We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location and Good Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solmar Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER DEAL BOOK NOW
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived, the reception desk was attentive and ready to serve. They carefully explained all the rules and amenities of our all-inclusive package and got us to our room in very little time so we could jump right into the pool and start ordering never-ending drinks! :) 

The pool bartenders (Octavio, Francisco, Javier, Jorge) made fantastic drinks from standard margaritas and mojitos all the way to flavored drinks, Sex on the Beach, Dirty Monkey, Miami Vice and I'm sure any other drink you can think of. I read reviews before coming on my trip and I can confirm that sometimes service is slow, but they are taking care of the 12+ people sitting at the pool bar AND the 50+ people sitting at the restaurant. So if it took a little time between drinks I wasn't that upset. Just take your time and sip away...trust me, these guys aren't shy about putting the alcohol in your drink. You'll be feeling pretty good after a few drinks. Pace yourself. They'll check on you to make sure you're still feeling "good". 

The restaurant was also a hit! The entire restaurant staff (Captain Roberto, Tomas, Geraldo, Ernesto, Emmanuel and hostess Selene) were always welcoming with a smile and after a couple of meals would start to recognize you and make you feel like family. Every breakfast, lunch and dinner had American classics like pancakes, waffles and bacon, sandwiches, steaks, hamburgers, etc. but also offered EXCELLENT Mexican cuisine which I LOVED to try something new every meal...because I can get the other stuff when I'm back home. This is ALSO included in the all-inclusive package so I never left hungry. They also had sushi available in the all-inclusive package that was awesome! Typical stuff like California Rolls, Shrimp Tempura, Spicy Tuna and a few others...REALLY hit the spot when we were craving it. I know what you're thinking...is it pre-made and nasty by the time you get it? NO! They have a full-time sushi maker who makes it all to order :) And during the week depending on the day, they have different themed buffet nights, which was fun to sit outside near the pool and have entertainment while feasting. A couple of notes about the restaurant: you have to be dressed when going inside. You can't run from the pool into the restaurant with your wet bathing suit. They'll want you to dry off before coming to eat. Also, they want you to have some kind of top to have over you while you eat, otherwise they'll turn you away. You can choose to eat while at the pool side bar and order items off the restaurant menu to eat while swimming, but just like the drinks, food will take a little while to make it to your pool stool. Also for dinner, you have to make a reservation for every night of your stay. You can choose a different time every night (6:00, 7:30 or 9:00) or you can talk to the captain or hostess to reserve your time for every night of your stay. 

My wife and I stayed in a junior suite which had a living room with pull-out couch bed, kitchenette, refrigerator (stocked with free drinks), 2 bathrooms and a master bedroom. The bed was AMAZING (compared to our temperpedic at home). The room had a back sliding glass door that we'd use to sit on the patio and literally walk 50 steps into the pool! That was fun! The one weird thing is that the maid service would come in a sporadic times, not really seeming to be on a consistent schedule. So I guess you could call the front desk to have maid service at a specific time, or when you want according to what's best to your schedule. 

The amenities with the resort were good. The 2 pools (The lower pool with the swim-up pool bar, and an upper pool with detached pool bar that's NOT a part of the all-inclusive package) were warm watered. Not like bath water, but definitely not cool and refreshing. In the early afternoon it would be nice to get in, but sometimes in the late afternoon there's very little difference between the temperature outside and the pool temperature. That's just my preference. My wife loved the temperature. The pool towels are located inside your bathroom. Use those when you go to pool. Housekeeping will change them out when your return your used ones to the room. 

Solmar's big brother and sister resorts (Playa Grande and Grand Solmar) next door had other amenities that you could go use like gym, other pools, mini golf for free. You also get a discount on food and drink at any bar or restaurant, but obviously it's not a part of the all-inclusive package. Also, it wasn't made clear to us until we were kicked out, but apparently you can't use any of the Grand Solmar stuff AT ALL, only at Playa Grande. My wife and I spent a little time in the pool at Playa Grande and it was a lot of fun. If you're looking for a giant pool (hence the resort name, I guess) with a day for of activities for the kids and adults, dancing and lots of excitement, definitely give Playa Grande a look. Because we were staying at Solmar, we got a discount on the drinks we ordered, and on top of that it was happy hour (2-4) so we got 2 for 1 drinks. It was wonderful. However, I still didn't get a clear answer on what resort features we could and could not use, but this was my experience. Some additional features. Solmar also has a coffee cart with all the typical Starbucks offerings (not in the all-inclusive package) and a mini mart for toiletries, snacks and other things of the like (not in the all-inclusive package). 

As far as money and electrical outlets are concerned, everywhere my wife and I went, including the hotel accepts US dollars. The front desk can break large bills for change, tips etc. or change your US money for pesos. The outlets are mostly two-prong normal AC outlets. It was rare to find a 3-prong outlet, so you may need to bring an adaptor for that if you need. 

One word of warning that Solmar would probably tell you, but just for your planning, there is an ocean beach walking distance from the resort, however you CANNOT go swimming there. The waves and current of the Pacific Ocean are waaaaay too strong even for super swimmers and surfers. While it sounds amazing and looks amazing, you can't enjoy it all that much. The resort provides lounge chairs and umbrellas about 1000 feet away from the water, you can walk up to the water, but trust me, you can't swim in the water. The nearest public beach you can go to is Medrano Beach near the heart of Cabo San Lucas. It's about a 25 minutes walk from the resort, 20 dollars for a 10 minute taxi, or 5 minutes to the marina, 4 dollars per person for a 5 minute water taxi. Medrano Beach is always pretty crowded, but it does provide that Mexico Beach experience.

My wife and I splurged and got a couples massage at the Spa Cabanas. It was so relaxing and great. From the booking manager Sayda, to the massage staff Sandy, it was a great experience with the sounds of the ocean waves crashing in the background, the scents of lavender and knowing my wife was in heaven made our entire stay at Solmar that much better.  A great value for the services received.

Like I mentioned before, my wife and I went snorkeling and sunset cruising. Based on the Solmar concierge suggestion, we went with the company SunRider for both. The main hook was the fajita buffet on both excursions, but again the whole experience was wonderful. You can read more about them on their own review I made for them. But back to Solmar, I felt very comfortable making my booking with them and I was not disappointed. It might of been a little bit more expensive, but peace of mind for my wife and I was important. 

Overall, I give it 4.5 out of 5. Good service, good room and wonderful experience. While I'm not guaranteeing my next vacation is here, I can guarantee my friends and family who are considering coming to Cabo NEED to book their stay at Solmar. 

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    448
    161
    91
    51
See reviews for
258
670
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake charled
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My family stayed in July and absolutely loved it, the food was Fantastic and the service was Awesome the rooms and the whole complex was immaculate, we thought not being able to swim at the beach would be a bummer but it's a 5 min cab ride to the swimmable beach with tons of shopping in walking distance, we will be back and we will stay at Solmar again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darbyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband and I and another couple visited this resort the other week. We all enjoyed our stay. The resort was very clean and the entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It was a relaxing, comfortable stay and we had beautiful views. Francisco was a lot of fun at the pool bar and Julio was an excellent waiter.

Room Tip: The rooms near the water and pool side are close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCare2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you love hearing the waves crashing on the beach, this is the place to go. The resort is pretty and well-maintained. Lots of desert foliage. Great pools and swim-up bar (super mojitos!). Large, spacious, cool (good AC!) suites, all with an ocean view. We were upgraded (without asking) to a master suite...2 bathrooms, 2 balconies, mini kitchen...and we loved it. We made smoothies every evening and sat outside listening to the waves. The staff is extremely friendly and professional, and the food (a mix of American and Mexican) is terrific. Special thanks to Tomas, Roberto, Jose Luis, and Julio Cesar in the Tejabon Restaurant and Zusana our housekeeper; it was a pleasure to see them every day.

Two drawbacks: (1) The wifi (which is not included in the price) is pretty unreliable. But that's a good excuse to "disconnect" from the outside world. (2) Since the resort is on the Pacific side, you can't swim at the beach due to the strong undertow. But, there's a small, beautiful local beach about a 15 minute walk down the hill on the Sea of Cortes side.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The rooms at the resort are very clean. Rosa was our housekeeper and did an amazing job. The views from just about every where on the property were amazing. This is a small resort with only 100 rooms, 1 restaurant, 2 lunch restaurants and 2 pools. The larger pool has a swim up pool bar. Roberto the headwaiter was great about checking on us as we dined and Jose Luis and Julio Caesar were by far the two best waiters they have at the resort. My only complaint about the restaurant is how slow it is. You will need to plan at least 1 hour for breakfast, 1 hour for lunch and 1-1/2 hours for dinner. I prefer the buffet where you can try all kinds of different authentic meals. You also have to have reservations for dinner, which is hard to do when you are out exploring the town. Downtown is close as well as the Marina.

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction going on around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary, and it was far beyond our expectations! The resort was clean and beautiful, located right by the ocean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was always excellent, especially the sushi! It was a very restful and relaxing vacation, but there are so many things to do around. Solmar is within walking distance of downtown which is great! They do make you sign for everything, which can be confusing since it is all inclusive, but my assumption is that it is for gratuity purposes. It was quiet and not at all crowded which was great! Overall a wonderful experience, and we plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Two families, two adults and one 7 yr old in each family. For background, we've been to 3-5 star resorts/hotels in Cancun, Mayan Riveria, Puerto Vallarta, Cabo, Dominican Republic US, Canada and India. This one is definitely on the list of one of the better resorts we've stayed at.

Very clean rooms and property. All staff very professional, friendly, helpful from the management, front reception desk, maid service, restaurants, sushi bar and swim up bar. The staff take great pride in their work and I have to say that a big part of this has to be management's high expectations. Some names; Julio, Jose Luis, Miguel, Javier, Octavio (both) Salvador, Jemmy, Faviola, Manuel, Carmen, Nicte-Xa, Mercedes and Enrique.

We had two themes nights (tropical and Mexican fiesta) that were really impressed with the food, service and entertainment.

Food was excellent from Flank steak, New York steak to Filet Mignon, grilled shrimp and wonderful deserts, sashimi, tempura, spiced tuna and salmon, canned beer, great mango smoothies, piña coladas and mohitos.

Location of resort is perfect. Beachfront, close to marina and downtown Cabo. Sunsets were beautiful!

Overall an excellent experience and we plan on returning to Solmar!

Room Tip: Tip well. Choose 2nd level or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJVAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
#21 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#14 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#27 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing