We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect honeymoon”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Shasta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Somar Resort for a week and it was picture perfect. We did not know what to expect but we are happy to report that this resort has met everyone of our expectations.

To begin, we were happily greeted by the hotels shuttle service at the airport. On the way to the resort, our driver was pointing out landmarks and attractions which we really appreciated because it was our first time in Cabo. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with open arms from staff as we checked in to our hotel. The front desk asked us the occasion of our trip and we told him we were on our honeymoon and he told us to hold on for one second. He came back with news that they were going to upgrade our room to a master suite! Beyond excited, we made our way to our room. We were welcomed into our room with a bottle of champagne on ice and a heart made out of rose pedals on our bed. Also, the view from our room was absolutely breathtaking.

We quickly set our things down and headed out to check out what the resort had to offer.

Our first stop, the snack bar. Now, when I think of the phrase, "Snack Bar", I think of grabbing a mediocre bite to eat. We were extremely impressed to find out that this snack bar was a full functioning mini restaurant. The cook, Jose, and the waiter, Raul, were fantastic! They catered to our needs and made sure our experience was great. We highly recommend the shrimp quesadillas.

After that, we decided to take an evening swim before dinner at the upper pool. We loved this pool because, it was secluded and quiet for adults.

Arriving late, we were wiped out from our travels and did not make dinner the first night. The next day, we kicked off our day with the swim up bar. The swim up bar is unique. You can order anything you want, not just drinks! The bartenders were phenomenal. We gravitated towards a particular bartender and his name was Javier. Javier went above and beyond what is expected of a bartender and he made our stay just that much more special. The bartenders will create any drink you could ever imagine. Our particular favorite was called a dirty monkey, we highly recommend it.

After several hours of swimming, we made reservations with the restaurant host for 9 o'clock ( there are a few different dinner times, 6:30, 7:30 and 9). Our waiter for dinner was Jose and he was great.

The next morning, we woke up eager to get our day started so we decided to go down for breakfast. Now, we aren't big breakfast people but let me tell you something, IT WAS THE BEST BREAKFAST WE HAVE EVER HAD! We ordered the eggs benedict and the french toast. Like I said, it was the best breakfast we have ever had.

My wife and I did have a few suggestions for the resort. One of which would be some type of light music. Bob Marley, Kenny Chesney, Jimmy Buffett, anything that implies relaxation or background music. The resort did not have much music. Now, we aren't saying we want loud, party music, just something relaxing by the pool.

The other suggestion is wifi. We bought wifi and it did not work in the room. It appeared that the wifi was coming from the sister hotel the Playa Grande. It was 13 bucks for 24 hours and we did not get to use it because it did not work.

Other than that, we enjoyed our time and we will be back to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. Thank you Solmar Resort for making our honeymoon special.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    525
    195
    98
    56
See reviews for
336
824
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is our second time staying at the Solmar. We just love it here! The service, food and drinks are great! We love the location! Walking distance to the Marina and Town, no need to taxi in or out. Staying on the Pacific side also seems about 5-10 degrees cooler than on the main hotel area. We will be back!

Room Tip: Both times we stayed in room 2384! The view is awesome from both balconies and the A/C works like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justjoan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at Solmar Resort for a week with my family while we were in Cabo. I was highly impressed by the service that was provided when we had breakfast/ lunch and dinner at Tejeban. Roberto, Jose Luis, Gerado and Emmanuel were always so friendly and welcoming to my family and I.
The view from this hotel is amazing! Especially when the sunsets near the beach. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _kayytn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband & I took a trip to Cabo with another couple & stayed at the Solmar All Inclusive Resort. It was the perfect location, perfect accommodations & wonderful service. The staff at the El Tejeban restaurant were outstanding, always wanting to please you & your dining experience. The food was fantastic and we really liked that it wasn't a buffet and you actually had the wait staff accommodate you. The resort itself is a very tranquil setting and very clean everywhere! We definitely recommend this resort for couples who are looking for a relaxing & quaint vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here, and absolutely loved it. It is located along the Pacific side, which was relaxing because you don't have to worry about the party scene. The customer service was excellent, and we enjoyed conversations with Roberto and his team at the restaurant. Plus, you get to eat with the beach right in front of you! We enjoyed the food, and found the Snack Bar convenient with quick service. It will definitely be our go-to all-inclusive resort in Cabo San Lucas!

Room Tip: The suite with two bathrooms, kitchen, living area, and two balcony's was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I went with my family and we had a great time. Roberto and Daniel at El Tejeban were great. The only thing I didn't like is that the All Inclusive ends at 10 p.m. and any food or drinks that you order after 10 p.m. aren't included. Other than that we had a great time, great staff very friendly. I would stay here again. Don't forget to tip :) the staff works hard.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy_Serafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My daughter and I had a great time at the Solmar resort the people where very friendly. Everywhere we went everyone always said Good morning. We always left the cleaning people a couple of dollars and they always left something for us. A dove and elephant made out of towels which we enjoyed. We always fell asleep with the sound of the waves. The only thing to get into the shower there was a big gap but otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RitaCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,700 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing