We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the Wyndham again”
Review of Tesoro Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tesoro Los Cabos
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was another great trip to Wyndham Cabo San Lucas. As you can see from past post I really enjoy staying at this hotel . It is where the action is in Cabo. The view of the Marina in the AM is great watching it come to life . The check in / out could have been a little smoother but that was 15 min of a 6 day trip , so no big deal. The staff is great Raul has been taking our luggage to our room for years and always remembers us .
See you again in October.

Room Tip: Get a marina view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texomablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida M, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Texomablue,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with us!
We have a great location and plenty of life in the marina, which we are glad you were able to enjoy.It was a pleasure to have you at our resort and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Frida Madonia Juzaino
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

From beginning to end, this hotel is a disaster. Although in a perfect location at the Cabo San Lucas marina, the hotel is a maze of long, winding corridors and dingy and dark hallways with dirty floors and no signs for directions. Service is poor too: upon arrival with seven pieces of luggage, no bell boy showed up to help. The timing of our stay was poor: during spring break. The hotel seems to have a wholesale relationship with a company that arranges spring break trips from the US. The hotel was full of scantily clad college kids, one of whom my wife watched throwing up her tequila in the ladies room at two in the afternoon. The hotel has a high-pressure promotion for selling their "Tesoro Club," probably a scheme to sell time shares. I would not stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: When reserving a room advertised with "Marina View" make sure they don't give you a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida M, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Tom T,

The Comfort of our guests is our top priority as the situation you outlined in Tripadvisor comment is extremely concerning. We research the events that you described; however, based on the limited personal available we lack to give you the service you deserved. Regarding this incident you describe on spring we do apologize for the inconvenience. We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to make corrections. Best Regards,

Sincerely,
Frida Madonia, Operations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Before I booked the Wyndham for my 30th bday trip I read almost all reviews (multiple times) on almost every site & decided to give it a shot. Overall our 6 day stay there was better than expected. I booked an king marina view room & our balcony was right over the pool on the 5th floor. Check-in was seamless, it only took me about 5 mins. Our room was on the small side but it was gorgeous waking up to the sunrise over the marina every morning. Room service was excellent & super helpful. The breakfast that was included when we booked our room was decent. The earlier you go the better it is. There is a taco spot under the hotel that makes some of the best tacos I've had on handmade tortillas (if you request them) Overall everyone in the hotel was friendly & for the most part helpful. We were there over spring break & still look fairly young so we didnt encounter any of the time share people. The location on the marina is perfect. It;s close to everything, including some really amazing restaurants & is a 10 min walk to the beach (either the local beach or Medano)

Now for the cons...

1. Spring breakers - The first night we literally got no sleep. There were kids screaming up & down the hallways slamming doors from 12am-5am. There is security everywhere on the ground floor it would be nice if they had it on every floor just out of respect for the other, older, non partying guests to help monitor the noise level.

2. Being over the pool was amazing minus the non stop house/dance/techno music. If you want to get in a mid day nap, forget about it or bring ear plugs.

3. The obnoxious colored wrist bands they make you keep on during your whole stay. Need I say more.

4. They are definitely re-using their alcohol bottles & pouring in "comparable" liquor @ the downstairs lobby bar. Upon arrival my boyfriend went to the bar while I was in line checking in & request a vodka tonic. It was NOT vodka. Definitely tequila. I asked him what he got he confirmed it was vodka & I said no its not, smell it, taste it. He agreed & took it back to the bar. Not sure if it was the language barrier but the bartender didnt seem to believe him & kept showing him the bottle & didnt even offer to replace the drink (which would be standard @ any good bar) We went back the next day & there were different bartenders & asked to see their well vodka that they pour, took the top off, smelled it & it was definitely tequila. At 30 years old I can clearly tell the difference between vodka & tequila. I then asked for Stoli which was still unopened so I was sure it was the real deal.

5. The website says they "offer airport shuttles" they don't really offer them, they have them available for $20 a person. This is very misleading on the site & when I went downstairs to book a shuttle there was another woman who said the same thing. If you book a shuttle to the hotel, book it round trip. It will be cheaper & nicer. On the way in we shared a bran new SUV with another couple for only $15 a person. On the way out using the hotel shuttle we paid $20 a person for a cramped van with 10 people. When I mentioned it to the guy behind the transportation desk he basically was like it is what it is, if you don't want it you can get a taxi.

I suggest instead of using the English speaking employees to hustle as timeshare people, they should use them to help with customer service issues & complaints. All in all, had the spring breakers not been so obnoxious & had I not had to pay for the airport shuttle, I would probably up the hotel rating @ least a half a star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Wyndham Club Tesoro Mar 8 - 14, 2014. The weather was really incredible 30 Celcius/ 86 Fahrenheit but the nights were slightly cooler (bring a sweater or light jacket) but that didn't affect any of the younger Spring Break college kids running around at night in their bathing suits. The resort wasn't overly packed even with the Spring Break kids and the motorcycle rally. The pool in the afternoon was busy & noisy with college kids who disappeared later in the afternoon and turned up again at night. With the exception of the first night, every night after you could hear lots of swearing, yelling, loud music, and loud banging from the college kids from 9pm to after midnight, then again around 4am. One night around 4am again, I heard the Policia pounding on a nearby room. The good thing is that I was told that this resort will not be having the spring breakers again in the future.
This resort is located right in the heart of Cabo. Easy walking to everywhere! Minutes from the dolphin center, fishing boats, water taxis, dinner cruises, shopping, the Arc, restaurants, bars, shopping, We loved being able to pop in and out of the resort so easily.
There was some confusion with the room at first. They gave us a marina view with a king bed when I requested a room with 2 double beds. The bell boy waited with us in the first room and the front desk immediately and easily relocated us to our requested room (5 minutes tops!). Our new room was even more beautiful than the first. We had a large room (2 double beds, big kitchen/dining area, large balcony) on the 5th floor overlooking the pool and marina. The poolside music was blaring but we could not hear it once our balcony doors were closed. The beds were super comfortable and clean, lots of towels, free use of safe, mini-bar, kitchen stocked with plates,pots,cups, utensils, dishwashing liquid, and coffee maker (no coffee supplied, extra cost plus they tack on a hidden tip for delivery even though we tipped housekeeping). Our room was beautifully cleaned and well stocked daily. Our view was priceless overlooking the marina and pool. We would sit on the balcony every morning and every night.
The outdoor patio breakfast buffet 7-11am had lots of options including made to order egg dishes (omelettes, sunny side up, etc). A few times we saw non-breakfast items in the warming dishes (BBQ ribs, lasagna). We also had lunch here one day and they make the freshest homemade french fries bar-none. You are dining under patio umbrellas with views of the marina, walkway, pool. Service was courteous, attentive, and pleasant.
We were incredibly impressed by the number of security manning the elevators, hallways, and throughout the resort. We were informed that it was because they are centrally located they wanted to maintain an exclusivity to their resort clients. So no one was allowed near any of the suites without their wristbands (give out at check-in). Security were full staffed all hours and again incredibly friendly, helpful, and courteous.
We could not begin to reiterate how wonderful the staff were...housekeeping, front desk, bell boys, valets, concierge, activity coordinator, bar staff, pool staff, waiters, cooks, busboys, security, etc. Everyone bent over backwards to ensure we were being helped and having a great time! They were warm, friendly, courteous.
I only gave this a 4 star rating because of the lack of sleep from the college kids partying all night! We definately will be back!

Room Tip: Marina view is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SizL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida M, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest SizL,

We would like to thank you for choosing Club Tesoro in advance we appreciate for taking the time to write a review. We would like to remind you that, as always our priority is our guest satisfaction. We are glad to hear you enjoy your stay and enjoyed our restaurants thank you for noticing our security our goal is to maintain our guest safe. We look forward for your return we hope you enjoy your stay! Best regards

Frida Madonia, Operations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham while on a family fishing trip. The hotel is right on the marina, so very convenient for those early morning fishing departures. It is also in downtown, so access to shopping and restaurants is right there.
The rooms are comfortable. Our room had a mini fridge and a safe. We had a room overlooking the marina. This cost a bit more than street side, but well worth the money for views and also lower noise levels.
I would ask for a room on the pool side of the hotel. This hotel is very big, and it is possible to be a very long walk to the pool. Also the higher up, the better the views.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better, and west end of the hotel are better. Street side rooms can be very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MollyT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida M, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear MollyT07

Thank you for visiting us at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas. We hope we made your stay memorable by meeting your expectations we are glad to hear you enjoy our amenities and our convenient location close to the Marina. We strive to make the experience at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas one you will remember. We appreciate your business with us and we look forward to have you here in the future.

Sincerely,

Frida Madonia,
Operations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is an older property that is being converted into a timeshare. In the meantime, they are renting the old hotel rooms a very reasonable price. We got a Marina View room with a large balcony for $110.00. This is a relative bargain in Cabo these days, where a hotel room can easily set you back $200 - $300 per nite. Staying here was really about the location. You are in the heart of Cabo and don't need to rent a car or pay a lot of outrageous taxi fares. Shops, bars, restaurants and activities are all within easy walking distance. The beach is a bit of a schlep, but the on - site pool is very nice if moderately sized. The "smiling crocodile" timeshare salespersons are evident, but this is hardly exclusive to this hotel. Just say "No Thank You" and keep walking. The room was a little dog eared and missing the couch, which actually worked out OK for us because we wanted a roll away bed, which was promptly brought to our room with one call to the front desk. I do think its good advice to send someone from your party up to the room to check it out before you accept it, because they are converting to timeshare and I'm maintenance of the old rooms is being kept to a minimum. Our safe, TV, Beds, kitchenette & bathroom were just fine if somewhat dated. Overall the service was friendly if a bit slow, but hey, slow down people, this isn't L.A.!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gigante22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida M, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Gigante22,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your kind comments about the view and facilities of our hotel are very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that the location was very convinient for you.We would like to encourage you to choose Wyndham by Tesoro Resort for your next visit, as it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel, along with your family and friends.

Best regards,


Frida Madonia Juzaino
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We saw the mixed reviews before booking but wanted the harbourfront location and a reasonable price and room. We paid the upcharge for the harbour view, fdefinitely worth it.The room had some issues, the safe needed replacing, they did so promptly. The room size was small and the coffee service in the room is an extra charge. The view however was outstanding and the balcony was very nice and roomy. The price included a full breakfast on the pool deck with a nice selection of breakfast items and great view of the boatscoming in and out, it was a great way to start the day.

Since the Wyndham is a timeshare property every day brings mutliple aggressive staff invites to a timeshare presentation but we were not biting and consistently said no and finally they stopped.
Lots of noise from party boats in the Marina throughout the day and night till about 10PM. We did not want to rent a car and could walk to numerous restaurants and the staff gave us some good suggestions. All the water charters we were interested in were right outside the hotel so we were pleased we did not have to walk far. All in all we were happy with the price and experience of our first visit to Cabo.

Room Tip: Pay the small upcharge for the Harbor View rooms. Bring binoculars , we saw whales breaching from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ValueShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida M, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear ValuedShooper

On behalf of Club Tesoro please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We strive to deliver the outstanding service unfortunately, you may have experience our high season on spring break as for the aggressive sales you have experience we apologize for the inconvenience. We are taking the steps to prevent issues.We have programmed customer service training to correct the issue and it does not repeat again, thank you for your honesty and we look forward for your return,

Best Regards,

Frida Madonia, Operations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,157 reviews
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Ca...
#35 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Medano Hotel and Suites
Medano Hotel and Suites
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#5 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Marina Lotes 9 y 10 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $102 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tesoro Los Cabos Hotel, Spa & Skypool In Mexico the #1 luxury destination is Los Cabos, recognized internationally for its beautiful beaches, top level spas, impressive golf courses, world-class fishing and incredible views. At Tesoro Los Cabos we have gatheredall of these charms, with its elegant Skypool lounge in the heart of the marina and entertainment district, the fun never ends. From our privileged location on the marina, you will find classy shops, nightclubs, fine and casual restaurants, & many water activities to make your Cabo experience the best it can. Having the best location & view of the marina in Cabo San Lucas has made Tesoro Los Cabos the #1 option for discerning travelers looking for the best place for their business trip, families looking to enjoy every moment of their vacation, couples enjoying the romance in the air, and those who require a dose of adrenaline that water sports provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tesoro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Costa Real Cabo San Lucas
Tesoro Cabo San Lucas
Tesoro Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing