We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pictures of the lovely white low building....should be labeled: Torn down”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

This used to be a favorite place for us to stay. This last time here was bitter-sweet because we finally learned that its aesthetic beauty in a setting of natural beauty is being destroyed so as to make it like the typical overbuilt "luxury" timeshare place down here. When you read the reviews on this site, remember they are reviewing what WAS not what IS and even more what WILL BE here. The staff we are fond of and help make this a sweet place ..we will miss as well. Sol Mar was originally favored by those who came down to go after game fish...and the two white wings of units were the first buildings. These long white wings had two tiers of small units, the upper having a little balcony and the lower opening onto a little patio onto the beach..perfect for "baching it"..private and acetic. Close to nature. Basic. One could hear and FEEL the surf and the sight was of sand and sea.The atmosphere at the resort was still intimate, relaxed, quiet and unique. with the breezeway thru lobby..and the back units added with carefully tended plants ..like aloe and cactus and flowering hibiscus..and sand.....and the lower pool was wonderful...and a place to meet new friends...who shared the quiet, the peace, the stark beauty. One could swim up to the bar under the giant palapa which also sheltered the larger bar with tables where one could also eat.. La Roca resturant was behind the pool and had a peaceful terrace which was a favorite for openair eating of delightful breakfasts with birds coming to visit , hoping for a few crumbs of bread. The staff were friendly and we got to know a number of them, greeting them every year... Sol Mar has been such a contrast with it the hugely out -of-scale monstrosity, the multicolored Las Vegas-style Playa Grande with its highrise U shape (in which sound echoes) down the beach! Parties there and fancy spas and marble there ! while ...quiet Sol Mar seemed more of a retreat, more traditional..and gentle on the landscape. It had soul and attracted those who appreciated that. That is what brought us here and why this was our last stay...ever.
Now one wing is torn down and the other will be gone by mid-2010 now its got construction in front of it. Construction is ongoing and there are huge digs in the sand now so that the bigger modern buildings can be anchored in bedrock.. Timeshare units that sold for $10,000 or less are to be replaced with ones which can sell for much more (same view) while owners are displaced.into Playa Grande and the business begins of reselling this place. The busines of the resort is really selling timeshare. Those who come to the resort are a stream of prospects to be sold timeshares...not just resort guests.! And the assumption is that Americans will buy places which have more glitz and modernity. The plan is to accomodate more people, raise prices, upscale it , and make more money. It is very sad to see such a lovely more old Baja place sacrificed. If you want to come here, do not expect it to be what is in the photos and what people reviewed as in the past...It is in transition this year. Be prepared to be given the hard sell on timeshares here and for Playa Grande. If you want to buy, wait til construction is ALL done and buy for half price or less on the resale market when the dust settles.Things are still in flux.....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WhiteOwlOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2009

We were the only ones on the beach (or so it seemed). The suite was a little dated, but clean and comfortable with a great view of the passing cruise ships, local fishing boats, charters and party cruises. Sea turles hatched from a nest 20 ft from our deck.
The walk to town was perfect, past the harbour and thru a little market. We went to the Hardrock Cafe and Sammy Hagar's Cabo Wabo for a bit of excitement.
It was a perfect blend of whatever you want - sightseeing, nightlife or seclusion.

Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
Thank GuiderSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Beach and landscapes were great but when you had to deal with someone at the hotel it was a nightmare! Resturant extremely slow, especially when you asked for bill and if you needed change. We had set up for a shuttle to take us to airport on our last day & one NEVER came and then the staff NEVER said sorry or did ANYTHING to help!! They just kept arguing with us and saying we were wrong. Needless to say we will be getting a refund for the taxi that I got myself! Incredible. The General Manager ANGEL.... what a JERK.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliebgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is THEE BEST trip I have ever had. This hotel isn't the sell-out resort with 2000 rooms and non-customer friendly staff. No! This hotel really cares about their patrons. Everything from opening the cab door to the bartender knowing what you drink is a testament to what this hotel is about. It is one of the oldest in Cabo but they stick to what's right and know how to do it. There's no nagging vendors trying to sell you cheap little toys and the beach is desolate so you have a very private experience. You are not that far from all the action either. You are walking distance from the marina and a short cab ride from the bar scene.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MasCabron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I am an owner at Solmar and have been going there every year for the past 10 years. I have always had a wonderful time and look forward to going back each year. This year was a whole different story. They are in the process of tearing down the hotel rooms, the restaurant and eventually the lobby and pool area. There was construction noise from 6:00 in the morning until 6:00 in the evening. Jackhammers, saws, bulldozers. They are going to put in a huge resort that will take away most of the beach area that we love to walk on. The beauty of the beach and rock area will be destroyed. We always loved Solmar for the quite and smallness of the area. It is very sad to see what they are doing to the place.
Also this year the staff were very rude. All the noise must be getting to them. I use to rave about Solmar but I will never suggest that anyone stay there again.
I went to relax and instead got treated badly and was overwelmed by noise.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CruizerIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

A frend of mine has a timeshare at Solmar and I went in his place this year. I like funky places (as opposed to big chains) so I liked the feel of this place. The rooms were immaculate and people were always cleaning and taking care of the grounds.

While I was there, no restaurants were open - you could go to the bar and order from the menus, however. The service was slooooooow - even for Mexico. I stopped at Playa Grande on my way back from town one day to have breakfast and the food there was excellent - the service was a little more timely as well. If you need to pick up anything you've forgotten, I really recommend going over to Playa Grande to their gift shop. It has a much bigger and better selection than the one at Solmar.

I read reports that between the recession and the swine flu scare tourism was down 38% during the time I visited. On my last day there one of the cruise ships finally let people come into Cabo.

Maybe the slow tourism explains how cut-throat the time-share people were. You are pretty much required to attend a "presentation" for the resort that will go up to replace what is now Solmar (not slated for completion til 2011) and while my rep was great, the "closers" they send in after you say no are rude and unprofessional. The guy looked me up and down and said dismissively, "This is not for you." Idiot. He has no idea how many people I will tell about his attitude.

I attended another presentation at Villa del Palmar and they were polite and professional, even after I said no.

If you like quieter places, you will probably like Solmar. It kind of sucks not to be able to touch the water (dangerous undertow) but the crash of the waves is great to fall asleep to at night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DakotaninTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We loved our stay at Solmar. We had a room just on the beach with the best view you can imagine. The view of the sunset was amazing. Every night we took out our camera's, Solmar is such a relaxed place with a wonderful ambiance. The setting with the rocks is stunning. We liked the relaxed, laid back atmosphere and the intimacy of the hotel after the huge and crowded Pueblo Bonito resort. The room was well maintained and not as outdated as some people suggest, and with a setting right on the beach, you can't go wrong. The service and housekeeping were great. We can't say anything negative about the resort except the timeshare sales an the Playa Grande resort which was a laugh. An unexperienced salesman, a bad breakfast and some silly discount coupons as a present. During our stay we heard that Solmar will be turned down and rebuild into a more modern resort. We fear for the worse but keep our fingers crossed: let's hope it won't be another Playa Grande or another Pueblo Bonito. We were very lucky to have stayed in the old Solmar.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margariet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#38 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
2,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#17 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#19 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
4,027 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $102 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing