We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 week vacation here. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. When I requested a room with a view Fernando was very helpful in giving us a room on the 5th floor with a wonderful view of the arches. It was noisy at night while the evening shows were on but they finished early enough so as not to be a problem for sleeping unless you retire early. I appreciated the complementary activities especially the Spanish lessons I attended with Iris and Ramon.
The transportation to the airport was around $20 each which consisted of a taxi for 6 people. You can get the same taxi yourself for $80 and share it with 2 couples if you want to save money.
There is a small decapitated bus that provides regular transportation into town or you can walk there in about 20 mins. It runs regularly even at night but I'm not sure how late. We felt safe going into town and went into town most nights. We did attend the timeshare presentation and it was not high pressure. The orientation to the hotel for first time visitors could have been better but we eventually found out what was going on. There is a bulletin board near the main entrance that was helpful. If you ask you can get the code for wifi in the lounge provided for members (not the lobby or room). We declined the all inclusive and enjoyed the many restaurants in town
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Pamar we thank you for the time you took to write your experience at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you soon on your future vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,645
    1,409
    505
    284
    164
See reviews for
1,303
1,469
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well let me say this first the staff was very nice. Food was good as far as the rooms go NOT CLEAN. I stayed for 6 days 5 nights and on the fifth day I started to itch and their was bumps all over my arms stomach and some on my legs. My husband and lifted up the bed and the bottom of the mattress their was poop stains everywhere. We talked to the manager and seen the doctor their and she confirmed that it was bug bites. The manger put us in a up grad room but told us that they did not find any bugs. I told him if u don't burn those beds you will loose a lot of customers and we are one of them. ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Room Tip: Do not go to Villa Del Palmar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We offer you our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Do believe actions will be taken in order to correct any service issue and offer you the level of service you deserve.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Large Family trip x 11 of us...
First Time To Los Cabos and i was a little concerned after we booked and then read about some of the complaints. At that point i reminded myself to not look at the individual posts but look at the overall and when 75% of them are in the good, very good & excellent category it usually tells the tale. Some people could sleep in a closet and post excellent and other would be upset that its humid in the Jungle or too hot on the beach.

Anyway, beach towels on loungers in the am is common everywhere, they have an hour rule so if there not around put them aside and use them, but there was plenty of spaces throughout the day.

Time share push is minimal, they present and ask you at checkin, be polite and say no & we'll think about it and they leave you alone, & you dont need to attend. At the end of our trip i was asking questions because there is an interest now as it was beautiful stay, there supposed to email me some info however we are probably more motivated to buy a Condo at some point.

Signing for your stuff was absolutely not an issue, no different than any restaurants except you don't have to give them credit card or cash....just sign.....big deal they have time share people and all inclusive so really i can't even consider it a minor inconvenience.

And they shut down early....big deal....if you feel they urge to keep going after 10:30-11:00 buy some beers or whatever sit on your balcony or pay $7 or $8 for 2 cab ride to Town and party it up....the sports bar stays open a little later but not much. We had a noise complaint every night for getting a little loud on our balcony ....tried to tone it down but never stopped....never stayed up or out too too late as the real beauty is in the day.

The resort was.....beautiful, clean, polite servers and staff....little slow to check in but out of our last 6 trips...it was pretty consistent other parts of the South.....short trip from the airport. Very little or non English Language barrier.

Food was very good and easy to figure out where to go....yes we have had better at home at our favorite steak joint etc...but whatever never starved and enjoyed eating there and elsewhere off resort.

Went golfing with 2 sons at Vill Palmar designed by Jack Nichalous.....most beautiful course i've ever played on especially the Ocean 9....I think After 2 pm it was around $100 bucks each including carts and clubs....The clubs were better than mine..Calloways...I think it was a $35 cab ride with tip [one way]....good day.

Pools were beautiful, the beach is awesome...we walked the beach to the Marina [The Marina is a must...breath taking] for a day of taking in the sights and sounds, shopping around stores and flea Market, couple refreshments at Cabo Wabo and so on....We were going to take a water taxi back to the resort but took a cab...we went back to the marina 2 more times but cabbed it as we wanted to maximize our time there....the kids went clubbing to town on 2 evenings and cabbed back safe and sound, little hungover the next day but all good....Beach vendors stay outside the roped areas and don't bother you......but buy some stuff its cheap...costume jewelry , wraps shirts hats, necklaces...its feeding someone

My wife and myself took a ME day and ditched the whole family for the day and went to town/Marina /shopping, had the best time, had dinner looking over the Marina....Forget the name of the Place, Steak, lobster, shrimp and fish, red wine and a couple beers.....Awesome ...hired a 4 piece band to play " And I love her" by the Beatles [Our wedding song] and I sang for her loud and proud on the Pier & brought her close to tears...pretty dam Romantic I'll say...and the boys finished it off in Spanish....Beautiful day, beautiful stay...

We did some barging...for all our beach activities
....6 kids did a Kyak trip to lovers beach and snorkelled and hung out
...they also bargained for some Seadoos ripped it up
....We did a group Whale watching Tour which was WOW....Of all the places we've been this is the 1st place where they garaunteed we would see Whales or Money back and we were not disappointed as we followed a family of 3 for about 1.5 hours and 1000 photos from close up
.... But pretty much everyday we would see the Whales from the beach being followed by the boats as we did and playing in the Bay
We all did Para sailing for our 1st time which we didnt think was going to happen because 2 days it was cancelled due to winds. It was pretty cool and the guys were great.

I would recommend this place and the area in general, we might end up back there at the end of this March and maybe do a little Condo shopping as we were impressed and felt safe.

Room Tip: The rooms were all nice, we had 3 Juniors at different locations and a 1 Bedroom for us. Our in laws...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheBigDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and make Villa Del Palmar your Home Away from Home.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Don't listen to the bad reviews on here. Villa Del Palmer is a great place to stay! Great location, close to downtown. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We will go back here. Very clean. Did not have a problem the whole trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelli m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you once again and provide you with the level of service you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just returned from their getaway promotion and we were more impressed
with the package than expected. We were in a Jr. Suite with partial ocean view,

Our room was decent by luck, thanks to Adrien. We were on back side, yet room 2709 jets out over the other rooms and we had a view in both directions. Villa del Palmar is Villas older hotel vs the new Villa del Arco, two doors down the beach,which was full of time share owners in peak season. Since we decided to buy a timeshare that fit our vacation desires we were able to use Villa del Arco's pool and grounds. Their pools are much warmer, better to swim laps in, and more hot tubs to use. Plus we enjoyed their ping pong table by the pool. However, we thought Villa del Palmar lush green grounds were nicer, less sterile, and lots of ground keepers and waiters to wait on you. .

Our all inclusive included food and drink, and we especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet which includes just about every tropical fruit,and more, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a juice bar. I am not a big breakfast eater, but this wet my appetite every morning. We knew some tips were
to be tacked onto your bill and discovered it was just $3.50 per day no matter what you ate or
drank. So please tip, especially those whom gave us such great service such as Liz on the
breakfast bar, Ester who waits on you at the pool and beach. They work so hard, and with a
great attitude and smile. We tipped them extra at the end to show them we appreciated it.

I did not enjoy their white fish specials as much as their salmon. I'm sure it is farm raised, but
in both restaurants we enjoyed that the most. My partner enjoyed the beef dishes especially the flank sandwich in the bar. We did not do dinner buffet, as we were too
stuffed to try it each night. Their fries are to die for, and so is the guacamole and chips.

If you are considering a time share, do your home work and don't get conned on the first
round. They keep coming up with better deals until they get you hooked. We believe we
got a great deal on what we wanted. And of course with that, we took advantage of a couple
of adventures. Don't miss the whale watch this time of year on a small boat. We did ours on
Cabo Expeditions and super happy, seeing all kinds of whales.


I

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators. The bar is on the lower level and you can hear the noise in the main tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming once again on your future visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just want to give a thumbs up to Iris for her ability to teach Spanish at your resort. Defineltly she's a keeper. I didn't have the others as my teachers so can't say anything about them other than they all seemed friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and more of a view. If you are placed in either wing, then choose the west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our daily activities. We hope to welcome you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went to beautiful Cabo in October for our Honeymoon. Our first night there we had to change rooms at 3am due to a broken airconditioner that was making a horrilble screaching sound. We had to repack our whole room and was switched to another room that smelled terrible. The next day we met with someone for a "presentation" little did we know what it really was we had NEVER left the U.S before. We were given drinks all day and got sucked into buying a time share. Once we got home we realized what a terrible mistake it was to have made a purchase like that after just getting married. We called the Villa Group to see about canceling, we were fine with losing what we had paid for the deposit. They said they were going to send us all the paperwork and never recieved it, no payment was taken out for the month of Decemer so we thought it was al done with. Well we were WRONG! They took out 2 payments in January and I called my credit card comapny to dispute the last one. I recieved a letter form The Villa Group in the mail post marked Febuary 14th when I opened the letter it was dated January 15th it stated that after numerous attempts the have not recieved any payments, and they wanted the remaing balance paid in full by Febuary 28h. I called that day and got nowhere i left a voicemail with the number provided on the letter called the 800 number for Villa Group they transfered me to a very rude woman named Josephina and she told me that she was sending a email right now and someone will get back to me. It was been a week and NO one has contacted me. I left another voicemail and still no response.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have reported. Please be sure we have addressed this matter with the appropriate manager.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#14 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#30 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 5,875 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
1.4 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#26 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing