We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Experience but Not Without Flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Good Experience but Not Without Flaws”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My parents own a timeshare with the Villa group, and I traveled with a group of friends to stay here for vacation. I hadn't been in here in YEARS, so it was almost like experiencing it for the first time. Overall, there were good things and bad things, and I left with mixed emotions about the hotel.

THE GOOD:
All of our rooms were clean, well-furnished, and cool (an absolutely essential thing when visiting Cabo during the summer). They updated the rooms not too long ago, but the updates were a bit half-hearted if you ask me (granite countertops in the kitchen on top of somewhat older cabinets and appliances). Despite this, everything in our kitchenette worked fine. The bed was very comfortable and the shower and bathtub both worked great. In general, we were satisfied with our rooms.

In addition, the food at the resort was quite tasty and pretty reasonably priced with the gold card discount (the discount card you get when you listen to their time share schtick). Happy hour at the pool was great (two for one drinks) and we definitely took advantage of that every day. The spa was FABULOUS--probably the highlight of the trip for me. Definitely go--it's incredibly relaxing and a very high-quality experience.

THE MEDIOCRE:
The pool facilities are small. This resort has the smallest pools of all three hotels in the Villa group, and it shows. Finding open seating is nearly impossible unless you get up early and reserve chairs (something you aren't supposed to do, but everyone does anyway--more on that later). The adult pool is almost too warm, and finding shade is incredibly difficult. The beach is also a bit mediocre. The seas are rough, so half of the time, they don't put out chairs or even allow guests down (more on that later).

THE UGLY:
The rules at this place are IMPOSSIBLE to find out and enforced in the most maddening way. Kids would be splashing and causing a ruckus at the adult pool and no one on the staff would do anything, but when we went swimming at 8:15 pm one night, we got kicked out immediately even though MOST materials say that the pool closes at 8:30 or 9:00 pm. Similarly, we tried to take a walk on the beach one afternoon, and were turned away by hotel staff saying the beach was closed when, clearly, there were hundreds of people on the beach, splashing in the waves and taking a walk. We had to sneak over to the side of the hotel and climb over the wall--completely ridiculous.

Probably the most frustrating thing about this place is the lack of shade and chairs at the pool. The hotel rules clearly state that saving chairs is not allowed, but people do it anyway and the staff even contribute by taking money to save seats for people. It's ridiculous! We would come down to the pool and actually be there swimming all afternoon without chairs while we observed dozens of chairs with towels on them that NEVER had an occupant there. Incredibly, incredibly frustrating.

Overall, the stay here was good. There were more good things than bad things, and I think having been there I would be prepared to deal with some of the bad things more effectively the next time. If you go, be sure to ask for a room that isn't on the main floor for noise reasons. I would also recommend asking for a room away from the elevators.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not on the main floor and away from elevators. If you want peace and quiet during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miss_faw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,034
    1,652
    581
    312
    181
See reviews for
1,573
1,773
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Firstly, I cannot say enough about the staff - Sergio and Hector at the pool bar were unbelievably attentive and anticipated my large group's (nine people) needs. They were polite and prompt, and very patient (needed when taking orders from nine people at the same time!)
Annel at the concierge desk took care of myself, and my group - with welcome drink tickets, to directions on how to get online. Our housekeeper took great care of our room. Great experience with the staff.
For the hotel, all the common areas are nice, well maintained and beautiful. However, our room was less than anticipated. I'm an owner with the Villa group, and was not pleased that the rooms at this hotel are not as updated (older TVs, older appliances, furniture looks beaten, etc.) and not as nice as the other hotels in the Villa group. If you have a room with a pull out sofa, please plan on getting a roll-a-way bed, the pull out sofa is un-sleepable. It was a great trip, but the hotel rooms can be stepped up quite a bit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "3" building, when entering, this is the building to the right of the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have been going to Villa del Palmar for 12 years and have never had a bad experience. The staff has a "Yes we can" attitude from the time we arrive to the time we leave. The entertainment staff is incredible. Veronica, Joel, Suri, Israel, Yeny, Roberto, Jacobo, DJ Julio, Norma, Matias, Laura, Chuy, Joel busted their b_ _ ts from 10 AM to 5PM with activities for all ages for those that wanted to participate. Then everyday they put on a show (varied each night) from Karaoke to dance shows (choreographed by Laura) at the Las Tortugas Restaurant. Again a great time.
I would be remiss in not mentioning some of the waiters that gave us outstanding service (while all are good the following stood out. Tomas, Paco, Gerardo and Ceasar the bar tender at the TACO bar pool side.
If you want a little more subdued atmosphere the upper pool during the day is the ticket for you or go to Villa del Arco for the same.

We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Book Early, Ask for ocean and pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've had the pleasure of visiting this resort for vacation the last 3 years. One of our favorite things we look forward to when coming on vacation is visiting the staff again. Jorge, our server for the dinner restaurant, is one of the best by far & will make your visit a memorable one. He always makes our family feel like we have special treatment. Make sure you ask for him & you're sure to have a fun, enjoyable dinner service. Our favorites during the day by the beach, pool or taco restaurant are Miguel Angel or Hector. I definitely recommend looking for these 3! To anyone who decides to visit this resort, enjoy your vacation. As the locals always say.. "why not!?" :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ddevan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I spent four days at the Villa del Palmar Resort Los Cabos and throughly enjoyed the experience. The food was very good but what really stood out was the service.

We especially want to point out a waiter, Jorge Aparicio, who served us at dinner for several evenings who simply outstanding. His service and attentiveness was what you would receive at a five star restaurant! He really made our vacation in Los Cabos very memorable and we would strongly recommend this resort to other travelers.

Thank you Jorge for a great experience!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are simply spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_DK5428KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The resort is in a nice location and the view was incredible, But as clean as it was.It is old and outdated compared to the surrounding resorts. I would go back to Cabo but probally wouldn't stay at Villa Del Palmer again.They also need more variety in the food.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Villa del Palmar Cabo is not as luxurious as some of the other Palmar resorts, especially Cancun. However, it is very close to the city and has good, basic amenities. The views are wonderful and the beach is swimmable. The staff is amazing! Carlos, Sandra, and Marcos are the best pool waitstaff I had! They were very attentive and extremely helpful, going above and beyond. Mario in the gym and hospitality suite was also very friendly and helpful. The resort itself is older and does not have free wifi. It only has one nice restaurant option, the others are buffets or food bars. The food was good fine though. It is a little crowded at the pool area. You could definitely get away with not doing all inclusive, as the food around Cabo is much better than at the resort. You could just go to the nearby Wal-Mart for drinks and groceries to cook in the rooms (there are all the necessities for cooking) and then eat at a multiple of delicious, inexpensive restaurants around town. All in all, I would probably have been more impressed had I not gone to Villa del Palmar Cancun first and seen a much more luxurious all-inclusive resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing