We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solmar Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Cabo Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cabo Pedregal Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,903)
Filter reviews
1,903 results
Traveler rating
961
570
207
101
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
570
207
101
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjose luisplaya grandetejaban restaurantsushipacific sideswim up barupper pooltime shareall inclusive packageshort walk to the marinamain restaurantprivate beachlovers beachdivorce beachrestaurant stafffood and drinksthe wait staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
976 - 981 of 1,903 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May of 2014. All I can say is it was PERFECT. The room was gorgeous. We were on the ground floor facing the infinity pool and the ocean. The service was impeccable - the staff knew when we were checking-in and called us by name when we arrived. Margaritas were waiting for us in the lobby. Everyone was so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The couples massage and facial in the beach cabana was so relaxing and soothing. Spa staff was professional and friendly. We were super sad to leave. And we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunny_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

A group of friends and I (3 couples in total), made the decision to visit Cabo San Lucas for the first time. When searching for a place to stay we weighed the value of pay as you go vs. all inclusive. In the end we chose Solmar All Inclusive Resort and couldn't have asked for anything more (this coming from someone who works at a beach resort). Though not the newest property it was great. Food and drink on the property was great and was ordered A La Carte (off a menu) and was included in the trip. (*note: gratuities are already included so all you have to do is sign the bill at the end of each bill BUT I do say tip extra on top. These guys were very attentive and did busted their in trying to get you what you order when you do the extra. We tipped our server at the pool regularly and he became our new best friend). Recommendations would be to try the waffle and ice cream for breakfast, and the guacamole/chip plate and the ceviche by the pool. We didn't have dinner on property so can't comment on that.

The property itself is located on the beach but be warned its on the west side of the peninsula and the waters there are too powerful to go swimming. Still it is beautiful and you will get some great sunsets and pictures. For a swimmable beach you can either walk down the beach and do a little rock scramble, which will take you to divorce beach and from there you just walk across to the east side of the peninsula which is lovers beach. Or you can always get down to the marina and catch a water taxi to lovers beach and also check out the arches (*note: water taxi rates are negotiable so keep that in mind). You may want to bring your own drinks and snacks but they do have people who walk up and down lovers beach selling water, beer, chips, donuts amongst other things. To get to the Marina, which is basically town, its a 10-15 min walk which wasn't too bad and there are many places to shop, eat and drink.

In the end, this was a great experience: we all felt safe everywhere we went, on and off property, we had the time of our lives, got to enjoy nature (do recommend sunscreen in multiple doses and it is expensive down there so be prepared for that) and the local attractions. Basically we left with the feeling that we needed more time in Cabo and at the resort and we all agree we will definitely be going back and staying at Solmar All Inclusive Resort again.

Room Tip: The further in advance you can book the better. We got upgraded to a Jr. Suite due to how far in advance we booked ours. Also there is construction going on around the property as they are upgrading and building new Solmar properties; it might be in your interest to ask for a location that is not close to any of the construction. I will say it didn't bother me any when I slept.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I, one of our sons, daughter-in-law and 22 month granddaughter spent a thoroughly enjoyable week. Although the reservations had been made separately, when we checked in together, they kindly provided adjoining rooms with a connecting door so that our granddaughter could freely go from one room to the other. She loved the sound of her bare feet on the tile floors.

Breakfasts were wonderful with the fresh fruit and juices and the french toast was truly memorable.

The servers and hostesses were all very friendly and made a special fuss over our granddaughter even teaching her some Spanish. She loved going to meals to see her friends Selene and Daniel.

The two dinner fiestas, with dancers and singers, where the tables were set up on the sand outside were well done and again our granddaughter was transfixed.

For variety, we had some lunches at the Tresol bar area (near the upper pool) and it had very good, smaller dishes. While we loved our breakfasts and lunches in the Tejeban restaurant, the dinner dishes did vary from great to so so depending on the night. Service was always very good.

Location is great. A short 10-15 minute walk to the port and mercado. Agree that the hike over the rocks to Divorce Beach was challenging and not one to take if you intend to buy beer off the beach vendors, but well worth the trip. We loved the booming surf and the pelicans, the rock formations. Jogging along the beach around 6:30 am, the beauty was astounding.

Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in Building B which gave a nice view of the pool and Pacific but was away from some of the party noise. It was midway to reception, the restaurant, very good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

When checking in we found out they were overbooked and they took us to another of their properties, the Grand ??? Never could figure out which Solmar we were in but we were in the "ridge" section. It overlooked the Marina. Since I have been going to Cabo since 1991, I have always overlooked the beach. This was a welcome change for a few days. Never went into the pools but enjoyed our stay. Food was really, really good.
Since I had never stayed in this resort, I had limited expectations for 3 days. Definately exceeded our expectations. Except for the gal we had to see before they would check us in. Even though we said no presentations or sales pitch, she was very rude saying she was only doing her job and would not shut up. I do not think Mexico has ever liked us Americans. I come here for the Natural Beauty only.

Room Tip: I think the promotions are to get us down to promote their new resort they are building. How many timeshares can you buy??? Lots of walking to go anywhere on property.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyB702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear guest from Manahawkin;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I offer you an apology due to the incident reported with the hostess of timeshare, I have talked to our director of marketing and have taken measures to prevent this happening at all. The property where you were upgraded is the secluded section of “El Risco" from our five diamond sister resort "Playa Grande". I hope you have enjoyed your upgrade and the service from the staff which has always been known for their friendliness and professionalism. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations. You always will be welcome to this your Resort. Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We just returned from staying at the Solmar Inclusive Resort and it was 4 days of fun! The Solmar staff was the best, everyone was very helpful and happy to greet us everyday. The Solmar Team was wonderful! A special thank you to Selene-Activities she was wonderful and Vicente-Server (poolside), he was always there ready to serve! We never saw either of them without a huge smile on their face! We will be back in 6-months! On a side note, don't let the lobby fool you...it is basic and unimpressive but after checking into our room, it was 4 great days!

Room Tip: Ocean view suite is a must!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Maureen A. From Long Beach CA.
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your vacation and the cordial customer service from our staff. We are currently working to have a better and comfortable lobby to serve our customers, nevertheless as you mention it, the service and friendliness as well as our secluded location is the highlight of our Resort. Thank you again for your preference, we will be glad to greet you here again in six months. Best regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews