We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best deal in Cabo and still old Cabo peace.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed January 3, 2006

I have been coming to the Los Cabos area for the past 20 years. But, after a divorce I missed a couple of years in the mid 1990's. When I decided to come back, I had sticker shock at the going rates in town.

I then remembered a friend who always stayed at The Mar de Cortez. I called and could not believe that the rates were still old Cabo. I have now been down twice a year since July 1997 and will not consider anywhere else. The staff is great and friendly and extremely helpfull. Not to mention the reservation staff in Northern California who will jump through hoops to get you a room.

The hotel is indeed old Cabo but extremely clean, quiet and kept up perfectly. Plus they always suprise me with new additions to the hotel as a new wing of rooms a couple of years back and now a brand new second story sun deck. When I'm there I do not want telephones or TV's so they are not missed at all. I will be back as soon as I can.

-Scott,
In San Clemente, CA

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ScottGreatrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 571 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2005

This hotel is overall very nice. Staff are very nice and helpful. Location is perfect for exploring downtown. Hotel fee itself is very competitive in this area. This hotel is especially recommended for people who want to enjoy nightlife and need long and inexpensive stay. However, there are some minus points to be pointed out. For example,

Web photos: Photos on the web are not as nice as reality. We had expected much newer rooms, but turned out very different. The hotel should update the photos so anyone can predict beforehand what the rooms will be like.
Cancellation policy: Even with the misleading photos, they charge us two nights fee as cancellation after within 15 days before stay. Before coming to the hotel, it is very hard to decide whether to stay in the potentially disappointing room for the fixed number of nights or leave earlier. Although for some reason they cost us only one night fee, they should change the policy formally.
Security: As some others pointed out, security is loose because door lock is old and anyone can enter the hotel during midnight. They should tighten it.

Without the problems above, the hotel would have been much better!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank catlover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2005

Stayed at the Mar de Cortez for the 5th time Dec 13-17. It's only 2 blocks from the marina, one block to the main drag. I have been coming here since 1994. Priced at $68 a night for 2 excellent beds with A/C, but no phones or TV. It has a great pool, small bar with cable TV, and the simple restaurant will cook your catch for $5. We had dorado done 3 ways, and I think it's the best I ever had! They have a website: (-). Highly recommend it if you are looking for authentic Mexican lodging!

12  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

if you want a nice clean tranquil plase to stay this is it...just a hop and a skip from all the night life and good reataurants. it is not fancy, but it has good beds,AC and a nice pool with the bar right there. and a great restaurant!!(super good huevos rancheros and fresh papaya juce..great for the hangover in the morning:))all at a nice price.we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aprilstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

What a great place for meeting friendly travellers, very economical and clean and nice people run the Mar De Cortez
I will return again and again

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mexicoluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacaramento, CA
18
Reviewed September 10, 2005

Enjoyed my short stay at Mar de Cortez. Very simple, no TV or telephone but clean. Air conditioner works good and that was important. Would have liked a little more security on room door ie. deadbolt or safety chain although front desk could monitor whoever came into hotel area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Liked downtown location but long walk to main beach.

Not fancy but can't beat price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Missouri
118
Reviewed June 5, 2005

If you stay at this hotel DO NOT LEAVE EVEN A SHIRT IN YOUR ROOM!! My father had his wet swimsuit and all of his toiletries stolen!! The deadbolts do not work on the rooms. The window was jimmied open and the thief took whatever he could grab within reach. Don't think that hiding your cell in your suitcase will work either. Everyone in my group had a couple of stolen items from their suitcases. They stole a bottle of cologne, a pair of jeans from Express, and a baseball cap from me.

Anyone can come in during the day when you are fishing, but at night you can't bring a guest back into the hotel with you! We met some really nice girls at El Squid Roe but we refused to bribe the night "watchman" to let them in. Instead, my friends went back to where the girls were staying, Melian San Lucas I think.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#5 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#41 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
540 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Ca...
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#47 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#46 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $47 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing