We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Cabo San Lucas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My wife and I have been coming to Cabo San Lucas since the early 1970's to fish, which is almost every year. We have stayed at several different hotels during that time, but we always return to stay at the Mar de Cortez. It is hidden away from the high end mad house that sometime takes place at the major resorts. It is a short two block walk to the local market to get stuff for the room refrigerator. It is another short walk to the marina, boat docks, and all of the local good eating spots. There also is a fruit street vendor outside the Mar de Cortez at the coroner which I hit everyday for lunch. I give him a fish fillet as a tip, which is always welcomed. As for the hotel, the best part is that it is family owned and they treat every one as family. The front desk young ladies are always ready to help you with your needs, and they always remember who you are. Around the pool in the late afternoon, when everyone is back from fishing, the beach, or shopping, it is like one big family reunion. Our 10 day last year was shared by 8 couples from the LA area that come every year to fish and they always stay at the Mar de Cortez. The hotel restaurant is small, but, has a great selection of food, as well as the bar. Nothing better than having a drink, guacamole and chips and talking about fishing at the pool in the late afternoon. There is nothing better than a stay in Cabo San Lucas and we have already booked our Nov, 2010 trip at the Mar de Cortez. Capt, Fred Vandenbroeck, Backdraft Charters, Punta Gorda,FL.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backdraftcharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mar de Cortez
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 543 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2010

This is truly the gem in cabo, facts: no multi dollar cab rides while staying here you can walk everywhere,great showers,awesome beds, great staff they make you feel right at home, safe and secure i have been staying here for 25 years and have never had a bad experience with motel safe and secure ,simon runs a great staff. why spend hundreds of dollars a night when you can save and have a great room and food and plenty of cash to really heve a great time!!! mar de cortez massage out front is very good spencers is awesome,why in the heck stay nanywhere else i will always go back ! like going home thx

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Would simply endorse what previous posters have said – good basic accommodation in a great location at a good price. Ate lunch at the hotel once and it was good but ate other meals at the Marina – expensive (compared to the rest of Mexico) but great people watching. Also took boat tour from the Marina to see the rock formations and do a little snorkelling- water taxis are cheaper we discovered.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

A girlfriend and myself stayed recently and I had fond memories of this place, many years ago when I visited to go on a fishing trip. Not much has changed, even the bedspreads!!! The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. I LOVE the location, we walked everywhere (Medrano Beach, Marina, Malls, etc.) That is a real plus. The other guests that I met were repeaters and some even stay for weeks or even months at a time. Restaurants everywhere and we ate at the surrounding ones, because there was an "incident" in Spencer's the first morning we were there. This is the one and only real complaint I have. I ordered Chilaquiles off the "especial" menu (or so I thought). The food was great and when the bill came I was charged double the advertised price, because I failed to mention I wanted the "especial chilaquiles" so I was charged the menu price. After much conversation, the restaurant staff refused to lower the price to the especial price, so we paid the bill and NEVER ate at Spencer's again. BE CAREFUL with this if you choose to eat at this rip off restaurant. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel anytime and am definitely planning to go back as soon as I can. There are plenty of places down at the Marina for breakfast and sitting outside by the boats is nicer anyway!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoNative54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdcincabo, Manager, Reservations, Marketing, Public Relations at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2010

We regret this unfortunate Spencer's experience. Spencer's has apologized for their mis-management of the situation and is eager to recreate a positive exerpeince for this guest with their goodwill offer They recently lowered their prices to accommodate the down economy and recognize the importance of providing quality service, great food and menu for happy guests. We hope this resolves this issue and thank you for your consideraton. Nat @ MDC Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I booked a room for a single night for two couples at Mar de Cortez. The booking process was simple. I called a US number and paid in advance by Credit Card. The pricing for a single room with two beds was $77 plus fees, a total of about $91.

When we arrived, Mar de Cortez was easy to find and only about a ten minute walk from the cruise dock area. It has a nice pool area, a bar, and a restaurant on site. The room was clean, but about as bare bones as you can get. No telephone, no television, but they did have free WiFi. One thing that my husband didn't like is that the deadbolt cannot be locked from the outside, so your room isn't super-secure when you're away. I needed to go get extra towels as they only had two in there, even though there were four of us, but we had a little patio that overlooked the pool. The beds were pretty hard, but for one night, it was a decent deal and clean. Another nice thing is it is about a half block from the back entrance to Cabo Wabo. That's handy!

I only ate chips & salsa from the restaurant, but they were great and the bar on site was nice. Also right out front is a 24 hour convenience shop which was handy for grabbing some bottled water.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyjadegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

When I have stayed in Cabo, I ONLY stay at the Mar de Cortez . The rooms are perfect for what I like about a trip. No phones, no tv , no hassles. Take a convenient , low cost shuttle from the airport or rent a car (they have safe parking in back of the hotel) check in and WALK to every thing that Cabo has to offer. I've just come back from my 14th year ! In these tough economic times like this; stay here . Enjoy !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank relaxSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Right in the heart of everything! Spencer's restaurant is on the property. Great food, decent prices. They have a lil bar right by the pool. Corona's for 2 bucks and they make a great pina colada. Great Pool. Great Price. Great hospitality. Rooms are big and clean. They are basic, no tv, no phone, but clean and nice beds. Cabo wabo cantina is within crawling distance, if you have too!
And the COST is AWESOME!!
Cant say enough about this place. Call and talk to NAT she is the greatest!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#38 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
#34 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#45 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#43 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#42 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $48 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing