We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family vacation at the Villa Del Palmar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Just returned from Cabo and a great stay at the Villa del Palmar.
I read a lot of reviews before making my decision to stay here. I was a bit nervous about some of the negative reviews I read, but It turned out to be the perfect choice for us and we had a fantastic time.
We had no problems with being harassed by time share sharks,as others have stated. Yes, they do approach you and try to talk you into a time share seminar, but people, that is their job! Just say no thank you, and they soon forget about you. Check in was quick and efficient, didn't care for the room they gave us, so we asked to be switched and the next one was just perfect . The furniture was a bit dated, but for us, but it was clean, comfortable and had a great view of the pool and ocean and that was all that mattered. We did not do the all inclusive, so we did the shopping trip to Walmart and were really surprised to see how nice it was. Very good produce section and had all the essentials we needed for our week. We saved money by making our own breakfast, lunch and snacks.There is a full fridge so you can really stock up.
We found this hotel to be VERY efficiently run. Any problems we had were seen to right away and ALL of the staff were super friendly and accommodating. The entertainment crew during the day were so energetic and funny and just made for a really fun day around the pool. We had so much fun swimming and boggie boarding at the beach but if you are not a strong swimmer you do need to be cautious. There are lots of comfy loungers and umbrellas on the beach and the vendors are nice and not too annoying like some other places we have been to in Mexico.
Happy hour by the pool was a great way to end the day, enjoy the sunset and meet other vacationers.We have an eight year old and a teenager and neither of them were ever bored.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and clean and the view of the ocean and rock formations are just stunning. Each evening we went to a different restaurant in town, there are so many excellent ones to choose from, so we didn't feel the need to eat dinner at the hotel. We might have, had the hotel restaurant prices not been so high. It just wasn't worth it for us and in my opinion the hotel should really consider dropping their prices to bring more guests in.The beach party at the hotel was the one and only evening we spent there and it was a blast with a band, dancing and fun activities for the kids.
On the nights we went into town, we walked home and found it totally safe and a good way to work off your dinner if you are up for the 20 min stroll.
In conclusion, this is a terrific hotel perfectly situated in Cabo with so many great features, views to die for, great swimming beach, your choice of fun pool or relaxing pool. It is a time share hotel, so one should not be surprised to be approached by time share sales people.(That is why you probably got such a good deal in the first place).
If you have totally unrealistic expectations or are super nit-picky or are expecting a 5 star I don't recommend this hotel, but if you are looking for a great time at a family friendly, affordable hotel with great features....go, have fun and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing our resort for your past vacation in Los Cabos and for writing a review to share the experience you had in our Hotel. We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the resort, and all the activities among the Hotel and the Los Cabos area. In regards with the furniture, we are in the process of changing all the fabrics in the rooms. We thank you for your comments and hope to have the opportunity of being your Host in the near future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Salicrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,002)
There are newer reviews for Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,350 - 4,356 of 5,002 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

My fiance and I spent five nights at the resort. The check in process was very easy and the staff was very attentive. There is a wonderful restaurant at the pool that overlooks the beach, which is beautiful. The food and beverage prices are comparitive to other resorts in the area and the food was very good. The resort is right on the beach and although the surf is strong right in front of the hotel, you can swim in the ocean just 25 yards from the beach right in front of the resort, which was not an issue at all. The beach is beautiful and we loved the clear water. There are a few different pools at the hotel and the hotel does a good job having activities to keep the guests entertained. If we wanted a more quiet day by the pool, there was an adult only pool. The rooms were nice and it was good to have a kitchenette to have breakfast in the room daily. We walked down to the marina every day (about a 15-20 minute walk) although there are plenty of cabs as well. We got a great deal on our room and I would definitly return to the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brookemhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your comments of your experience in our Resort. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, the facilities and service. In regards with the surf in the ocean, we are going to install buoys in front of the resort beach to make the swimming more safe. We thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Mauricio Salicrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at the Palmar for 6 nights. The staff were friendly and accomedating. We did not get hassled for time share presentations. We dined at their seafood buffet on the first night...it was just 'ok.' We mainly utilized the kitchen to prep meal and enjoy our cooking on our beautiful lanai overlooking the ocean. If you sit in the front of the hotel on the gorgeous sandy beach you will be hassled by vendors non-stop. You cannot take a leisurely walk down the beach without being hit up by vendors constantly. The only other complaint I have is we could not swim in the ocean directly in front of the resort due to extremely high surf and rip currents. However, if you walk down the beach, towards the marina, there is safe swimming. Or, you can take a water taxi for a short ride to Lover's Beach. There you will find nice snorkeling.

All in all I would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whizbangkennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you very much for writing a review in Trip Advisor and sharing your experience in Villa del Palmar. We are happy because you enjoyed the facilities and you were pleased with the service provided by our Staff. In regards with the swiming in the ocean, we are in the process of installing buoys in the ocean in front of the hotel, to make the swimming experience more safe.

Best regards,

Mauricio Salicrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

ROOM: I was very disappointed that my 2 bedroom/3 bath I got with time share exchange had no windows! The only outdoor space you have (garden view only with 2 bedroom timeshares, apparently) is a very small balcony with plastic patio set. One chair did have a tiny view of Land's end. $4/daily charge Maid Service does not include: dishwashing service, a sponge, dishwashing liquid, coffee filters. electric cooktop.

Food/Service: POOR. Whatever you do, do NOT order the ceviche served in coconut shell for $9.00US at cafe Bella . A tiny portion that wasn't good. On the other hand, we did order their pizzas twice during our stay, and the guys at the bar/pizza oven were nice. They really appreciate tips! Tortugas did have big screens for the games but food not good.

As far as presentation to Villa Arco ($20 deposit. breakfast buffet/boat ride) VERY nice place/decent price, but I guarantee your 90 minute presentation will turn into 3 hours.

For Super Wal Mart on the collectivo for $1 US: walk down the hill (the trolley passes the entrance) you will see a white bus that says Collectivo, (WAL MART/HOTELERIA) and for about a buck you can be at a Super Wal Mart in 5 minutes. Catch a taxi (van) back to the 'resort' for the standard taxi fare of $7 . this same collectivo can take you to Puerto Parasio, so you really don't need a cab to get to town. The location of this resort is very close proximity to Medano beach, but not right smack in the middle of it. (less 'vendors' to deal with)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you very much for writing a review in Trip Advisor to share your experience in our Resort. We apologize if the food and service was not completely satisfactory, our food and beverages department have been informed, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Hoping to have the opportunity of being your Host in the future, we remain.

Cordially,

Mauricio Salicrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

There's good news and bad news ... The only window in our 2 bedroom unit was the sliding door to the patio, so the bedrooms and most of the suite was very dark. We spent a lot of time outside the room, so it wasn't a major problem, but be aware, your room certainly doesn't feel like a 5 star resort.
Service at the restaurant and for travel arrangements needs major help. Plan to sit for an hour or so before your food arrives- and that's after you remind your waiter that you are still there. The concierge and travel arrangers are only order takers. Want information? Here's a brochure to read, 'cause I know nothing. One contributing factor is that the staff loves to cluster and spend time together, rather than provide service. I asked to speak to the restaurant manager about the poor service and knew it was hopeless when they pulled him from a group of waiters watching TV together. Whoops.
Positives are that the outside amenities (Pool, store) are very nice and you can walk to Cabo. It is also part of a three property complex that offers a bit of variety.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyGuy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Villa del Palmar for your past vacation in Los Cabos and sharing your experience in our Resort. There is a new food and beverages Director and he is the process of improving and implementing better services in our outlets. We forwarded your comment to the Supervisor of the concierge desk. We are glad to know that your enjoyed the facilities and amenities we offer, and comments such yours encourages us to keep working hard. Kind regards.

Sincerely,

Mauricio Salicrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

First,upon arrival at airport had arranged for transportation through the hotel.I was told that it was much cheaper than a taxi(wrong ,van was $19/pp while taxi was $35/4 people)
Was told after customs to go thru the doors to the right and transfer would be waiting with sign.(WRONG again,gave the guy at the airport transfer co.name and was sent to timeshare person,not once but twice,this after having been up for 12hrs and flying most of the day) Finally,we arrived at the hotel only to find (not kidding) around 100 people trying to check in at the same time.We finally got to our room around 6-630p after landing at 3ish.Distance from ariport was 30-40min.

When I reserved the 2BR/3BA suite the description was 3 full baths with 2 of them having jaccuzi tubs.We had 2 shower baths and 1 regular tub that had no running water.Maintenance came 2 times to correct the problem and needed a 3rd over 3 days so we just took showers.The room was also supposed to accomodate 6 people.The sofa bed was in no way usuable for a bed.On day 2 toilets became stopped up for no apparent reason.

The nice spa that is on the website is not located at the Palmar but at Villa del Arco which does have a trolley to pick you up.It is fantastic but not on site.

All in all,it looks like they are continuing to update property.It also boast stove,ie;stove/oven but is actually a cooktop only,however the microwave is a convection one so able to use as oven.

Remember all things are negotiable prices from vendors and also "gifts" for spending time viewing a timeshare.Don't take the first offer as they will continue to give more and more gifts.

The pool area was nice as was the beach,however the beach while swimmable has a terrible undertow.I would not let children in alone.Our husbands over 200lb each had a hard time with the undertow.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Guest, we thank your for writing a review in Trip Advisor, to share your experience in our Resort. We are sorry for the hassle you had at the airport due to your transportation. Our maintenance department will reinforce the revision of the rooms before the arrivals to avoid any malfunctioning. On the other hand, we are happy because you enjoyed the facilities and the beach. We thank you again for your time and hope to have the opportunity of being your Host in the future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Salicrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed in May on a timeshare exchange for a week. Responded to ad online for timeshare tour for $300 (come on ad) -was told I didn't "qualify" because I had debit card-even though my mom had 3 credit cards and we've owned 4 timeshares since 1994), Agent said we could get "gold card" which would give us big discounts at resort. Took 10 days of emailing back and forth to confirm timeshare tour. Once we checked in-we had about 3 confused representatives trying to sign us up for tour in lobby before we checked in-I showed them paperwork, they would disappear then come back with no new information-we thought it was finally straightened out and went to our room. Stove didn't work (breakers needed turning on) and plumbing didn't work in master bath. They came out and fixed in but it wouldn't flush again next day. Pull out sofa was so thin my mom ended up with backache and we had to put sofa cushions under mattress. When we sat on couch-it sunk in! Used so called "discount" gold card at Bella California restaurant near pool first night -was exhausted from airport-took 1/2 hour to get a glass of water and cost my son and I $35 for 2 burgers which took another 45 minutes to get with cheese and a coke with our SO-CALLED DISCOUNT CARD. Went to tour next day and spent 1 hr with confused agents again on whether shuttle was included as gift for attending tour (YOU REALLY HAVE TO MAKE SURE EVERYTHING YOU ARE PROMISED IS IN WRITING ON INVITATION) We were exhausted and disgusted by the time we even went on tour. Next day a Villa del Palmar rep harrassed us as we were exiting premises asking if we were going to tour elsewhere and if we are to watch out because we could be robbed--after I told him FOUR TIMES to leave me alone my 6'6" 19 year old told him to flake off. We found this very unprofessional. We have stayed at Pueblo Bonito nearby, Hotel Finisterra, Sol Mar Resort and have travelled extensively to Puerto/Nuevo Vailarta, Cancun, Mazatlan with our timeshares , and NEVER encountered such unprofessional service. We went to Pueblo Bonito Rose which is within walking distance from Palmar several times for breakfast and dinner that week and were treated like royalty at a much cheaper price I might add. Our 2 bdrm unit was nice at the Palmar as were the pools but we could not get the bad taste out of our mouth over the service and way too expensive prices. We will definitely go back to Pueblo Bonito next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHARLASVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Dear Guests, thank you very much for writing a review and sharing your experience in our Resort. We apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received from our wait Staff. There is a new food & beverages Director, and he is the process of improving and implementing better services in our restaurants. We hope you could give us another chance to serve you, to show you that we can take excellent care of our Guests.

Kind regards,

Mauricio Salicrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $131 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing