We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top flight location, value, amenities, we loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mar de Cortez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top flight location, value, amenities, we loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel, and were really impressed. It's not luxury, but it has everything we were looking for: Mexican charm and character, a great pool, good restaurant on site, good clean rooms. It's close to the nightclub action, two taco stands, an ATM, many good shops, a supermarket, and an ice cream/paleta shop. We had a suite for 3 of us for $90 and I think they said the double rooms were $70. Excellent shuttle bus to the airport at the end of our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, surroundings homey and pretty. The only downside was the room furnishings were rather tired (with so many beautiful local textiles available, why the ratty bedspreads?) and minimal. But it all worked fine, plenty of hot water in a huge walk-in shower, breakfast was FAB and the chile relleno a delight.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor face the pool with a little shaded patio; when there are no children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbondanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    180
    63
    17
    14
See reviews for
52
156
55
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
O.C. California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with another couple and our rooms were next to each other. The staff was nice and very accommodating when we asked for things. Nobody mentioned that there are no hair dryers in the room, no TVs, no hand towels or washcloths but the room was clean. The patio furniture around the pool needs to be replaced but we didn't really hang out there much. The location is great for fishing because of the proximity to the marina. I would say this is more of a guys type of place that want to fish and a clean place to stay. I prefer a few more amenities. Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: The rooms with the larger patios are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildrose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 2 night at Mar De Cortez just ahead of the 2012 Trip Advisor Black & Green Charity Fishing Tournament just to stretch out our 7 day vacation into a 9 day vacation. I had heard for modest accomadations that Mar De Cortez was nice but I wanted to see for myself. They have a nice little pool centrally located in the middle of the courtyard. It is lined with lounge chairs and is just steps away from the bar and in almost every case your room.
We were on the second floor at the top of the steps and the view was of the pool. The rooms are simple there is no TV or phone but the air-conditioning was ice cold and the beds were comfortable. The food is very good at Baja Peppers and the portions are decent. The drinks were not expensive and they were good too!
If you rent a car they have private locked parking inside a steel gate, punch in the code and the gate opens. Secure lock boxes at the front desk for valuables and a wonderful friendly staff. The best part was the price. $62.00 per night for terrace double occupancy. Centrally located right down town just a block up from the Giggling Marlin and Rip's. Short walk to everything from fishing to dining.
Mind you this is not the Ritz so if you are looking for 5 star you will need to look elsewhere but for inexpensive, clean, with pool, food, a nice little bar and staff that is friendly and attentive I have to say Mar De Cortez fits the bill!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fish4brains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been staying at the Mar de Cortez since 1982 and feel that it has done nothing but improve during that time. The prices are excellent, probably the best in Cabo and the location is absolutely the best in town, close to everything. Ten minutes to the Marina, 15 minutes to the beach and 5 minutes to the rest of town not to mention right next to Cabo Wabo. Rooms are very clean staff is attentive and very helpful and they have a nice pool centrally located. For those who want to experience the "Old Cabo" this is your place.

My truck recently broke down and without the help of the Mar de Cortez staff I would still be there. Marcos, the manager and Anna Marie were amazing and made a difficult experience enjoyable. Help was not limited to these two, the entire staff did everything they could to get me the assistance I needed. As a bonus there is actually a very good restaurant and bar, Baja Peppers, within the hotel itself. Watch out for Umberto.

After this last trip, and the efforts put forth by the staff to get me back on the road I consider the hotel and staff more than a place to stay but actually feel like they are part of my extended family.

Stay there you will not be disappointed.

Jim Gianola

Room Tip: Get a Garden room. Overlooks the pool and has a small terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

It is the people that stay at this Hotel that make it so awesome. As a solo traveller I was welcomed into one big happy family. The staff are great thanks to Nat for organising my stay just the best so helpful. Ana so lovely always smiling. Housekeeping ladies do such a great job.
Loved the location can walk to Marina and Medona Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badbackgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Te
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the Mar in 1989 and returned this year and it has only gotten better! Ana and the ladies at the front desk remember your name and always have a friendly buenos dias for you...they are helpful for whatever you need. We love the simple but large rooms and bathrooms...clean and bright! If you want luxury, go elsewhere...but if you want to feel at home and like you are part of the family, Mar de Cortez is your place...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edanderica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

If the ownership/mgmt. change hasn't made a difference, this is a great place for the price. been there every year for twenty years. super location, great staff, lovely pool area, and decent restaurant

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BassettLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#45 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#6 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#35 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#43 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
#33 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Property: Hotel Mar de Cortez
Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing