We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable, but don't expect a ritzy palace...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos (a.k.a. Blanco) is a smaller (5 stories high) boutique hotel with an absolutely FABULOUS location - can't be beat! The hotel is older and although nice, comfortable, and very clean, not flashy or ritzy. For those looking for the beautiful people party scene, this probably isn't your hotel. I would say this is more of a fun, laid back family atmosphere than the pulsating music at the pool place, which was just fine with us. My husband and I were able to get away just the two of us and leave our kids home for some much needed R&R, and that's just what we got at PB Blanco. We have stayed at the other PB Cabo locations in past years - Rose, Sunset Beach, and Montecristo. Blanco is the oldest of all of the PB Cabo resorts, and even though not very updated in guest room style or decor, everywhere we went around the resort, including in our room, was impeccably clean, comfortable, and overall a warm and welcoming environment.

Because of our non-kids vacation, we decided to try the all-inclusive meal plan (taxes and gratuities included - nice), and we weren't disappointed at all. We ate at all of the restaurants/bars that are offered at Blanco and the right next door Rose resort (connected by a convenient walkway near the beach) , and we enjoyed each meal we had. Very good food, excellent service, and a wide variety of choices. (I read an earlier review of the meal plan that said the choices are ultra limited, but that's not really true... maybe they have included more options since that reviewer vacationed. But we were very happy with the menus at each location.) The food choices for the restaurants at Blanco and Rose (all also included in the meal plan) include fabulous breakfast/brunch buffets, traditional Mexican fare, a wide variety of appetizers, soups, salads, sandwiches, woodfire pizzas (YUMMY), grill type items like steak, seafood, chicken, burgers, brats, etc. Rose also has a small but nice outdoor Sushi restaurant near the water, and an upscale reservations-only Italian restaurant as well. There are theme nights (i.e. Mariachi, Beach Party, Tex-Mex, etc.) with music, entertainment, and great buffets, which are also included in the meal plan if you choose to partake. (However the theme nights aren't your only option, there are all of the other restaurants still available those nights too with regular ala-carte menus.) Not to mention all the drinks you can handle, and a good pool menu. Word to the wise - give your pool waiter a propina (tip) at the start of your pool drinks/food service, and you will be taken care of extra well the entire time you're sitting there.

People that say they are annoyed by the timeshare presentation offers when you check in... I don't get it. If you are fortunate enough to stay at a PB property - all of them being timeshares - of course you would be approached for the presentation. You can either kindly but firmly decline, or you can sit through the presentation, learn more about the gorgeous PB properties, get some freebies (generally restaurant/spa/activities credits), and buy it or don't buy it. But being annoyed for being approached upon check-in? Come on... just expect it and move on with your vacation.

As for activities during our week, we really wanted to not do much at all, and that's just what we did. We laid both at the pool (nice, small, quiet, refreshing) and at the beach (also nice) - if you have a major preference of pool/beach chair locations, lay a towel down (beach towels provided at the resort) in the morning to save your chair(s) and you should be fine. My husband and I laid our towels out before breakfast, went and ate, and then returned to our primo location... it worked well for us. I also tried the water aerobics class at both Blanco (activities gal Nancy is AWESOME - very nice and fun, loved her) and at Rose (also very fun), and my husband and I got adventurous one day and rented a double kayak on the beach one day for a few hours and took it to Lover's Beach (about a 20-min or so paddle there, about 45 back to Medano Beach) and El Arco. Really, really fun if you're willing to get a little exercise in the sun while exploring on the water. My husband played beach volleyball and had a blast, and I got a massage at the gorgeous Rose Spa (the head and foot massage = absolute heaven). We did everything we wanted to do, which truthfully wasn't that much, and we enjoyed every minute of it.

Overall, I would for sure recommend Pueblo Bonito Blanco to families and couples looking for comfortable and laid back paradise. No, the resort isn't super upscale or flashy, but like I said above, very clean, great service, good food, and the location can't be beat... good value overall. I normally don't write reviews, but I appreciated reading the other reviews before our trip, so I wanted to help others out in that way too.

One more thing, please don't be rude and impatient to the wait staff... they are kind, work hard, and are doing their best to make your vacation top notch. If you're not prepared to encounter a little culture and possibly some minor language barriers (which happens at most resorts in Mexico, regardless of town or resort star ratings), then maybe just stay home. Rude people really bother me, and being crabby towards others on vacation just ruins the mood for all involved.

HAVE FUN! We love Pueblo Bonito... a very excellent family of resorts, and always our first choice when we travel to Cabo! Thank you, PB Blanco, we had a fantastic time in Cabo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor (highest floor) w/ a view of the town. The junior & deluxe suit...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mommyinmn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,022)
There are newer reviews for Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,589 - 2,595 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

It was our first trip to Cabo and we weren't sure what to expect. The reviews were mixed and they truthfully all lived up (the good and the bad). We entered the hotel to be pounced on by timeshare salespeople (welcome to Mexico) but it didn't bother us too much. We proceeded to check in and had some issues getting a room that had already been promised after the request was made for a King size bed. They put us in a room with 2 full beds that the staff agreed to push together to makeshift a King size bed. The room was very sub-par. The furnishings looked like an episode of Golden Girls and the "couch" in the room was more like an outdoor mattress pad that you put on lounge chairs. It certainly wasn't a room that made you feel swept away (unless you feel that way by entering Rose, Sophia, Blanche and Dorothy's house).


The location is absolutely fabulous. It's right on Medano Beach (which happens to be the only swimmable beach in Cabo). They have a nicely manicured pool with beautiful landscaping and yes, live flamingos! The downside was that since this was a hotel that was huge for timeshare, there were a TON of kids at the pool. My husband and I are "adults only" type of people but figured it wouldn't be too bad. We really didn't use the pool because there were so many kids, but it was fine because we're moreso "beach people" anyway. The beach was very clean and the waiters were fabulous. BEWARE: This property is right next to ME by Melia and if your'e looking for collar popping/fist pumping/dj spinning on every day of your vacation starting at 1pm - you'll be right by it. We were fine because we really just ventured to different bars, restaurants, etc. along Medano Beach.

There is a little corner store right outside of the hotel that was good enough to buy beer to take to the beach and keep in the room (big plus). Overall our stay was great for the location but not exactly the look and feel we've come to expect after traveling around the world. We've stayed in so many different hotels and I expect updates to not really be made in a lot of European hotels, but since Mexico is catering so highly to the US, I'd think with all of that timeshare money they were collecting that they could re-invest into the property itself.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RediByChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We felt very safe at the hotel, great security, and frankly never felt threatened anywhere we went in Cabo. Nice hotel - not super nice. Bathroom was MINISCULE. The sleeper sofa was a freak show........kind of like LEGO meets Serta.......it took us a bit to figure out, and if my son didn't have such adaptable sleeping habits (he's 14, so his back doesn't go out for a week if he sleeps on uneven surfaces) it would have been useless.
The food was really good........did NOT do the "meal deal".......glad we didn't as we at in town a fair amount. Service outdoors was good and almost all servers were friendly and helpful.
My biggest complaint was being hassled for ACTIVITIES by the so called concierge........she was actually a commissioned sales person.........and boy did she try to jump all over us. We also got smothered in the airport (no fault to the hotel!) with ACTIVITIES pushers. My advice.......... make your ACTIVITIES deals with people on the beach..........better deals and less hassle.....buy what you want when you want.

Room Tip: Just go for the deluxe family suite......it's worth a little bit extra room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doctormatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I am highly recommending this hotel. Excellent value for the price. It is not as big as other hotels on Medano beach, much less noisy (compared for example to the neighboring ME where they play extremely loud music at the pool area all day long), with great beach access and very friendly personnel. Food is excellent (I highly recommend pool restaurant Cilantros for lunch and dinner), rooms are big, clean, and all with the beautiful ocean view (unlike PB Rose). Location is excellent, only 5-10 minutes walk from the town. Pool is not that big, but who needs a pool with beautiful and swimmable Medano beach in front of the hotel. For those who prefer pool over the beach, it is possible to use one at PB Rose which is much bigger. Overall, PBB is a great place and if we ever go back to Cabo San Lucas we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaZ011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We booked this as a package deal with airfare, etc. , and were nervous because we'd never done anything like that. So we kept thinking that somewhere we'd be ripped off.
We were wrong. Pueblo Bonito Blanco was really nice. Just as we'd requested, we had a room facing the water and with a very nice view. The room was really a suite -- a bedroom plus kitchen area with a refrigerator, which was very handy for keeping water (and other beverages) cold.
The pool was nice, the beach was pleasant (except for the endless stream of vendors, but these are standard for Cabo) and service was good . . . basically, it was all good.
If you don't mind a walk (which we don't) you can easily walk into the center of Cabo for outings, restaurants, etc. But my favorite thing was to sit on our lovely deck and watch the sea. I wish I was still there!

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean, so you can't lose. But do specify just in case
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I agree with other review. This is our 3rd year as an owner at Blanco and something has changed. The attentiveness around the beach and pool is not near what it used to be. Many employees are gone. This is still a great place and we will be back but hoping for what we got in 2009 and 2010. You still have some great help and I hope you hang on to them but please train the new help to spoil the masses like you used to!!!! The maids and front desk were great! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Highly recommend. Very good value. Gave us a free room upgrade. One tip, at 8 am get your towels and stake out pool lounge chairs. Excellent wood fired pizza. Enjoyed the kitchenette.

Kevin from California

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
5.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos

Address: Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $281 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Cabo San Lucas at the tip of the Baja called Land’s End lies the Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos, a luxury beachfront hotel surrounded by the magnificent desert, abundant sea life, inspiring coastline and many activities that Los Cabos has to offer. This casual Los Cabos resort offers the perfect combination of excitement and solitude. Situated on the clean golden sands of El Médano beach close to a multitude of water sports, Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos offers pampering service and fine accommodations. Now offers a deluxe all-inclusive option which includes all resort restaurants and bars, as well as those at sister property Pueblo Bonito Rosé Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Blanco Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing