We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were presently surprised about the amenities at this hotel. Though it is older than other hotels, they did not lack service and cleanliness. The staff was ultra friendly, outgoing and fun to be around. Definitely all inclusive is the way to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear customer from Denver, Colorado;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your vacations and pleasantly surprised with the service from our personnel and the amenities from the resort. It will be our pleasure to host you again in the near future and provide you an even better experience. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    510
    188
    97
    55
See reviews for
314
792
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from out visit at the Solmar All inclusive Resort. It was our first trip to Cabo and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival, our room was upgraded which was a delightful surprise. We were celebrating an anniversary and were greeted in our room with strawberries and champagne and a delightful rose petal heart with swans on our bed. The rooms are traditional Mexican decor and somewhat older but very clean and everything you might need is provided. The staff is attentive and welcoming. Watching the whales right from the Tejaban Restaurant was an added bonus while dining on very good food presented with flair. Selena was always so pleasant and Alejandro and the rest of the wait staff were superior. The beach and sunsets were breathtaking. Grounds were manicured and raked beautifully. The hotel has two pools so we were able to spend our time at the quieter one. The town is an easy walk through the marina. Now a couple of negatives. Right after check in we were sent to a table in the office where they try and pressure you to go to a timeshare presentation. Certain times during the day, it took a while to get a drink even if it was water or coke. Construction is going on and you do hear it. The workers start early in the morning and work until about 8 p.m.. Also there was a smaller construction project going on right behind our room that woke us in the morning. We decided not to let the noise bother us.
We loved the authentic Mexican feel, the cleanliness, the friendly staff, the beautiful location. There is construction and no swimming on this beach. Also it is very quiet and not fancy. So if you want nightlife, ocean swimming, or glitz, this hotel may not be for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear customer from Fort Worth, Texas;
Thank you very much for having chosen our Resort to spend such special celebration. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your upgraded suite and the attentive service from our personnel. Thank you for your comments, they help us to improve and provide our customers the best experience. We hope to greet you here again in your new favorite destination and have the opportunity to pamper you as you deserve. Warm greetings from Cabo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I checked into the Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club on the 10th day of a 15 day Cabo trip. Even though I had been having a wonderful trip up to this point, from the moment I sat on my deck overlooking the majestic pacific ocean and sandy beach and took (apparently) my first deep breath of my vacation inhaling the fresh sea air all I could think of was "I have arrived" not to Cabo, but to that much sought after inner peace.

This hotel went beyond my wildest expectations from the room, the deck views, food, drinks, staff, pools, beach and the amazing property. It's shown in every last detail that this is a special place.

Watching the whales and dolphins frolicking in the ocean from the nearly deserted beach or even my deck was one of the major highlights of this trip.

Room Tip: I loved my room and views and location from room 2155.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Beth S.;
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the contact with nature in this secluded piece of paradise. It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your vacations and the facilities from the Resort. We are looking forward to the honor of your visit once again. Warm greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent Christmas 2013 at Hotel Solmar. We had the most delightful vacation ever. Hotel Solmar is Cabo before Cabo was discovered. It is quiet, intimate and delightfully Mexican. It sounds cliché but it is so true: the staff is attentive and extremely friendly, the facilities are clean, the gardens are beautifully manicured, and the food is absolutely divine. The All Inclusive was all inclusive and no hassle. The beach was a delight to walk and no beach vendors as it is a private beach. The Hotel is located on the tip of the Baja at Land's End so we watched the sun rise and set over the ocean!! The whale watching was fabulous. CAUTION THIS RESORT IS NOT FOR YOU if you want glitz, glam, noisy nightlife, granite counter tops, framed artwork, chandeliers and infinity pools. THIS RESORT IS FOR YOU if you want colorful Mexican tile, bathtubs made of uneven Mexican tile, colorful Mexican crafts decorating the rooms, closet doors that don't quite close, delicious food served by delightful wait staff, and a quiet low key atmosphere, The food was so good we never left the resort for another restaurant. The location was on the quiet Pacific Side of the Baja, but the noisy bustling town/marina of Cabo San Lucas was only a five minute walk from the hotel. Hotel Solmar is a gem! As others have written, there is construction going on right next door - we just decided to not let it bother us! I just can't say enough about Hotel Solmar, we loved it and will be returning in January 2015.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Downs and Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I experienced a wonderful and quite vacation in the Solmar All Inclusive. The sushi bar at the pool was delicious. Every meal was carefully prepared with beautiful details. Tomas, Alejandro, Octavio, Selena, and Julio Ceasar were always so cheerful and attentive. All employees were cheerful at the Tejaban restaurant. Margarita did a fantastic job keeping our room in perfect condition daily. The Mexican fiesta on Sunday was very reflective of Mexican culture. Resort was walking distance to marina. No swimming on the beach but take a water taxi from the Mercado for $5. The driver for the shuttle too and from were both very friendly but both entering and exiting the front desk was disappointing. Instead of being greeted with a smile at the front office, we walked into a group selfie of the employees with the front desk and waited for them to finish before checking into our room. The activities lady was too pushy and the girl with the glasses with the wavy black hair always had a sour look on her face. Her cell phone was more important than our questions and seemed to not want to be bothered with my questions. Overall, I would highly recommend the resort for a romantic week with great service in all restaurants and pool area.

Room Tip: All have great views. On the east side might be loud due to construction of Grand Solmar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you are looking for true luxury and a low key atmosphere then the Grand SolMar is for you. There has been a lot of consternation over the past years because the SolMar Beach Club has been progressively replaced by the Grand SolMar. While there is still some construction going on, the grounds are essentially complete and absolutely amazing. Their 5 star rating is well deserved, but the rates follow suite. You get what you pay for.

We are proud owners there and we love it. There are several infinity pools which are spread out between the buildings and the layout is spectacular. There always seems to be a pool or spa that you can go to for peace and quiet or to turn the kids loose. The food is quite good and the service is excellent. The beach is long and beautiful and you can walk up to several other properties and stroll around. The breakfast in the small beach hut at the Terra Sol is quite good and inexpensive; definitely worth a stop. As of this writing, guests of the Grand SolMar can charge food and beverage to your room when visiting Playa Grande and Solmar Beach Club.

Pros:
Amazing rooms, pools, grounds
Excellent food
Lots of happy hour specials
Beach views
Whale watching (in season)
No beach vendors trying to sell you stuff

Cons:
Dangerous surf - Be Careful!
Relatively expensive
Brisk walk into town
As always with timeshares, you will be asked to attend a presentation

Room Tip: Look for rooms that are ocean front. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKing762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I often travel in Mexico, but this was our first experience in Cabo and the surrounding area. We just got back from a week at Solmar All-Inclusive and we just loved it! The staff, the food, the room, the location were all exceptional. From check-in to check-out, we had a wonderful experience, one we will not soon forget and would love to repeat some day. We were somewhat apprehensive about the construction noise we read about in other reviews, but it really wasn’t an issue for us at all; we hardly noticed. The wait staff for each of the meals and around the pool during the day exceeded our expectations – attentive, prompt, and very friendly; especially Jose Luis, Jose #2, Raul, Samuel, and Daniel. The food was top notch; great presentation and well prepared. And the special arrangements (gourmet dining and live entertainment) for Valentine ’s Day dinner on the beach made it a truly memorable evening. The front desk staff was also very helpful with Nictexa the manager leading the way with helping us with our accommodations. Christina, the concierge at the resort, was very helpful in getting us a rental car brought directly to the resort and providing information about things to do in the area. I also received a 1-on-1 Spanish lesson from Selene, the activities director, which I thoroughly enjoyed. All in all, one of our best vacations in Mexico!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenzoyTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear customer from Sacramento;
Thank you for sharing your experience on T.A. We are pleased to know that your first experience at Solmar has been wonderful and you have enjoyed our services. Certainly the spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean from our restaurant is the perfect setting for romance. It is our pleasure to know that our staff has endeavored to attend to as you deserve. It will be my pleasure to see you here again as our guest in the short future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#21 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing