We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marina location, constant noise from poolside DJ & non-hotel guests”
Review of Tesoro Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tesoro Los Cabos
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place could be so good if it weren't overrun with constant "parties" at the pool to attract a day-use 20-30's crowd of partiers. "Skypool" has a contract to run the pool bars & pool security (surly) & a DJ, all day on weekdays & till late night on weekends. They had 1 party where hotel guests couldn't use the pool area at all without opening a tab with a $50 minimum. The partiers are loud, young, get drunk fast & don't stay at the hotel - a hook-up crowd, not vacationers.

Too bad, because the pool area is lovely, beds are comfortable. The restaurant is quite mediocret. Front desk staff is mixed as far as friendliness & helpfulness. The spa & fitness rooms aren't open but there may be off site options.

FYI, Bathrooms have stall showers, no tubs.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a poolside room unless you can handle pounding music that will be evident even wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol22b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

I thank carol22b for her candid feedback and sincerely apologize for the alleged problems encountered during her past stay at our resort. We will certainly heed the reviewers feedback in our pursuit of excellence in service to all guests. I take this opportunity to gladly inform the TA community that as our pool area renovation, our Gym and SPA are also undergoing updates and renovations and will soon be finished, offering a complete and first class SPA for all guests at our Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here 21-25 Oct as an extension to a 4 week touring holiday of the American south west. Having spent 2 weeks driving through 4 states we figured this would be a nice relaxing 5 night break in our itinerary. However, it seemed the hotel management at this "Wyndham" had other ideas! Apologies in advance for what may seem an extended whinge!

We spent the first night in a room described as having a "city view". Whlst this was technically correct (if you looked out of the only window into a hotel corridor there was a 5 degree glimpse of the city), the room was dark and rather depressing. We therefore paid an extra $22 a night for our next 4 nts for a much bigger and better situated room on the 5th floor (536) with a balcony overlloooking the harbour. First impression of the room was that it was great but it was impossible to relax or siesta in the afternoon due to the rediculously loud music eminating from the "sky lounge" terrace 2 floors below us. We even resorted to wearing over ear noise canceling headphones in an attempt to block out some of the racket but it was so loud even this was ineffective. It was odd because the age groups around the pool seemed more mature and unlikely to appreciate the "boom boom music" being inflicted on them and us! We complained but were told that the music would be turned down at 5:30 (i.e. we would have to live with it all afternoon).

In addition to this we had a particularly difficult and frustrating time attempting to have our fridge filled with soft drinks and beers (as part of our "all inclusive" plan). We first requested the fridge to be filled at 1 pm and were told that someone would attend to it right away. 4 hours later we still had an empty fridge. It took 2 more phone calls to housekeeping and 3 to the "manager" (different one each time we called) to get this resolved. Eventually the drinks arrived at 7:30 pm but the fridge was never replenished again during our stay.

Indeed the whole "all inclusive" set up was rather strange to us as we were made to sign for every meal or drink we ordered (despite having been given the gold coloured wrist bands indicating the all inclusive plan). We were particularly suspicious of this as each account detailed a price for the food / drink we had ordered. We queried this and were told that we were only signing for "accounting purposes" and everything was "free". However it was really confusing since some items (steak / shrimp / salmon) fell outside the meal plan. Having stayed at various other Mexican all inclusive hotels in Cancun and Playa del Carmen we had expected all inclusive to be very straight forward which it certainly wasn't here.

There were other issues such as the bar in the lobby area rarely being open during the day. On one occasion we asked for two botles of water and the guy said he'd have to go to the restaurant bar for these. After 15 minutes waiting in the lobby the water hadn't arrived so I went to the restaurant myself where it was explained that they had sold my 2 bottles to someone else in the lobby??!!

On the positive side, the hotel is very well situated on the harbour with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient as was the girl in reception who rearranged our room and our taxi to the airport.

It was a shame that our stay was spoilt by the largely avoidable problems we encountered.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for harbour views - it's worth it. However, be aware of possible loud music played...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I am extremely disappointed that we did not measure up to the reviewers expectations, I certainly understand the reviewers comments and concerns and can assure that the hotel strives to make every guest stay a memorable experience. To complement what the reviewer so clearly explains in his review, we have room categories for all needs and budgets, from our smallest City View Room to a Master Marina View Room. The reviewer started in the smallest hotel room available, and upgraded to a much bigger room with a marina view. Regarding the All Inclusive , I would like to clarify that we do not have an all Inclusive program, the program the reviewer purchased was a Meal Plan which includes three meals a day and unlimited selected drinks at restaurants and bars from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m., of course a signature is required with every consumption as in any Resort where there is a combination of Meal Plan and European Plan, the mini bar is included with a daily refill in this program. I do greatly appreciate the positive notes regarding our Staff and location.

I apologize to the reviewer for not being able to deliver the Resort experience he was expecting. and will most certainly heed his valuable feedback and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff that gets tipped - very helpful, those that don't not so much. Fridge did not work, room went for days without service, and when I requested it, it was spotty and incomplete. Lots of construction noise all day. They have a no visitors policy that just did not work for me. We had friends staying elsewhere and they were not even allowed to join us for breakfast or come to our room for drinks. The manager flat out lied to us about this policy and never bothered to apologize. Coming in late one night, I got the third degree from security and he actually put his hands on me to stop me to interrogate me about where was I going. I still love the location, but after years of staying there, I will not be returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, RDM at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We sympathize with Steve T, and truly regret the apparent fact that in this instance, we did not meet the needs and preferences of this particular repeat patron, we offer our most sincere apologies for this. We will surely act in consequence of his important feedback to enact improvements in the areas he found to be lacking. For the TA community, I would like to once again explain that we have a very strict in room visitors policy for the safety and peace of mind of all guests, nevertheless outside visitors are welcome in our restaurants and Skypool | Dayclub. Once again I offer my most sincere apology. We value greatly your patronage, If the reviewer should be willing to return, please feel free to contact me directly for I would like to personally oversee your future reservations. jmeza@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
SPRING
12
Reviewed November 4, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamCSL, RDM at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Tesoro. Perfect location to everything! Enjoyed the grand opening of the Skypool lounge, all night pool party was definately a highlight of our trip. The owner, Simon, was in the house and helped make the evening grand with drinks and fun light up party favors. Went to party and rock with Sammy at Cabo Wabo and this location was perfect, only two blocks away! Be sure to make your way to the top of the lighthouse, the view is amazing, not to mention the exercise will do ya some good. We would for sure stay here again, maybe even next year for Sammys Birthday Bash!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank crazyfungirlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, Front Office Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We thank the reviewer for his candid comments regarding his past stay, we strive to offer excellence in service to all our guests. We are excited you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

great location. front desk staff not friendly. great pool area. Beds were comfortable. Close to night life. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank KIMBERLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, Guest Relations Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

I thank the reviewer for his kind feedback regarding his past stay, we strive to offer excellence in service to all our guests. Please know that we value your patronage and take your feedback very seriously, we will certainly look into the areas you found to be deficient in our pursuit of excellence in service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamCSL, Manager at Tesoro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,164 reviews
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#35 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Medano Hotel and Suites
Medano Hotel and Suites
#12 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
899 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Marina Lotes 9 y 10 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $100 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tesoro Los Cabos Hotel, Spa & Skypool In Mexico the #1 luxury destination is Los Cabos, recognized internationally for its beautiful beaches, top level spas, impressive golf courses, world-class fishing and incredible views. At Tesoro Los Cabos we have gatheredall of these charms, with its elegant Skypool lounge in the heart of the marina and entertainment district, the fun never ends. From our privileged location on the marina, you will find classy shops, nightclubs, fine and casual restaurants, & many water activities to make your Cabo experience the best it can. Having the best location & view of the marina in Cabo San Lucas has made Tesoro Los Cabos the #1 option for discerning travelers looking for the best place for their business trip, families looking to enjoy every moment of their vacation, couples enjoying the romance in the air, and those who require a dose of adrenaline that water sports provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tesoro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Costa Real Cabo San Lucas
Tesoro Cabo San Lucas
Tesoro Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing