We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues with this property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Issues with this property”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This property is on the outside of the town and it is a $7.00 ride each way to town which we knew when we chose this property. The day we checked in we were given room 2319. This room had a bad odor that smelled of mildew/mold. The room was so damp that our clean clothes were wet by the next morning. We went right down to the front desk the next morning and expressed our issues with the room. We told them we also wanted to be away from the noise. We were first offered a different room but was told it only had one bed. We said we needed two. We then were offered another room which was 2601. We looked at it first. The room would need to be cleaned and we said ok. This room was on a corner and was quiet and had a extra window so you could see the ocean from your bed. From the patio you also had a partial ocean view. I feel this hotel knows it has issues with some of these rooms as they do not fight you trying to change rooms and we witnessed several guests requesting to switch thier room. What is sad is when the second room was not ready yet they tried to offer us a room with a view of the pool and full ocean view. The location was great and the view to die for but the room smelled!!
As much as we would like to have taken it and for no additional cost we could not take the smell.
As for the time share people they barely let you check in and are there at the pool,and when you get a taxi, it is way too much pressure.Overall the grounds are clean and the employees are friendly.Pool service was good............a little slower for beach service. If I had been stuck in my orginal room for the whole week my vacation would have been ruined. Would like to acknowledge Oscar at the front desk.............he worked well under pressure and assisted us in changing our room. He also remembered us daily. On a side note this was a week a friend traded into through Interval International and if this is the type of room that they would give to a owner it is totally shameful especially with the high level of pressure to buy here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Germancoca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We offer you our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Be sure actions will be taken to prevent and avoid these unfortunate shortcomings.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again on your next vacations.

Sincerely

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,115
    1,701
    611
    325
    186
See reviews for
1,655
1,827
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just got back from a week at VDP and it was great. Catherine o'neill was the most helpful with recommendations for activities and great places to see/visit. The resort upgrades r all done and everything is beautiful. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sararm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are pleased to know that you had a grate time at Vila Del Palmar. We look forward to welcoming you soon, on your next vacations.

Kind regards,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This review is for the Spa at Del Arco in the Palmar complex.

A Mexican Shangri La. Step through the doors and leave the world behind. I tried to find my blood pressure when I left....it seemed to be missing-- I was so relaxed...and I'm a type A guy.

Wife and adult daughter love the available extras - facials etc..

There is no hurry whatsoever except you are expected to keep your appointment time. But come early and enjoy the steam, sauna, weights, three different soaking pools (cool, warm, cook.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

we traveled to cabo san lucas in march of 2011.the hotel is one of the only ones where all inclusive is not manditory on madano beach. where the beach strip is long, loaded with hotels and the calm swimable waters makes madano the perect choice when looking to stay in cabo.this older hotel is not too fancy,located near the end of beach properties and a half an hour beach walk to the marina,or 10 minute drive by car.taxi fare to town is 15 to 20 us dollars.if you choose to rent a car it is a good half to 45 minute drive form the airport to medano beach strip.i recoment trying cactus car rental/economy it is a 5 minute drive just across form the airport were you will be picked up and returned by you reservation car rental.we paid around $200us with full insurance included ask for the tripadvisor special rate with mr.antanio miranda [044]624-1461839.walk in and drive out simple quick and hassle free.the drive to cabo san lucas is safe as well is all of the resort locations in this part of mexico no need to worry!!.the weather was hot and sunny for all 7 days it never rains there making it a totally sunny vacation.you can use us dollars everywhere a good convertion choice.we shopped for groceries at wallmart it is your best choice as the room has a full kitchen and supplies.go to the marina for great resturants and shopping at its flea market.you must also drive to san jose a nice town to eat and shop all mostly on 1 main street, yes it is safe.down town cabo can be pricey or just drive around the off streets for cheaper eats.you must party at cabo wabo bar its live music during the afternoon and inside at night with daily eats.downtown is lively every single night!one last tip stay away from the airport locals as the will offer you free adventures with a timeshare appointment which will take up a very good part of you day.you are going to get this as soon as you arrive at your hotel anyway so if you want free stuff...our hotel gave us 2 free diners in town,para sailing for 2 people and a snorkle tour buy boat. just bargin with them! and you can have a great holiday with some extra freebee's...it you got the time.

Room Tip: you must ask for a room facing the pool and or beach nothing less!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helsinki_experiment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We thank you for sharing your experience with others. We hope that in the future you give us the opportunity to host you once again on your next visit to beautiful Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, OR
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a nice resort, if you can avoid the time-share presentations you will not waste time there. It is a short walk to the beach restaurants and to town, or you can take the bus, taxi is around $7 to town. We enjoyed the pools and the sports bar and we had restful sleep the whole time there.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit Walmart or Costco so you don't have to eat out much, food quite expensive in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ronsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not the all inclusive "deal" we where pitched! Disappointed. Much room for improvement. On several occasions, including a Friday and Saturday night, the in tire outside patio area was closed down. Fire Pit shut off, bar closed, and people, who'd paid good money to stay at an all inclusive, including myself where told to go. Our evening was over. PS- This was at 10:30 & 10:45 on a weekend. The only reason we where given is the hotel is under new management.
Very, very poor choice if you rely on repeat business.

All in all, we did enjoy our stay. The staff where indeed friendly and helpful. The quality of food was good, good portion sizes.
We will happily revisit Cabo San Lucas, but will consider other options for lodgings.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clintfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenient you encountered during your stay. On the other hand we thank you for bringing this valuable information to our attention. We hope that in the future you would give us the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This vacation got off to a rough start but as we got the feel for it we were able to relax and enjoy. Watch the Time Share people in the airport...and in the hotel.... and on the beach... and in your closet. Just kidding about the closet.... As for the hotel the food was great as was the staff. The all inclusive is a great deal here. The resort has nightly entertainment but gets quiet after around 9 or 10 pm. You are a short cab ride to bars and night clubs that are opened till 4am for all you party people. I recommend Mandala for a night of dancing...

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the stage with a pool and oceanview. It was cool cause you could watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,748 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing