We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will never stay here again”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel called us with a promotion..booked it..upon arrvial paid for upgrade for an oceanview room. Entered room to find it occupied. Second room we were given..had cracked counter top..mold in bathroom..loose shower head...cracked tiles in shower along with tiles filled in to make it look like the place was not falling apart. Service at the restaurants was EXTREMELY SLOW..and the place was not even busy. Not a big selection of food on the menus. The staff would just walk by like you were not present. I even got charged for a collect call at $73.00 USD!!

I did complain and get 50% of the upgrade fee back..but should have been reimbursed for all of it.

Will add photos soon.

Would never reccommend of stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank billtetler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we offer you our deepest apologies for not providing you with the level of service we are recognized for. We truly hope that in the future you would give us the opportunity to change this past experience.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,065
    1,673
    594
    316
    184
See reviews for
1,604
1,793
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was at villa del palmar in cabo San Lucas for 5 glorious days and I wish I could have stayed longer. We got to go at a cheaper rate in response to a time share presentation invite... And yes one does not have to buy it but my friend thought it was a good deal so he went for it. Anyway, if I had the funds, I would not want to leave.
Everything is quite expensive if not for the promo but it is great to have all kinds of activities available. I got to scuba, play with the dolphins, sky ride on this motorized glider which was just awesome! Kayaking, paddle boarding and of course the beach fun bad sun are free...

Room Tip: A higher room gives u a better view of the city. Stay away from elevators.. Although we had really n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind review. We hope top welcome you once again in a near future and provide you the quality and service you deserve.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on an all inclusive 4 night holiday.

Weather was much cooler than had hoped so not much to report on the pool scene.

This property is one of 3 sister properties and is the oldest.

Location is beach front on Medano Beach so with an ocean front room you can't beat the view.

There are 2 restaurants basically. One has entertainment nightly so if you are into low budget Club Med type entertainment along with a buffet style meal this might be for you.

The other restaurant is beach front. Food is decent.

Wood fired pizza oven there is best I've ever had though. However, most cannot live on pizza alone!

Hard to find drinks that aren't watered down so sticking to beer was a good option unless you could befriend a server or bartender that would help out (with a little extra tip incentive).

Service was spotty at best. They really need to improve in this department.

Rooms are basic but clean. We had a fantastic view. Room 6260, with a kitchen and balcony.

One lovely feature is a free trolley to the sister properties. The newest of which has a Desert Spa. They run specials everyday and it was the most beautiful spa I have ever been to.

Treatments were amazing, service was gracious and the amenities were over the top.

This was the highlight of our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwriterwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We thank you for sharing your thoughts as they assist us in our effort to improve the service offer to our valuable guests. We hope to host you on your next visit to beautiful Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We and another couple spent the week of Jan 12th at Villa Del Palmar in Los Cabo, and had an excellent time. Cannot say anything bad of the resort. From the time we arrived, the concierge took care of us and did so all week. Any questions we had were looked after immediately. The wait staff in the resturaunts and the housekeeping group were great. The pool bartenders and wait staff around the pools were cordial, lots of laughs and took care of us the whole week. We had the all inclusive for the week and enjoyed the theme nights and buffets. Food was excellent at either the buffet or the Bella California. Weather was great and met a number of great people at the pool from all across North America. You can participate in the pool activities or just soak up the sun in the lounge chairs at the beach or on the deck. We did both. We had a great ocean view on the first floor and it's just a nice thing to wake up and relax with coffee on the patio listening to the sea lions and catching a glimpse of the whales early at sunrise. Catch the water taxi at Baja water activities. Great way to see the arch, stop at lovers beach and see the sea lions up close. Also took the water taxi in to the marina (10 minutes) for shopping and back to the resort - very reasonable - can't get a land taxi as reasonably priced - definitely not anywhere in Canada.

Had a great time. Cannot say enough of the staff and accommodations. They really treated us well and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toering_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We truly appreciated the time you took to share your experience with other. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next vacations.

Kind regards,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Overall the hotel was awesome! I would recommend to stay here.

SERVICE was wonderful! Our best service was from Mario at the El Patron (located at the sister hotel Arco). With that said the service was great.

The ROOM was excellent! The view was amazing!! We were even able to see the whales from our balcony. It was also very nice to have a one bedroom suite; specially with the little one. The hotel also supplied a crib for our little one. The crib was a mini crib (identical to the one at the Hilton in Calgary).

My only COMPLAINT would be that the buffet doesn't open until 6:30pm and sometimes 7pm which is a little late for our little one to eat supper. The food was really good though.

The BEACH was awesome. The sand was great. The water was rough for us to swim in. The venders weren't too bad. They respected if you said no. The idea of water taxis was also pretty cool.

LOCATION was awesome! Close to town. Great view of "lovers beach".

TIMESHARE was only mentioned once and didn't offer again once we said no. Keep in mind we stayed all inclusive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

From arrival to departure, the service we received was amazing! Ricardo (Bartender) was beyond exceptional - Jose Villegos (Executive Head Chef) and Roberto (Assistant Head Chef) made sure everything was perfect! Isabel (Waitress) was awesome and always available and polite. The entertainment staff presented a variety of shows which were very good. During the 60's-70's-80's Rock & Roll Show they did The Village People dressed very much like the originals and the indian actually got off of the stage (as did the other dancers) to shake and shimmy in a friendly way very close to my wife's face (but not in a crude sort of way). Man, was she either totally embarassed or in awe of the show at that point (until I won the M Jackson Dance Contest to her surprise!). I had sent an email and requested some sugar-free desserts to be available for my diabetic wife and Jose was more than accommodating. They were delicious by any standards. Professionalism ruled operations everywhere and, yes, we will be returning (Hope Jose and Roberto are prepared for round 2 of the New Jersey invasion!). Will bring friends and fully expect they will love the place as much as we do! I have seen some reviews that were mediocre and they are certainly entitled to their opinions BUT I always try to remember that FUN is what you make of the moment. If the tools (the resort) are right, you need to use them to your complete advantage and then you will have those special moments you go away to experience! Thank you to all the waitstaff for your wonderful attention and most elegant treatment of us during our stay. You really did make Lisa and I feel very welcomed and Lisa said she felt like she was being treated like a royal princess! See you again in October 2013 !

Room Tip: You really want an ocean view room if it is available, the view is nothing short of SPECTACULAR!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disasterman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Resort was exceptionally clean. Beds were superb. That's where it ends. Food was limited, bland, mediocre at best. Wifi was expensive and you have to sign for every last thing you ate or drank. Entertainment was cruise ship

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJOilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, they are taken by heart. We hope to welcome you on your next visit to Cabo and have the opportunity to change this past experience.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing