We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem with caveats”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2007

I went to Solmar Suites with a friend over the Easter 2007 weekend. We had reserved with Expedia for 3 nights and received a confirmation for a junior suite room with a king size bed. When we got there the front desk clerk smugly claimed we qualified for an "upgrade" to Playa Grande, a sister resort next door (hailed as "newer, more expensive, better"). When pressed for more reasons, we were told that there wasn't any room for three nights at Solmar in the Junior Suite room section. However, if we agreed to go to Playa Grande, we would easily get a 3-night room without any complications. We decided to at least check it out. When shuttled over there, it was a big resort with multi-story buildings (quasi-Las Vegas style), nowhere near the junior-suite feel, which are right on the sand. They were going to put us up on the 4th floor at Playa Grande. Rather than moving to Playa Grande, we agreed to switching the room the next day. When pressed again why we couldn't just stay in the room we had, we were told that the "owners" (read: timeshare owners) were claiming that room. They again tried to move us to a room (we refused to let them move our bags based on the initial breach of trust) different from the original room (not on the sand). After insisting that we get the same type of room, we finally got one a few rooms down from where we spent the first night. BTW, we didn't get the king size bed, just two queen-sized beds instead. An acceptable compromise, I think.

Other than this frustration (which in my opinion is a clear bait-and-switch considering we had a confirmed reservation), the hotel and junior suite rooms were very nice, very secluded. The main pool and swim-up bar are relaxing and the service very laudable. The downtown area is a quick walk (10 minutes or so) away. The beach is not swimmable (riptides) and the ocean water is typically cold (72 F on average).

Tammy, the timeshare specialist (mentioned in other reviews), of course tried to sell us on the whole timeshare idea. We told her to not pursue this any further and she left us alone.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JasonTwistix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2007

Recently stayed with my girlfriend.at the Solmar for four nites (Feb. 15-19).

Solmar is a great hotel with a SUPER location. The hotel grounds our well kept and very authentic. The pools are clean and maintained well. The hotel is older, so you have keep that in mind. This is not a 4-5 star property, but for the money....I'm not sure there are very many places in Cabo that beat it. (I have stayed at the Westin and Finesterra in the past). We stayed in the junior suite ocean front section for under $200 a nite! Closest section to the beach! The rooms are outdated, but it was still fine. The beds ARE hard.......but not miserable.

The food was some of the best I have had anywhere in Mexico (Ensenada, Cancun, Mazatlan, Puerto Vallarta) at ANY price, and I have stayed at several 4-5 start resorts in th past. The Mexican Fiesta (Saturday nights) has a terrific buffett - not your typical bland buffett food. Well worth if for the money......plus it's all you can DRINK!!

The beach in front of the hotel is great........very scenic.......great for taking a nice walk...can't swim but the water was too cold anyway. Happy hour (2 for 1 drinks) starts at 3pm everyday...and they ring the bell to remind you.!!! We had a blast hangin' at the pool for happy hour... a must... at least for one day.

It'a bit of a walk to town...but not unreasonable. A very cheap cab ride as an alternative.

Overall review: Very scenic spot.....very "functional" hotel, great food, great pools, service was fine. We believe it would be hard to beat the overall "value" and "experience" of this property...anywhere in Cabo!!!

We would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SunloverSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

this place is wonderful for a quiet, clean, secluded get away! located closest to the bluffs (mountain) this resort is perfect! it is a little dated, but the pools, staff & cleanliness are not! they have a swim up bar at the pools, the staff is prompt and attentive, and it is very clean. it is secure, we always felt safe and it is easily walkable to town. the shuttle will take you to Playa Grande (a sister property), so you can enjoy all the more modern ammenities there. The gym at Sol Mar is very poor, so, we would take the shuttle and use the gym at Playa Grande. The food at Sol Mar is better than the food at Playa Grande. We used the spa at Playa Grande, it's wonderful. Also, if we felt like playing pool volleyball or doing other activities, we went to Playa Grande, but when we felt like reading and not listening to loudness we stayed at Sol Mar. The beach is not swimmable b/c of the waves, but you can walk on the clean sands. It's gorgeous. The time share people bothered us, by calling our room & by asking us to participate in a presentation the first day we were there, but after they realized they weren't getting anywhere with us, they stopped trying. You know, just ignore them and they'll go away. We would stay at Sol Mar again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank faithfulmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2007

Totally agree with those that said this is a great place to stay in Cabo. We were there in mid-March during Spring Break, and stayed in an oceanfront room (2nd floor in one of the white two-story buildings on the beach). The room IS on the smallish side (we measured it at around 385sf), but it was comfortable for two. Although there were two double beds in our room, it would be cramped for 4 adults.

THE GOOD:

Location is fabuous!
Easy walk to marina and downtown.
No beach vendors.
Gorgeous walk along the shore (and climb over big rocks) to Lovers/Divorce Beach.
Enjoy the sun rise and set from your verandah.
The ocean is stunning -- NO SWIMMING THERE, THOUGH!
Waves crashing on the beach is your nightly lullaby.
Everyday, from our room, we watched humpback whales!
At night, it's beautifully lit against the cliffs - pretty, not gawdy.

Resort is totally spotless!
Might be an older resort, but it is VERY well maintained.
Housekeeping mops the sidewalks with soap and water!?!
Everything was cleaned daily - and I mean clean. (We're pretty picky.)

Facilities
Two very nice oceanfront /view pools with bar service.
Plenty of places to lounge by the pools.
If you want bigger and more "opulent" - Playa Grande is a sister resort down the beach. You can use all the pools and spa there. There's a shuttle, but it's an easy beachwalk.
Restaurants/bars in both resorts were good.
More adult oriented than party central - all the guests we met were professionals looking for a quiet retreat.

THE NOT SO GOOD, IF YOU WANT US TO GET PICKY

The room
Spartan comes to mind. Functional rather than fancy.
The "verandah" was small. Only big enough for two small plastic chairs and a little table. But, the view WAS spectacular!!!
Would've been nice to have a sink in the "kitchen" area.
Bathroom could use more counter space and a second sink.

The resort
Only one computer with internet access, and it was down all week. (So, we went over to Playa Grande and paid $1US per 10 minutes.)
My husband hated the little gnats that came around when he sat on the verandah - they didn't bite, they were just irritating.

All in all - we'd rate it above a 4, but not a 5* resort. It lacks some of the amenities most people have come to expect in a bigger, newer resort. It has a quirky, lovely charm all its own and we had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank PamMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

We've been going to Solmar for three years now and it suits us to a tea. It's an older resort, without the size and glitz of newer places, but that just what we like about it. The people are friendly, service is good, an easy walk into town. Food is good and prices are reasonable.

Stayed: February 2007
8  Thank BobKSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

was booked at club solaris in san jose.didn't like the 1800 price for all inclusive.place looked beautiful -complained to travel a gent to being misled about price and were moved to solmar.solmar not as fancy looking as solaris,but what a location! right on the main whale watching beach.walk down hill to marina and all the nightlife you could stand.the whole place was clean clea clean! had the best chips and guacamole ever poolside-service from the maids to the bartenders excellent.attended grill night at restaurant,the newyork strip was fantastic-unexpected in mexico. breakfast was huge .it was not pricey for what it was-but just more than we are used to eating-would recommend splitting and getting extra fresh squeezed juice!

Stayed: February 2007
11  Thank midwestpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We visited the Solmar Hotel at the tip of the Baja for the fourth time the week of January 13-20, 2007. What a special place this is. We found the grounds, rooms, dining room and bar to be in in excellent shape for what was, in spite of the January weather, a thoroughly delightful experience. The Solmar provides a unique experience, thoroughly enhanced by an attentive, caring staff.

The Solmar is the last stop on the Baja Peninsula. Exiting the lobby after registering, it is difficult to imagine that you are within walking distance of the city of Cabo San Lucas. The panorama in front of you of the palm trees, pool, mountains and ocean simply cause you to stop and try to take it all in. The view from the dining room, bar or pool of the expansive Pacific is a testament to the true wonders of nature.

Rooms at the Solmar are a bit dated but we find that to be part of the charm of the place. While the hotel opened in the early 1970's, the rooms are well maintained and include comfortable, firm mattresses, color TV, a well equipped bathroom with vanity mirror, coffee maker, and spacious, tiled shower area with ample hot water. We found we could drink the tap water without the usual consequences common in Mexico. Each room includes a small balcony where you can watch the sunsets.

Few people want to take all of their meals at their hotel but one could do worse by not doing so at the Solmar. We rank their breakfasts and lunches among the best we have had anywhere in the world. The restaurant and bar staff are a caring group; we compliment Jose Arnold, Armando and Francisco, among other, for their exceptional attention to detail and willingness to help us.

We really like the Solmar and will return again. Sitting at poolside, watching the whales while enjoying food, drink and good company is a great vacation experience. The rooms are very clean, the grounds meticulously cared for, the food and service is exceptional. There are no vendors on the beach which is especially appreciated.

The hotel's location is about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of town; we found the walk refreshing after a day around the pool.
You can get to the harbor in about 5 minutes; the walk around it to the Paradiso shopping mall is fascinating since you observe more boats than you can count while watching the fishing charters return to harbor.

You can do as much---or as little----as you want during your Solmar stay. This hotel will remain a favorite of ours for years to come as long as nobody makes any attempt to change it. The place has a unique charm all its own.

Tom & Jan Bredeson
Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Stayed: January 2007
21  Thank TBrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Medano Hotel and Suites
Medano Hotel and Suites
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,888 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $108 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing