We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good equipment”
Review of Manta Scuba

Manta Scuba
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Cabo San Lucas Marine Park Snorkeling Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manta Scuba is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort specializing in quality dive instruction and custom tours of the Cabo San Lucas Marine Park and the Corridor.Manta Scuba also offers seasonal tours to snorkel with Whalesharks, dive Gordo Banks and Cabo Pulmo.The dive shop owns 3 boats customized for dive and snorkel trips available for private charters.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Delta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good equipment”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Did 11 dives over five days. Staff very friendly. Good rental equipment. Knowledgable staff. Did local dives, Cabo Pulmo, Gordo Banks. Visibility varied from 30-80 feet depending on the day and area. Arrived just a week after some rain Cabo Pulmo best variety. Saw a glimpse of two hammerheads at Gordo Banks but not a lot else. Manta boats are good but Cabo Pulmo boats and launch a bit sketchy.

Recommended for diving in Cabo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReefNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta Scuba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience diving with Manta Scuba.
It is good to know you found our staff friendly and knowledgeable and that you noticed the quality of our rental gear and our boats.
Regarding the Cabo Pulmo boats and launching them, it is definitely not the conventional way (though interesting). The reason for that it is due to the marine reserve protection they don't want to build a dock, therefor the boats are smaller so they will be able to push them into the water and to take them out after the dives.
We did had a lot of rain lately (after few years we almost didn't had any), it was very good in many aspects but it did had a lot of effect on the diving conditions (mostly visibility), we hope to have the chance to have you diving with us again when the conditions are better.
If there was anything about your visit that you think we could have improved on, please take a moment to let us know we are always trying to better meet your expectations.
Best regards,
Hagai Tzur,
General Manager
Manta Scuba Diving
mantascuba@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    46
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Would Definately Do Again”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was looking for a dive. I didn't have a diving ticket. Manta provided dive instruction and took me on two dives near the point (Lover's Beach area) of Los Cabos. Great guys at Manta - polite, helpful and fun. Had a great time. Saw TONES of fish, eels, barracuda, manta rays, sea lions, ... Amazing. Felt very safe and well taken care of.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaidbackTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta Scuba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello Traveler,
Thank you for choosing Manta Scuba for your first underwater diving experience, we are happy you enjoyed the beautiful dives here at the Sea of Cortez.
As you had so much fun from your dive we would recommend continuing and do the PADI Open Water diver course which will allow you to have a life time full of diving adventures.
Cheers
Hagai Tzur,
General Manager
Manta Scuba Diving
mantascuba@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lupton, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I set a single-trip personal-best for the number of deep dives!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Since I'm trying to achieve the 20 deep-dive prerequisite that I must meet prior to taking the SSI trimix course, I asked the Manta team for at least 1 deep dive during my trip. The Manta team took my request VERY seriously because I made 4 deep dives in 5 days! In addition, I was able to rent a size XXL wetsuit and BCD, for my last day of diving, that were both clean and well-maintained. This gave my personal gear an extra day of drying time so that I didn't need to pack damp gear! I highly recommend Manta Scuba!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FortLuptonDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta Scuba, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hola
Thank you for diving with the Manta team and taking your time to write your comments.
We are happy we were able to meet and exceed your expectations, we always try our best to follow our divers requirements and we are grateful you told us what you expect from your dives so we can better plan.
We are glad you enjoyed using our gear, as you noticed we keep all our equipment to the highest standards in the diving industry.
Once again thank you for diving with us, good luck in you further training and diving adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Experienced, Professional, Amazing Shop!!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I chose Manta Scuba to complete our open water diver certification. They offer a two-day package to complete your four dives. Marc was our dedicated dive master for the two days and we couldn't have been happier. He was so knowledgeable and made us feel comfortable and safe diving with him. He also went out of his way to stay hours after our dive with us the first day to teach us the PADI dive table. We had taken the SDI training course which does not teach you a dive table and we really wanted to complete our certification with PADI. So he spent the extra time with us to go over the dive table and give us the new final exam through PADI. They are the best choice in Cabo!

I also had a great experience booking with Manta in advance. I sent multiple emails to the team with lots of questions and I always got a response back within the day.

Unfortunately, our trip happened just days after a tropical storm hit the area so visibility was not great but that didn't change the fact that we had a great time, felt safe, and completed our open water dives. Now we can't wait to go back for clear waters to see all the amazing sealife Cabo has to offer!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KrysT1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta Scuba, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello KrysT,
Thank you for choosing Manta Scuba to complete your Open water Referral course, we are happy that even with the conditions after the storm you still had fun diving with us.
All of our staff always try to go above and beyond, it is good to know that you noticed and appreciate Marc for doing that in order to meet PADI standards, I'm sure that you would have found the other instructors to do the same.
We are glad you found the email communication helpful and timely, we make all our efforts doing so, but… sometimes we need to get wet and go diving in the beautiful Sea of Cortez.
We hope to see you diving with us again without any storm influence.
Enjoy your future diving adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another successful dive and Padi Certification”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The wife and I dove with the Manta team for the second time the service is first class and the whole staff are professionals.
We took the underwater photography course with Guy and then did the diving with Charles we learned a lot about photography and got some decent shots in our two dives.
We brought our own BDC and regulators with us which presented a few equipment challenges however Charles and Sumo came to the rescue and we completed the 2nd dive without a hitch.
Tip: tag along with the Manta crew for lunch at the trailer behind the shop you won’t be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantaScuba, General Manager at Manta Scuba, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you Mark,
We highly appreciate your comments and that you choose our services for your diving continuing education.
Customer service is very important for us, it is good to know you enjoyed it.
We are aware that equipment malfunction is a part of diving so we always carry extra equipment and our crew is capable in doing equipment "first aid" repairs so you can keep on diving safely.
We do have some bad news: the trailer we used to go and eat got closed we are still searching for the perfect lunch place nearby, hopefully by your next visit we will find a place as good as the other one.
Happy diving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Scuba also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Manta Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing