on reviews, it seemed like it was a different place when AJ's Hideaway was open and the pool bar was operating. The pool area was like a ghost town. The owner hopes to have someone open another restaurant there by next month. They are working on it. Also, the owner told me he was trying to build more rooms. There is a demand for this place.

The entire time we were there, nobody used the pool/deck area except us (we relaxed on the lounge chairs while reading) and the cat. Also, there are reviews which say Siesta Suites is "quiet." That term is relative. You can hear the plumbing, the people next door and the craftsmen nearby, hammering leathergoods into the wee hours. You can also hear the bongo drums at the nearby steakhouse and loud singing at some local places. But, it's usually over before midnight. So, we got used to the noises in the neighborhood.

The BBQ grill someone asked about is on the small street-side patio between the 2nd and 3rd floor. Nobody used it the entire time we were there. It was a cold January, and not much social activity, what with the onsite restaurant being closed.

I totally agree with the person who posted on December 21st about Mama's (Mama's Royal Cafe --- which I went to because an article in the 1/16/2006 issue of Los Cabos News called it "the best Mexican Restaurant in Baja"). Don't eat there. We ate spicy food all over town for 8 days, but after breakfast at Mama's last week (on Hidalgo, right around the corner from Siesta Suites -- up from La Dolce), I became very ill.

All other food in the area was wonderful. They call Hidalgo Street "restaurant row." We ate at La Dolce, La Parrillada (new owners from Colorado), Crazy Lobster and Pancho's. Also Cabo Coffee, up Hidalgo toward the town plaza. Our very favorite was Pancho's. It's the bright red restaurant across the street and to the right on coming out of Siesta Suites. We ate there three times, sampling numerous dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner --- all were EXCELLENT.

Also, make sure to stop by Neveria San Francisco (ice cream parlor) three doors down to the left from Siesta Suites. Excellent homemade ice cream and the girl who serves it is from San Francisco, California.

The souvenir shopping (silver, pottery, curios, clothing, blankets, etc.) close by is great, and there is a Super Mini (small grocery) within 1.5 blocks where you can stock the fridge with water, sodas, beer, breakfast snacks, fruit, etc. Great neighborhood for covering all bases. Juan and the staff can give directions. They were fantastic with everything, including setting up tours.

Also, there is a microwave and full coffee pot in the lobby --- good place to start the day with morning "Buenos Dias" greetings. Also, a library in the Internet room. Very cozy.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank platinumWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

I found this hotel on the Web. Great Location and at the cost of $60 per night. Advantages were the small kitchen and the big refrigerator did come in handy. The manager was freindly and accomodating. When I called the the 1-800 number to book the trip they told me the poolside restaurant was opened. When I arrived I found it was not. At no time of the day could I find sun poolside, and never did see anyone sitting out there. There are 4 floors, so if you don't like to climb stairs, you better ask for the first floor. No Elevator. Bed was as hard as a rock, literally a 8 inch matress mounted on Cement. The Website talks about drinks and dining poolside. This could only happen if you buy drinks and food outside on the street and bring it in. The restaurant is closed till further notice and has been for quite a while. I never did see the grill they spoke about. The place was very clean and quiet. There seemed to be a regular group of people staying there, mostly older couples in there 60's. At $60 per night it was as expected. While I was there I did find accomodations slightly higher and much more modern. Don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Compass16007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews