We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family w/ kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great for family w/ kids”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I would've absolutely hated this place BEFORE we had kids. Now that we're traveling w/ 5 and and 2 year old, we liked it so much that we actually bought a timeshare. This time around, we got this incredible deal through Groupon, around $200 per night for 4 people, ALL INCLUSIVE. It's a bit overwhelming if it's your first time, once you get used to the lay out, it's easy to get around. In fact, riding the trolley around the property was one of the high lights for my kids. We stayed for a whole week and ate pretty much every single meal on the resort. There're plenty of options to choose from. We even had fresh oysters one night at the restaurant at Del Arco. My kids never got tired of fresh pizza (which they had for lunch everyday.) Drinks are sometimes hit and miss, but the beer is always cold and pina coladas are always marvelous.
We ventured out to the town one day. You can get much better deal on local trips if you just deal w/ those guys in town in person. You just have to stay your ground and be ready to walk away if you don't get the deal you want. There's always the next guy. Our group (I think 12 including the kids) got a boat tour to all the major beaches and spots and a ride back to our hotel for $50. We paid more than that getting into town on a van taxi. The guys went deep sea fishing for half the price of what you can get from the hotel. After they came back w/ a huge yellowtail and some other fish, we just tipped the chef at the hotel and he grilled it for us w/ all the fixings. I've never had fish that had no fish smell at all. It was amazing.
My least favorite place to eat is the buffet. Our favorite was California grill where they serve amazing Italian dishes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catseattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,030
    1,650
    580
    312
    181
See reviews for
1,571
1,769
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Johns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This resort is one of the best for activities for young and old. We have enjoyed our stay in this great resort for over seven years. It has a lot to offer and the location is convenient for the entire city of Cabo San Lucas. Many people walk to the attractions such as dining, marina, shopping and other activities. One of our favorites that we continue to visit each year.The staff here are number one when it comes to reservations and working out details for future visits.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views of the Sea of Cortez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This Resort is wonderful. If you read the reviews, you will see that the great majority are positive. My wife and I stay here every other summer. We own a "studio" and for two people, or even more (a couple of young children) it works out GREAT. The staff is excellent. Pool side service and food and drink is wonderful. The kids' pool is great. The Whale Slide is special. There is a separate pool for the adults, so your family can enjoy the best of both worlds, or if you are traveling only with adults, you can enjoy the resort without "kid interruption." Walk down the beach to go wave riding in the bay -- what an experience!! And, the restaurants along the beach path walking into town on the sand are all wonderful and reasonably priced. The Resort's own restaurants are fine, and reasonably priced. You can eMail me here within the TripAdvisor site (just create an account) if you want me to share more experiences. In Cabo, my wife and I have done a number of excursions, and we have rented an SUV for the day. All wonderful experiences. Never had any safety issues in Mexico, including Cabo. We have traveled to Puerto Vallarta and the Mayan Riviera. I have a couple of Mexican timeshares, and I would be glad to share with you my insights, and also special promotions offered by the Resorts if you want to travel to Cabo or Puerto Vallarta or Mazitlan or Acapulco or Maya Riviera (30 miles south of Cancun), cheap. Good traveling. Charley

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and if you don't have children, ask for the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Even by the low standard of timeshare sales agents, this is really bad. They flat out lied to us and sold us a "Gold Trial membership" for a studio, claiming that we could upgrade it to a 2-bedroom by paying the higher membership fee. When it was time to book a unit, guess what? You cannot get a 2-bedroom, and you cannot even upgrade your unit to a 2-bedroom by paying extra. So basically they just stole my money. This place is one step short of outright fraud, and you should never buy a timeshare here or any of their related properties

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank visittor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Spent a week at the Villa Del Palmar. Staff was friendly and the resort was very clean. We did the timeshare presentation to qualify for some nice discounts. They were not overly aggressive. Highly recommend this resort. Breakfast overlooking the water each morning was a real treat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are noisy in the afternoon with the games and in the evening with the entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were totally put off right from the start by the attack of the 'concierge' who was really working for a different company! The lack of honesty and then subsequent lack of delivery on promises of complimentary wifi in our room (although it's 2012 and we booked the not- so inclusive "all- inclusive"), the concierge would not return my calls and the staff at their desk actually initially denied they knew such a person! I gave up as I didn't want to spend my vacation angry and disappointed. The timeshare and up selling in Cabo is the worst I've experienced.

On the upside, the restaurant and bar service was excellent. We travel frequently and for the price of this last minute vacation, we both enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Special kudos to Juan, a very professional server who made our evenings around the firepit enjoyable. The beach service was good but they seem to be understaffed during the day - maybe they could redeploy the timeshare sharks to staff up the amount of servers :)

Last item of note - we tried to book our departure shuttle at 403pm the evening before our afternoon flight. Sorry, that part closes at 400pm, so please feel free to pay $65usd for a taxi. Crazy.

We had limited expectations on this vacation but the unfulfilled promises and feeling misled from the start were real downers.



  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travellingdween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I thought the resort was perfect for our Spring Break getaway. It's not exceptionally great at one particular thing, nor is it bad at any one thing. I thought the food was over priced, but what isn't at resorts?

Location- Ideal location, fairly close to nightlife and restaurants, yet far enough away where you wouldn't get any straglers or hear the noise.

Pool - was fun playing pool volleyball everyday and taking the slide down, even as an adult.

Beach- nice and not too rocky.

Cons- Having to stare at the cruiseships just about everyday. Not really a way around that though, that's Cabo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing