We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“!!!!!Bait & Switch!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“!!!!!Bait & Switch!!!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We LOVE coming to Cabo & have an amazing time each & every trip we make. Villa del Palmar is a gear location, amazing views, an easy walk to the action on Medano Beach. It's a more lively resort than its Partner Villa del Arco (which seems more sleepy, quiet & a great place to relax & Read.)

We have always stayed at Villa del Palmar for 2 reasons:

1. It's better suited for groups that want to have fun, drink, & possibly be a little more rowdy!

2. Villa del Arco is always, "booked."

My husband & I are hoping that as timeshare members since 2007, we might have the chance to experience Villa del Arco at least ONE time,for a more chill couples trip. But to this date, we have never been able to stay there. This is a classic bait & switch! They show you villa del Arco property, but you buy at Villa del Palmar. So if you join the timeshare, just make sure you are cool w/only staying at Villa del Palmar...always. They also rent rooms at Villa del Arco like a hotel so they can make more $ and the timeshare members are last place ever get to stay there.

Even so, we always have fun in Cabo & really appreciate Villa del
palmar's awesome service staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We offer you our sincere apologies for not been able to accommodate you. Pleas be sure your comment have been shared with those involved and they are not take lightly. We look forward to your visit at your Home Away from Home.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,041
    1,656
    583
    312
    182
See reviews for
1,583
1,774
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We're timeshare owners at Villa del Palmar but haven't stayed at the resort in about 7 years. Rooms were clean and have recently been remodeled. The upper pool was pretty quiet and we were able to get lounges in the shade every day. The lower pool is more for young adults with lots of music, games and tequila. We didn't eat at the resort at all, but talked to several who had purchased the all inclusive and all were happy that they did. I wouldn't consider the resort high end, but the location is nice in that it's walking distance to town and yet far enough away that it's not full of partiers all night long. Staff is always good and having the market is handy, although it's very expensive, so if you have transportation it's better to head to Costco or Walmart.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboLivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us do believe they are taken by heart. We look forward to your next visit and to offer you with the quality of service you have come to expect.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We did not have the pleasure of staying at your beautiful resort, yet I cannot THANK YOU ENOUGH!! My new husband lost his wallet in a Walmart parking lot and you were gracious enough to call our hotel and return it. I hope the hotel staff recognizes what a great employee as well as a person you are. When I return to Cabo, it will be Villa del Palmar, because of you!!! Thank you again!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dionne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is always a pleasure to know that even thought our staff is out of work hours, they still provide exceptional assistance to our tourist. Do believe your comments will not go unnoticed. We look forward to hosting you and offer you with the level of service we are recognized for.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We are timeshare holders somewhere else and did an exchange with Palmar. Had a great experience. Special Thanks to Grace and Christine at the front lobby that deals with concierge. Although we weren't too happy with the timeshare talk b/c it took a very long time, even w/ my son getting tired and hungry... We had a great stay. We had an ocean front view and can see the show from our balcony. We didn't do the all inclusive b/c we wanted to go out into downtown to eat and do activities. S we mostly hung out during the day at palmar then by afternoon went off to our activities and hung out downtown at eateries and walking around. We rented a car this time in cabo so we didn't have time constraints w shuttles or whatever. Parking was easy.
Once again thank u for the hospitality from Grace and Christine. They were wonderful and very friendly and professional. Btw I do want to say the breakfast buffet wasn't that great compared to arco. The pancakes tasted stale, the breads and pastries weren't good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodAholic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We thank you for your comments as they assist us in improving the level of service offer to our valuable guests. Please be assured they have been shared with those involved. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Cabo and offer you with the level of service you deserve.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff was great. The room was large, clean and well equipped, but a little tired.
as usual the fold out couch was uncomfortable. We found that the loungers at the upper pool were lacking. There were continually weddings which meant certain areas of the property were not available to us as paying guests. While in Cabo we did timeshare talks, so when we arrived at Villa del Palmer it was our second week and we did not want to do another time share talk. Unless you do the time share talk you do not get access to Wi-Fi. Every day except the day we left we were hassled to do a time share talk. One night at 9:45pm we got a call to see if we would be at breakfast and then the time share talk. The grounds were beautifully maintained. I would not stay here again unless it was the only place available.

Room Tip: We had a room opening away from the pool areas. It was very quiet except I don't believe there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your visit. Do believe your comments will not go unnoticed. We hope that in the future you would give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and change this past experience.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was at the Villa Palmar for a week 5/04-11 and had a very good time. Had a 2 bedroom/3 bath unit. Room was nice, beds were amazing! Had a nice view of the pool and ocean. Staff was very nice, front desk helpful and was asked once about going to presentation, declined and was never bothered again. Great service by door staff-shout out to Efrain, Dago, Eleil and Ivan! These guys were great and alway happy to see you and made you feel welcomed. Would stay again at this property. Kary, Jeff and Melissa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff provided you with exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next vacations.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Where do I start? Our first visit to Cabo and we stayed at vdp with all inclusive. I just wanted to recognize the impeccable service we received from the staff. Dago our bell guy was awesome. He even spoke perfect English. Our waitresses.. Sandra from the buffet, alma from tortugas and Liz from Bella California, Jose Luis , and our really nice hostesses. Sorry I can't Remember their names. Victor was the restaurant manager who looked like a young George Hamilton. Manuel our bartender. Pls give these guys recognition for a job well done! Even though the all inclusive covers gratuities, i recommend giving a lot of tips because these guys really really work hard. The hotel was super clean. I made sure to acknowledge all the staff members ( they wear name tags) I came across with wether at the pool, lobby, restaurants. Get to know them and I promise you,that your stay will be much pleasant. Can't wait to come back here again next year. Thanks vdp!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We truly appreciate the time taken to share your experience at Villa Del Palmar with others. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was superb. We thank you for your kind comments about the staff. We look forward to welcoming you once again and offer you the quality and service that distinguish us from others.

Best regards,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing