We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Mar. It was better this year than the last! The new paint and the on going changes are great! If you are looking for a nice, well priced, centrally located place to stay then this is your place. I look forward to making it back to the mar and sitting pool side drinking from the onsite bar! Thank you for another great experience! See ya next time!

Room Tip: It can get a little crazy with the Easter crowds, If this is an issue avoid going during Holy Week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseycochran19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
So glad your 2nd stay with us was another happy time in Cabo, caseycochran 19. Thanks for your great review and for updating to help others see just what they are missing. Yes, Holy Week does get a little crazy... not just at the Mar de Cortez, but in Cabo in general. It is a very busy and upbeat Mexican holiday. That is good info for prospective guests to have. Thanks, again, and we will see you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    206
    70
    19
    16
See reviews for
60
186
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have friends that live in Cabo. We stay at Mar De Cortez if and when we stay in Hotels in Cabo. We go at least 2 times a year. Anna and all of the Staff there are Awesome. The restaurant is also Delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeMelaniee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Many thanks, Melaniee K, not just for your short and sweet review, but for returning again and again as you do. We appreciate your kind words and we continue to work hard to serve our guests from start to finish with a smile and nod... from making your reservation until you bid farewell as you head out and say adios. Our staff appreciates your kind words and they have been notified of your message. Thank you... and... until next time... Mi Casa es su Casa. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Plains, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I love this place, always clean, friendly great rates and location. Last New Years, however, I was bothered by the groups cooking outdoors, hanging their laundry all over the place and stringing lights, rearranging patio furniture etc. For the first time in ten years of staying there, I really felt like I was staying in a campground, not a hotel. I think the hotel needs to put some limitations on this activity.

Room Tip: Terrace, our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199christinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you, 199kristinai, for your review and thoughts about your last stay at the Mar de Cortez. How great it is to get reviews from our loyal guests and how appreciative we are for their input. Yours, included. Thank you. It is my hope that you discussed your dissatisfaction as you expressed in your review to our manager. Whenever our guests are unhappy, disappointed or discontented because of something that is going on at the hotel during their stay, management needs to know. I have passed on your message to our manager and it is being taken into serious consideration. We look forward to your return and hope that if you have any additional questions or concerns, you will surely give our reservations office a call. We are here to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have stayed at the Mar De Cortez for about 20 years and always loved it. The staff knows our names and always has a smile for us. you can walk anywhere in town (so no rental car or expensive taxi ride needed. I can walk to the Marina to catch my Panga everyday. Cabo Wabo is three doors away and all the hangouts we like are within three blocks. The pool is great and with some rooms its twenty feet from your door. The food at Baja peppers is good as well and Gordo le le is right around the corner. If you're looking for a penthouse with an ocean view the Mar is not for you. But if you want a reasonably priced clean and friendly hotel try this one.

Room Tip: Rooms 112 to 118 are first floor with a small patio and the pool within feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you Colin G for your upbeat review and your many, many visits to Hotel Mar de Cortez. Indeed, location, location, location plays a great role in one's decision to stay with us. And, as you said, if the ocean view is a priority then there are many other properties to choose from If you are looking for value, hospitality, cleanliness and convenience, then yes, we are your best choice... in our humble opinion. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit. It is always so good to see you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel at least one trip per year since 1989. This is a no frills hotel with the best rates, excellent clean rooms, and wonderful staff. No phones or TV in the rooms. WiFi is available. Great restaurant , pool, and bar. This hotel is centrally located in town and is within walking distance of most all attractions. Taxis are available right outside the door if you need to go farther.

Check the room rates on the website. This hotel is the one that the other hotels don't want you to know about.

Room Tip: The suites are large enough to accomodate four adults easily, or excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rep1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you rep1029 not just for your most favorable review, but your continued patronage over the years. We have so many guests just like you and we so appreciate your willingness to 'share'. Yes, many folks have said we are 'the best kept secret in Cabo'. We like to think so, too, but then again, we do not want to be a secret. We like to let others know our philosophy... 'my house is your house'. Mi casa es su casa. Bienvenidos one and all...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights in April over Easter Weekend. The hotel was completely full with locals celebrating the holiday. They were up partying, banging on doors, moving furniture around until 8 in the morning. If you stay here over Easter Weekend, and want to sleep, I recommend earplugs.

Other than that, the hotel was in a great location near the heart of Cabo. The walk to the beach is about a mile by way of walking around the marina. The rooms were clean and the maid service was good. It is definitely an affordable option for Cabo, but the rooms are about as basic as they come. There is no phone or a safe in the room. Safety deposit boxes are available in the lobby. They are about 3" wide by 20" in length and 2.5" deep.

We did try to use the shuttle driver "Armando," with Cabo VIP Transfers, whom the Mar De Cortez recommended on their website. We made a reservation with him, and he did not show up at the airport. He also ditched another couple at the airport that day as well. We ended up hitching a ride with one of the group shuttles outside the airport which cost $17 USD pp.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowsurferMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you snowsurferMT for your review regarding your stay at the hotel during Holy Week in Cabo. Yes, you are right on about the fiesta atmosphere in Cabo during the few days preceeding Easter Sunday. Easter is a huge holiday for all Mexicans. Although the safe deposit boxes are not in the rooms, they are free and they are at the front desk. Some are much larger than you described; we have two sizes. As we continue to upgrade the property, rooms included, we appreciate all input and your message has been forwarded to management. Also, VIP has been contacted as well and we are in hopes of communicating with you as well in order to rectify any problems you encountered re transfer service. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you once again in Cabo. You can stay connected on the goings on at the hotel by receiving our periodic newsletters and soon to be blog posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The best thing going for this motel is its location. conveniently located in the heart of downtown one half block from the Cabo Wabo, if you are looking for a cheep place to stay you found it! We found the pool area nice and relaxing located behind Baja Peppers was nice for food and drinks. We spent a lot of time there because our room was on the depressing side. If you only need 1 power outlet and enjoy interrogation lighting you will be just fine. The dirty drapes keep no light out and the bathroom floods when you take a shower. So yes... The location is good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greatwoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you Greatwoodguy for your evaluation. Your message has been forwarded to management for review. As you may be aware, we are in the process of upgrading our property and your input is important to us. We hope you will stay in touch as we move forward. So many of our guests understand the challenges of keeping the property as a Historical Landmark vs upgrading to meet necessary demands for the 21st century. We continue to work hard at that. Yes, our location is ideal if you want to be within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, the marina, Playa Medano, water activities and night spots, etc. We were listed in the B&B section by Trip Advisor because of our restaurant and bar and we do include 1 free breakfast for every three nights you stay with us as a special promotion as noted on our website. Thanks again... we hope you return to Cabo and will check in with us next time if you are so inclined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#38 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
#34 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
379 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#45 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#44 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Property: Hotel Mar de Cortez
Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing