We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in cabo, perfect and beautiful!”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in cabo, perfect and beautiful!”
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I've visted a couple of different places in Cabo, but I can still say that I love Solmar the best. The people are so nice, warm, and are always at your beck and call. You can tell they want you to have a great experience They keep the place clean, beautiful, and meticulous; from the beautiful foliage to the pools. The location is just amazing. It's perfect to me. From your balcony you can hear the waves crashing, and your sitting right by a quiet, sparkling beach all to yourself. You are a 5 minute walk to great restaurants, the harbour and markets. Solamar's simplicity doesn't take away from the beauty of Cabo, it complements it. I stay there every time I go and wouldn't ever have it any other way.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    526
    196
    98
    56
See reviews for
338
825
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Although I have been to Mexico many times and stayed at many resorts, Solmar Resort in Cabo is my favorite. This is a gracious, luxurious and exclusive resort where guests (timeshare owners) are treated especially well. After the long plane rides, the usual indignities of the airport and the hot shuttle ride, you are welcomed in the lobby with a sincere greeting and offered a cold towel. Instead of waiting in a long line to check in, you are invited to sit at the bar and enjoy a drink, and soak in the incomparable view of the ocean, while your bags are whisked away to your suite, and you are handed your room key.

The service is outstanding – friendly, attentive, and the staff remembers your name - year after year (I have been coming to this resort for the past 10 years). The pools are uncrowded, the sun warm, the pace leisurely. The grounds are meticulously groomed and there are flowering bougainvillea and hibiscus wherever you look. The sun baked, sandy beach is secluded and ends at huge rocky cliffs at the far left, the white-capped waves of the ocean extending on forever – it makes you feel like you were in a postcard.

Everyone here went out of their way to make our vacation special – our suite was a large, elegantly furnished one bedroom apartment with traditional Mexican white walls, touched with vibrant aqua and green friezes, folk art, comfortable furnishings, two bathrooms and a complete kitchen. The views of the ocean, both from our room and the pools were breathtaking. There is a lap pool with a marlin mosaic worked into the tiling on the bottom where we lazed away the days. We then enjoyed the sunset at the pool bar with a tasty drink. The food at the restaurant was excellent, the drinks “fully loaded”, and the hotel manager sent a lovely gift basket up to our room.

Whereas many beaches are over-run by the ever-present locals peddling cigars, fishing, jewelry,etc., the Solmar beach is very private and stretches on unbroken, so one can enjoy the sunset or the waves in peace. Although there was construction going on – it was unobtrusive and did not impact us in the slightest. We were concerned about the noise, but it simply was not an issue.

Although there is the “encouragement” to attend a timeshare presentation, there is no pressure. In fact, our timeshare host, Johnny, was entertaining and charming, and seemed to know everyone and everything in Cabo. He acted as our host at the cocktail party, and generally made sure everyone at the resort was having fun.

If you don’t want to be jostled into a crowded, noisy, cluttered, harried Mexican monstrosity, come to Solmar, where you will be treated like a VIP. I would definitely recommend it as a top resort destination to families, young couples, older couples and people seeking a relaxing get away. (In fact, I have already made plans to return in April!)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartshopper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I have had the pleasure of making 4 trips to Cabo San Lucus.
We have stayed at the Riu-which was great, for an all-inclusive. But we wanted to be closer to the Marina. So now we have stayed at the Marina Fiesta, Tesorro and Solmar Hotel. I prefer the Solmar becuase of the quitenss and comfort, but not the long uphill road to the marina. However if you have a vehicle and the roads are not under construction, you will have a pleasant experience. Not to mention the roaring of the ocean lulling you to sleep at night-is wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanjoEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

This used to be a favorite place for us to stay. This last time here was bitter-sweet because we finally learned that its aesthetic beauty in a setting of natural beauty is being destroyed so as to make it like the typical overbuilt "luxury" timeshare place down here. When you read the reviews on this site, remember they are reviewing what WAS not what IS and even more what WILL BE here. The staff we are fond of and help make this a sweet place ..we will miss as well. Sol Mar was originally favored by those who came down to go after game fish...and the two white wings of units were the first buildings. These long white wings had two tiers of small units, the upper having a little balcony and the lower opening onto a little patio onto the beach..perfect for "baching it"..private and acetic. Close to nature. Basic. One could hear and FEEL the surf and the sight was of sand and sea.The atmosphere at the resort was still intimate, relaxed, quiet and unique. with the breezeway thru lobby..and the back units added with carefully tended plants ..like aloe and cactus and flowering hibiscus..and sand.....and the lower pool was wonderful...and a place to meet new friends...who shared the quiet, the peace, the stark beauty. One could swim up to the bar under the giant palapa which also sheltered the larger bar with tables where one could also eat.. La Roca resturant was behind the pool and had a peaceful terrace which was a favorite for openair eating of delightful breakfasts with birds coming to visit , hoping for a few crumbs of bread. The staff were friendly and we got to know a number of them, greeting them every year... Sol Mar has been such a contrast with it the hugely out -of-scale monstrosity, the multicolored Las Vegas-style Playa Grande with its highrise U shape (in which sound echoes) down the beach! Parties there and fancy spas and marble there ! while ...quiet Sol Mar seemed more of a retreat, more traditional..and gentle on the landscape. It had soul and attracted those who appreciated that. That is what brought us here and why this was our last stay...ever.
Now one wing is torn down and the other will be gone by mid-2010 now its got construction in front of it. Construction is ongoing and there are huge digs in the sand now so that the bigger modern buildings can be anchored in bedrock.. Timeshare units that sold for $10,000 or less are to be replaced with ones which can sell for much more (same view) while owners are displaced.into Playa Grande and the business begins of reselling this place. The busines of the resort is really selling timeshare. Those who come to the resort are a stream of prospects to be sold timeshares...not just resort guests.! And the assumption is that Americans will buy places which have more glitz and modernity. The plan is to accomodate more people, raise prices, upscale it , and make more money. It is very sad to see such a lovely more old Baja place sacrificed. If you want to come here, do not expect it to be what is in the photos and what people reviewed as in the past...It is in transition this year. Be prepared to be given the hard sell on timeshares here and for Playa Grande. If you want to buy, wait til construction is ALL done and buy for half price or less on the resale market when the dust settles.Things are still in flux.....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhiteOwlOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We were the only ones on the beach (or so it seemed). The suite was a little dated, but clean and comfortable with a great view of the passing cruise ships, local fishing boats, charters and party cruises. Sea turles hatched from a nest 20 ft from our deck.
The walk to town was perfect, past the harbour and thru a little market. We went to the Hardrock Cafe and Sammy Hagar's Cabo Wabo for a bit of excitement.
It was a perfect blend of whatever you want - sightseeing, nightlife or seclusion.

Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GuiderSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Beach and landscapes were great but when you had to deal with someone at the hotel it was a nightmare! Resturant extremely slow, especially when you asked for bill and if you needed change. We had set up for a shuttle to take us to airport on our last day & one NEVER came and then the staff NEVER said sorry or did ANYTHING to help!! They just kept arguing with us and saying we were wrong. Needless to say we will be getting a refund for the taxi that I got myself! Incredible. The General Manager ANGEL.... what a JERK.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is THEE BEST trip I have ever had. This hotel isn't the sell-out resort with 2000 rooms and non-customer friendly staff. No! This hotel really cares about their patrons. Everything from opening the cab door to the bartender knowing what you drink is a testament to what this hotel is about. It is one of the oldest in Cabo but they stick to what's right and know how to do it. There's no nagging vendors trying to sell you cheap little toys and the beach is desolate so you have a very private experience. You are not that far from all the action either. You are walking distance from the marina and a short cab ride from the bar scene.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MasCabron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,707 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing