We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irvine,ca
1 review
“We loved it and will be back”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was our first trip south of the border and we had all the anxieties that go with travelling with a 3 year old and a 8 year old. My personal fear was booking and paying for all inclusive, but then being charged for "other things".
I am happy to say that this was one of the most pleasant vacations we have taken. The hotel is very legitimate and professional. It is a true 4 star (lacks the glitz of a 5 star but is very spacious and clean, just not shiny:) ).

Staff: Almost everyone speaks English.Very courteous and helpful. Each guest is assigned Concierge, who is your guide to everything and knows your plans etc. and guides you to whatever you want done. In our cae, the hotel was almost full, we did not like the room as it was on the ground floor. The concierge (Alexa) got it taken care of. I took a stack of $1 bills and tipped everyone $1-2. Went a very long way.
Room: We had a 1 bedroom suite. It was very spacious. The staff would clean every day and would tailor the cleaning schedule around your schedule.
Food: truly awesome. The all inclusive worked out really really well. If you are not getting all inclusive, food can be pricey. Waiters would go out of their way to ask us if we needed anything. The kids loved the pizza from the brick oven onsite.
Hotel: The fact that there is a supermarket onsite was a big plus for us for things like Milk, toothpaste, cereal etc. Reasonably priced. I had heard some horror stories regarding the final bill with tips being added. We got our bill, and it was $0 since we had paid through Orbitz.
Transportation: The hotel has already negotiated $7 to the city with all cabs. No haggling required. Very very safe and comfortable.
Activities: All activities are done from the beach at the hotel. No need to go anywhere.
Connectivity: Wifi is pricey, $11.00 for 24 hours. Its quite slow but works for email, skype (no video) and basic browsing. Neither ATT nor tmobile phones worked.
Babysitting: in room. $15/ hour provided by hotel. Extra $15 if after 10pm. We used it and it was great. Gave us a chance to go experience the nightlife in cabo

Overall great experience. Will definitely repeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beens_oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,115
    1,702
    611
    325
    186
See reviews for
1,655
1,827
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Over the past 15 years since the del Palmar was built I have stayed there several times. the Staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are grat and have all the ammentities that is expected of a vacation rental. Although I never do the all inclusive there, the activities that are available and beach make it all worth while.

Room Tip: know you ownership
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggriffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the resort from July 16 to July 23rd in a one bedroom with a small kitchen. Our room was a great size with plenty of room for two adults and our two kids (5 and 7). Our room was clean with a great view of the pool and the beach. We had a balcony and stayed in building 3.

There were a lot of fun activities to do at the resort and close by. The pools were a lot of fun, a dolphin slide, pool volleyball daily, and trivia. If you prefer a little more quiet there is a pool (up top) that you can go to. There is also a swimmable beach just steps away from your room. If traveling with kids there is a great game room on site (it is not included in the package) but a fun place for kids to hang out in the evenings.

When we read the reviews, after booking and prior to going, we were a bit nervous.
However we experienced good and friendly service from everyone that we came in contact with. We also met a lot of great people who were vacationing with friends and family.

The one thing to be mindful of is the cost of purchasing the all inclusive plan for each person in your room. For adults it is about 80 dollars per day per adult and half of that for each kid. If you plan to hang out at the resort then this is the way to go, because you can eat and drink throughout the day. However, if you plan to go off the resort for meals then this could quickly add up. There is a market onsite but way too expensive. However, there is a walmart nearby for things you may want to purchase.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Mexican theme night and BBQ night were a hit. Entertainment staff was superb. White city bus for 80 pesos was a good option to get to town. Walmart trip day 1 to get staples - ESP water!!! If you're hanging at the resort - all inclusive was the way to go! View on upper floor was great but lower floor would have been nice when elevator was out.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view and request a non corner room - lanais are cement walls instead of railings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThejfamilySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carteret, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My parents sent us here for our honeymoon and we were very unhappy with our stay. My husband was so angered he stayed in our room most of the time. We were constantly hassled to look at timeshare no matter where we went and when we inquired about activities. It was very very frustrating. The service at this place was VERY slow. When we sat down to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner it took forever. Dinner was the worst...we would order our food and not see it for an hour. They know when you are there for all inclusive so the service is slowed down. If you decline looking at timeshares, then service is even worse. They make you feel like a valued guest when they are trying to get you to see a timeshare but once you make it clear you are not interested, you are not worth their time. Today I was driven away from one of the pools because they are having a wedding and when I went to their other pool it was packed and could not find a place to relax so I came back to my room. You must secure a place by the pool very early, if not, then you will not have anywhere to relax. Food was ok, room was nice, but I would not come back here again. Also the beach is not that great. very steep incline down to the water - not easy to walk along the beach due to the incline and you can not walk in the water because the surf is so rough you can fall or be taken out to see because it is so swift. Half our trip the red flag was up indicating you can not swim in the ocean because it is too rough. Mexicans lined up all over the beach trying to sell you stuff but you can negotiate everything. we got 2 jetskis for $55 total (for half hour) when they usually go for $50pp for half hour. Also glass bottom boat cost $15 but you can get on for $5 when you negotiate. Never accept price they tell you, EVERYTHING is negotiable.

Room Tip: worth it if you book a package deal with all inclusive and you don't mind being hassled to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynzerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The checkin and check out at this hotel was a little time consuming. Don't wait until the last minute if you're in a hurry to get to the airport because there will be a line unless you do the express checkout. The staff was friendly but was really hard on the upsell of everything including excursions and timeshares. The hotel is chopped up into different areas and different pool areas. We didn't use the pool because we were at the beach and would rather swim in the ocean. The rooms were spotless. The linens, bathrooms and kitchens were immaculate. The cleaning staff made the room appear as if we weren't even staying there. The floors are tile which is nice because of all of the sand. The views from our room were spectacular with a direct view of the Arch. The staff at the excursion desk was very friendly and if you pay with cash you get a discount on activities. The hotel food is decent but a little on the pricey side. We ate the hotel and didn't have anyone get sick so if you're worried about drinking the water or eating the food down there you should have no problems. The security at the hotel is great. They don't let any ousiders in. If you want to walk down the beach you can get to some of the other restaurants or marina (although that is a little far on the sand). The walk to town isn't too bad and we felt pretty safe even walking around at night. I would definitely stay here again the next time that I'm in Cabo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowergirl3785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was our 3rd time back to VDP, as a family trip it is wonderful! We even took another family with us, who now say they will be back with their kids to. So much for the kids to do to keep them busy. We chose the all inclusive again which I must say is the way to go, all you can eat and drink. However, the food at the theme night restaurant is "so-so", but the entertainment is great and the kids love it! We love the staff, everyone is so friendly. A few of them remembered us by name from last year's trip. This year we even took advantage of their babysitting service which worked out great.

The ocean was a little rough, definately be careful getting in and out of the water, the undertow is very strong! But all the activities at the beach are right at your fingertips.

We did stay in the main building, and yes the elevator was a problem. It shook and half the time only 1 worked so we would use the staff elevator. But we're easy, no big deal to us!

I definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamivig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing