We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whalesharks were awesome!”
Review of Manta

Manta
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
3-Tank Cabo San Lucas and Corridor Dives for...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Manta Scuba is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort specialized in quality dive instruction and custom tours of the Cabo San Lucas Marine Park and the Corridor. Manta Scuba also offers seasonal tours to snorkel with Whalesharks, dive Gordo Banks and Cabo Pulmo. The dive shop owns 3 boats customized for dive and snorkel trips available for private charters.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a great dive shop. First of all I was visiting Cabo on a cruise with anther family who are not divers. We decided to arrange a trip to La Paz to swim with the Whalesharks. I spoke with Hagai via email several times and he was always extremely responsive. Being we had a tight window it was suggested we visit the day before ( we were there 2 days) and get our gear ready. The day we went the crew was ready for us upon arrival. It's a long drive but where else are you going to swim with these awesome sharks. Mark was our guide and was fantastic. We had 2 younger kids, two teenagers and 4 adults. All had a great time and this made our trip complete. Thanks so much Manta team! When we come back to Cabo we will be diving with you for sure.

Thank jlmmdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hola Jim,

Thank you for choosing Manta Scuba for your Whale Shark snorkeling tour.

As you were on the cruise ship it was important to us to make sure everything is clear regarding the tour and prepare as much as possible so you can have the smoothest tour which will give you more time to snorkel with the Whale Shark considering the limited time you had.

We are glad you all had great time, hopefully you will stay here longer on your next visit and we will be able to take you one more diving and snorkeling adventures.

Best regards from sunny Cabo,
Hagai and the Manta team
mantascuba@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dive shop"
in 72 reviews
"dive master"
in 116 reviews
"cabo pulmo"
in 47 reviews
"dive sites"
in 32 reviews
"pelican rock"
in 54 reviews
"gordo banks"
in 23 reviews
"sea lions"
in 62 reviews
"marine life"
in 30 reviews
"awesome dive"
in 12 reviews
"surface interval"
in 12 reviews
"rental gear"
in 12 reviews
"open water certified"
in 5 reviews
"night dive"
in 12 reviews
"north wall"
in 13 reviews
"la paz"
in 33 reviews
"mobula rays"
in 11 reviews
"diving experience"
in 14 reviews
Filter

331 - 335 of 495 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Once again, the crew at Manta has blown me away with their services! After diving with them in February of 2013, I knew I'd be a repeat customer the next time I came down to Cabo. Well the next time came (now!) and they certainly lived up to their reputation and my memories.

Hagai (the GM) is so friendly and happy, it's surreal! He immediately welcomed us to the shop, helped us get some new gear, and made us feel right at home. Ryan, our dive-master this time around, was fantastic! My boyfriend, Nick, needed to complete his final 4 open-water dives to finish his certification, and Ryan was his instructor. I tagged along for fun, and was in awe of how thorough, detailed, and professional he was. He also shared some epic dive stories with us, and insisted that we were good-luck charms as we enjoyed: 20+ minute play sessions with the sea lions, a school of rays, massive bait-balls, and sleek bull sharks!

My previous master, Alli, (he's Kiwi, NOT Aussie!), was able to join us on our trip to Cabo Pulmo today while on break from his rough lifestyle as a live-aboard master... He's so sweet, and always zipping around the sites pointing out all the hidden gems we novices would miss otherwise!

To make a very long story short (I could write all day about them!), Manta is THE ONLY shop I'll dive with and recommend in the Cabo area. If you're looking for only the highest quality gear, most knowledgeable crew, and all around fun diving, Manta is the shop for you.

Gracias por todo, amigos! Hasta luego!

Chelsea & Nick (the better boyfriend)

1  Thank Chelsea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hi Chelsea,

Thank you for your great review, it was great to have you diving with us again.

We are glad that you had such a great experience with us the first time you came, and that we could stand up and even exceed your expectations when you came back.

We are happy to know that once again you found all our staff to be friendly, inviting and professional as well as high quality equipment.

To top it all we are pleased to know you were able to see a lot of what the sea of cortez has to offer to our divers, such as rays, sea lions, sharks and many tropical fish.

We are looking forward to see you diving with our team again and exploring more sites with us.

Once again thank you for the wonderful review.

Best regards from sunny Cabo,
Hagai Tzur
General Manager,
mantascuba@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked to dive with Manta on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews , and were not disappointed.

We completed an Enriched Air dive course with them, as well as 5 days worth of dives.

All the staff we dealt with were excellent (and a special mention to both Kiki and Guy who were our dive masters for most of the days).

The equipment you rent is very good quality, and clearly well maintained, and the groups you dive with are about a 4:1 ratio divers/divemasters.

The local diving is good (but not excellent - although we did see a huge school of cow-nosed rays just off the arch on one dive).

However it is on the trips further afield that the diving comes into its own, and all well organized.

Gordo Banks is a deep dive (approx 100ft) but put on a fantastic Manta Ray show on both dives (and also the first sun fish Kiki had seen in 15 years diving here).

Cabo Pulmo, a protected marine reserve, we had 2 very good dives, out of the dozen or so marked dives in the reserve - and is a place i would happily return to.

The dive trip to La Paz to snorkel with the whalesharks, was excellent - made by the 90minute trip out to the sea lion colony. Diving with these playful creatures was a sheer delight, and is something I would use as the reason to return to Baja to dive again.

Not all trips to La Paz include the sea lions, but make sure yours does - you will not be disappointed!

Thank stoufferthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hola,

Thank you for your nice review. Thank you for choosing to dive with the Manta team, it is great to know you enjoyed the various tours we offer.

We are happy that you had excellent experience with our staff, as you mentioned we dive in small groups which allow us to give personal attention to each diver. We make sure all our guides are experience PADI professionals. We also invest a lot in keeping our gear up-to-date for comfortable and safe diving.

It is great you had the opportunity to explore with us different areas of the sea of Cortez and that you found our special seasonal expeditions to be an amazing experience.

We will be happy to have you joining us again for some more great dives and playing with sea lions,

Happy Diving,
Hagai Tzur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Did 4 dives with Manta. Great quality gear. Small groups, and really enthusiastic dive leaders.
We really enjoyed our time spent with them, and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend them to anyone.
Only tiny gripe..........a little expensive.

1  Thank Red2945dogfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your experience diving with Manta Scuba.

It is good to know you really enjoyed the time spend diving with our team
Though we are aware that we are not the cheapest option in Cabo, we have to keep our prices a bit higher in order to maintain the high standards of service we offer, including, as you mentioned, great quality gear and small groups among others. As well as having a professional and enthusiastic PADI dive guides.

Once again, thank you for choosing Manta and your nice review.

We look forward diving with you again.
Hagai Tzur,
General Manger
mantascuba@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I visited Cabo for the first time in early November. I am a new scuba diver and this was my first official scuba trip. We chose the Manta crew based on their reviews and they did not disappoint. Our first trip was with Tiago for two local dives. A couple of days later we went with Guy to Cabo Pulmo. The equipment at Manta worked perfectly for us. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They certainly backed up their excellent reviews and offered us a great scuba experience. Highly recommended.

Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hi Scott S,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very pleased to know you had great scuba diving experience with our team on your first trip as a certified diver.

We are glad you enjoyed the company of our friendly staff and that you found our equipment to be perfect. It is good to know you could meet your expectations in order for you to have excellent experience.

We wish you plenty more safe and fun diving adventures and hopefully we will see you here again.

Best regards from sunny Cabo.
The Manta team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Manta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing