We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced”
Review of Pueblo Bonito Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“over priced”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Room was average, Best Western at K.C. airport nicer and half the price. Admit it didn't have ocean view. Was Quiet for most part, had alot of gnats and musty smell. Floors were gritty(tile that left your feet black). First thing you find out is nothing is free, no paper towels or napkins in kitchenette. Wife piched up three day old USA today paper at deli and we were charged $5 for a $1 newspaper! I guess they think their guests are anxious to aid their economy. Prices high for alot of things, some worth it and others a rip off. One needs to check things out and negotiate for a better deal, not all will do so, but had luck outside of resort, resort prices set in stone. Didn't do all inclusive, did alot of tours, two for one prices in Sept.,had some great meals with their packages. Besides we aren't much for drinking. Ate first morning at Mare Nostrum, ok breakfast but $25 for pancakes and coffee! No sides either. The best deal was the $150 credit if you went over to the sunset beach resort. Enjoyed tour, no pressure and salesman(Scot, forgot name but alot of fun) Had best breakfast of trip. Came back and had evening meal at Fellini's Italian rest. Glad for $150 credit, a little expensive and wine way over priced, but impeccable service and food over the top. Also did the Sat. night party, resort had a 25th. ann. bash. Was hesitant about $110 per couple charge, but feel we got our money's worth. Buffet outstanding and show was too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suewdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,492
    1,018
    360
    150
    118
See reviews for
1,587
1,166
74
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The staff at Pueblo Bonita Rose helped to make our vacation really special. On checking in,we had an initial problem with our room booking, but Eliana quickly solved the issue. The concierge team simplified transport and gave good recommendations. The housekeeping staff were non-intrusive and efficient. The resort is right on the beach, within easy access of fun restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4guysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Cabo and we tried to research the areas and where to say but you really don't understand till you are there. Anyway, staying on the beach turned out to not be a big deal as it's a little tacky but that's not the fault of the hotel. It's about an 8-10 minute walk to town and though it seems a little dark, we walked a lot with no trouble. I will first say all the employees at the hotel were very nice, pleasant and helpful. The room was fine, they have that musty beach resort hotel smell. The rooms are billed as all having a view and the way it's built, I can sort of see that but your view might be only two inches of water. Our first room really barely had any view so we asked to be moved. Our next room has two double beds but less musty smell so we opted for that. The floors are tiled and look like they need a good mopping. The shower alternated hot and cold water, but not together. We did not do the meal plan as we wanted to eat at local places, but we ate at the breakfast buffet once. It was just o.k. and expensive and it was on an outside veranda and there were flies everywhere so that was a turn off. The pool looks nice in the pictures but it's only about 3.5 to 4 feet deep and very warm water, not at all refreshing. The two things that annoyed me most about this place: 1) The very pushy lady in the lobby that we had to get our towel cards from who pushed us relentlessly about a timeshare. And then the restaurant manager who also pushed us. I realize you can get free stuff by attending a timeshare presentation but we were not interested. We have limited vacation time and wanted to relax. In summary, it was fine but we probably would not stay there again as it was just average in every way. 2) Internet is $10 an hour or $16 for 24 hours. I think this is way too much.

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Pueblo Bonito Blanco which looks nice or the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikesCats3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have been to different all inclusive resorts in Mexico. Rose does not look new but the location is the best. I would like to thank the front desk manager Aldo and staff Iliana, they both made us a pleasant and unforgettable vacation. We can't wait to come back. Their service is much superior than the 5* resort (Pelican Hills in Newport Beach, CA) we stayed before we came to Cabos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctw886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stayed here twice (once for a week two years ago, and just recently for the first 4 days of our honeymoon) and have enjoyed it both times. For the price I think its a nice hotel with a good spot on the beach and within walking distance to town. The pool is big and decent. The staff are usually very friendly. The restaurants are ok. We usually just have snacks here, but walk into town to eat. The rooms have always been very nice and the cleaning staff always do a great job. We will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Let's begin with the front desk staff. I was told that the room we were assigned would have an ocean view. When we got to the room, it was pool view with the lovely view of a pink wall. I called down to the front desk where SHEILA told me that all the views were the same, and that all rooms were pool view--LIE #1. She then told me there was absolutely nothing that could be done until the following day because all rooms were full--LIE #2. She hadn't even had time to check availability and was quite clearly not to be troubled with my petty complaint. I insisted that this room was unacceptable and she asked me to come to the front desk. There, I was given the key to a neighboring room with an ocean view. This room's view was completely blocked by trees and once again, we were out of luck. Over it at this point, I accept the room. At the end of the day, how much time were we really going to spend there? Not much, and I was determined to not let it spoil our trip.

NEXT, let's address the barrage of sales pitches we heard from their staff. Seriously? I'm on vacation! No, I don't want a free sunset dinner at a sistering resort so that I can listen to your sales pitch and tour another facility. Not now, and not the 5th time I was pressured to do so. NO!

The beach was closed on the first day (not their fault) because of a tropical storm that was thought to possibly turn our way. However, when the beach WAS open, it was virtually impossible to enjoy with all the vendors approaching you to buy hats, dresses, plates, silver jewelry, t shirts, kites, bowls, etc, etc.... I could go on, and on, and on......

And finally, to top it all off, the mysterious MOVIE charge that came up when my husband and I were not even in the room, as was PROVEN by the charge at the pool bar which happened 2 minutes later. I suppose it was possible, but, we would have had to SPRINT from one side of the property to the other in order for it to happen. And let me just say, we are NOT runners. As I was checking out, I explained to ALDO ROBLEDO, that the charge was not ours, and that it should be removed. He all but called me a liar and refused to do so. REALLY? If I was going to lie about a charge, don't you think I would have tried to get out of the $200 charge at the pool? Or maybe the $80 at the gift shop? But a $15 movie? Ridiculous. He wouldn't budge. I asked to speak with the manager, and he informed me that he WAS the manager, and he of course refused to give me his superior's name. Unbelievable. So, Mr. ALDO ROBLEDO, I've contacted American Express and will handle it with them. It's a matter of principle, now.

So, aside from the front desk staff, the rest of the staff was super nice. Never any problems at the poolside bar. The rooms and property were very clean, albeit a bit tired. Food was average at best, but lots of great food to be had in town, so that didn't bother us. Location was great.

Would not recommend as the cons far outweigh the pros at this place. LOTS of other choices out there that I'm sure would be happy to have your money (and not have to make up fake charges to get it!!)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank natty_lyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My stay was so much fun! I loved the pool activities and all of the friends I made with fellow vacationers and hotel staff. Jose Luis was the best activity director! I loved how personable he was and his professionalism. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to go to Cabo. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,951 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,755 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Rose

Property: Pueblo Bonito Rose
Address: Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the many colors of Land's End and El Arco. Stroll to the vibrant downtown Cabo San Lucas, filled with restaurants and clubs. Walk on the few swimmable beaches in Cabo or just relax shades of crimson poolside or from your private balcony. Discover a restful spa and resort where warm hospitality and beauty harmonize to create the greatest of pleasures. Now offering a deluxe all-inclusive option which includes all restaurants and bars, as well as those at sister resort Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Rose Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort
Pueblo Bonito Rose Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing