We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seemed too good to be true, but really was great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seemed too good to be true, but really was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My first experience with an all inclusive hotel and I was really waiting for there to be a catch at some point. We did have to sign a docket after each purchase which further added to my scepticism, however this makes sense so that they can track their inventory and services provided.
Excellent location
Excellent service
Excellent food
Excellent experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear customer from Brisbane, Australia;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holidays and our Resort has exceeded your expectations and that you could verify that the contracted services have been worth it. Thank you again for trusting us, it will be our pleasure to see you here again as our guest and allow us to pamper you as you deserve. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    499
    187
    97
    52
See reviews for
312
777
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Smaller resort, (100) rooms, only one restaurant so the meal selection wasn't the greatest.. A special meal every 3 days or so which is an add on..
Upgrade wine is very expensive.
A 15 minute walk to downtown opened a whole plethora of meal selections...
Room was just fine, included a kitchenette which we just used the fridge as we booked all inclusive..
Two swimming pools and a hot tub, private beach with no vendors try to sell their wears to you every 3 minutes!! BIG Plus...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember04022015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear customer from Surrey, Canada;
Thank you for sharing your comments on T.A. they are very important for us since they help us in our evaluation and quality improvement cycles. We are glad to read that our secluded location and private beach has been convenient for you and the resort in general has a good value for you. Thank you again for your patronage. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to see you here as our guest again and provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings from Cabo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our second stay at Solmar. This time we stayed for two weeks - January 7 -21. We really enjoy the location with access to the beach and fantastic sunrises and sunsets. We heeded the warnings about the hazzards of swimming on this beach and found great pleasure in long walks on the sand as well as just relaxing and enjoying the sights and sounds. We enjoyed our room although we did not spend much time in it. We were upgraded to a one bedroom with two bathrooms which was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the showers were great. Victoria kept the room in excellent shape. We also enjoyed the food. Even though there is only one main restaurant we did not get tired of eating there. The one dinner meal we really enjoyed was Surf and Turf minion and shrimp along with some vino blanco. We had no problem with the reservation system. Breakfast was also very good. We really enjoyed the green juice, coffee, yogurt, omlettes, and bacon.
We found the people to be amazing. Many of them have been there for years. In our two week stay we got to know and enjoy many of them. Special recognition should be given to the following: Alejandro, Victor, Jose Luis, Julio, Daniel, Samuel, Emmanuel, Vincente, Jorge, and Salvador in the restaurant/pool area and Daniella in the reception area. Tomas and Leonar are great managers.The whole group sang happy birthday to me in spanish and gave me cake and ice cream.
We also enjoyed going to Playa Grande's fitness center and playing mini golf which were part of our all inclusive package. The NFL games were carried at Solmar so we did not miss the playoffs. The cooks also did a great job of cooking some of the fish we caught.
There was some construction noise which was not a big issue for us.
We plan to return again next year.

Room Tip: higher rooms provide a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear customer from Sisters, Oregon;
Thank you very much for choosing our Resort for the second time to spend your holiday, thanks for trusting us. I am glad to know you have enjoyed your upgrade and the staff in general has provided a helpful and friendly service. Certainly from our secluded location in this side of the Pacific Ocean you can enjoy these breathtaking views from sunrise to sunsets, I'm glad you have enjoyed it. Please do not wait too long to come back, it will be our pleasure to host you again in the near future and be able to pamper you as you deserve. Warm greetings from Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cowichan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

we spent two weeks at solmar. jan7-21 2014. this resort has the best location in cabo. quik walk to town. ten minutes to the mall five minutes to the marina. you can walk out of the hotel down the beach to lovers beach. across to divorce beach and with a bit of a climb u can walk right back down the private beach on the pacific side back to the hotel. beautiful private beach. no vendors. the sunsets are amazing and we could watch whales breach and stingrays jump from our bed! they say no swimming in the pacific.they have two small ish pools and a hot tub to use instead. i swam in the pacific every day tho. it was allright. the waves can get a tad big if you arent an expert swimmer. the sea turtles nest on the beach and of you are lucky u will get to see some of them either laying eggs or hatching and return to the sea. Ruben one of the staff members was amazing. he showed us how the young were progressing and taught me all about turtles. my girlfriend and i enjoyed his teaching imensely.he is a security guard. if you see him say hi. he speaks great english and is a local. he helped us with the bus and with taxi fares. thank you so much Ruben my friend! u helped make oyur trip much better!! we will meet again.the room was great and the bed was the most comfortable ive slept in in mexico. Rosa kept the room imaculate despite all the sand i seemed to track in nd she made towel sculptures and flower creations that made my girl smile. she did a great job.now the bad.the ocean is suposedly unswimable. which sucks.they are buliding a huge hotel beside solmar. its loud!!! although we eventually just got used to it. the food is not that great. and very repetitive. there is only one restaurant and one small snack bar.even with an all inclusive you have to sign for everything. like you stop at the bar to get a bottle of water and they make you sign a bill for it?? whats that all about. there is no buffet so if you want something to eat its a sit down affair. no grabbing a quik bite while you head to the beach. most of the wait staff was great though. we mostly tried to sit in juleas cesar's section. he was great! quik efficient polite and helpfull. thank you for that juleas! we appreciate your efforts! and hope to see you again some day. now the ugly....remeber this is an all inclusive.... i asked for two bottles of water. nope! cant have that its only one pre person per visit to the bar. what kinnda all inclusive is that?? they say dinner reservations are mandatory. i asked for a 7 dinner reservation. nope they only have 6 7:30 and nine. ok i ask for a seven thirty. nope cant have that . well the sun goes down at 6 so i dotn wanna eat that early. and i dont want to eat at nine. so i just come back at 7:30 no reservation. i see the restaurant is not even half full. so i ask to b seated. the guy at the front asks for my reservation. (knowing full well i dotn have one) then makes us wait twenty minutes till i go and say i am gettin pissed off cause i can see like ten empty tables from the door. then he gets all pissy with me! and tells me he cant seat me there cause they are reserved. well the hotel is only half full and its 25 minutes past the 7:30 reservation time. eventually he seats us in one of the "reserved" empty tables. the other nine or ten tables never do fill up. and now the really ugly. its all inclusive but it doesnt include everything. like if you order a bottle of wine you pay. everynight they have specials if you order the special you pay. i start looking at your bill. theres a 650 peso bottle of wine on our bill. neither my girlfriend or i drink!!! ever!!!! so i ask. the same guy assures me that i did in fact order and drink that wine???!!! after i pitch a fit they finally say that they are sorry. that the waiter (not juleas cesar our favorite server) accidentally checked the price fo the wine on our bill for another table?????? and it accidentally ended up on our bill. three different times this happened!! so be carefull and watch your bills carefully in this place!! to sum it up. great location. great views. some REALLY great staff!!! (thank you to the good ones once again) the food situation is what really drags this place down. i would never return as an all inclusive. however i will go back again if i can just rent a room and do my own cooking and eating out.

Room Tip: ask for a room as high up and as far away from the construction as possible! ocean view king is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blake w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear customer from Lake Cowichan, Canada;
Thank you very much for taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others. I would like to offer an apology due to the atypical incidents that have happened in the restaurant during your visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future. By the other side I am glad to know that in the end you have enjoyed our great location, the breathtaking views and the customer services from our housekeeper and waiters. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon. Be assured that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you're accommodated in everything you desire. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Overall, a very nice hotel with a more authentic Mexican feel than others in the region. Composed of many small buildings, and placed in such a way that most rooms have a great view of the sunset. The food is excellent (lots of seafood, fajitas, and vegetables), as is the majority of the staff (great entertainment from Selene, Daniela at the front desk is very nice, Jose, Jose Luis, and Salvador are all excellent waiters). Very nice gym at the Playa Grande, along with a decent tennis court. If you are interested in snorkeling, Chileno Bay is definitively the best (and only a cheap bus ride away). The atmosphere is very relaxed, with a high percentage of the guests older than 50.

Major annoyance would definitively be the construction noise, consisting of jackhammers and grinders. It becomes easy to zone out after a day or two. There are many salespeople around the marina (5 minutes from resort), but areas of the city beyond this are definitively worth exploring. Rooms are very clean and well furnished.

Peace can be found on the hotel's beach, with the waves washing away most of the construction noise. There are also no salespeople on this beach and it is quite empty.

Only meal we ate outside of the resort was at Pan di Bacco. The food, atmosphere, and price were excellent!

Bring binoculars! Whales can be seen in the ocean almost every morning at breakfast.

Room Tip: Be as far west as possible (near the Playa Grande and away from the Grand Solmar) to minimize the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Carl B. from Gatineau, Canada;
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on T.A. it is rewarding for us to read that you have enjoyed your vacations and our authentic Mexican atmosphere as well as our secluded location has been to your liking. Thank you for recommending our cuisine and the service from our personnel. I am glad to know you had enjoyed watching the gray whales from our Restaurant's terrace; this time of the year many of them visit the Sea of Cortes to have their babies. Please come back soon it will be our pleasure to greet you here again as our guest and have the opportunity to pamper you as you deserve. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port moody
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This Was our first visit to Mexico , we chose the solmar as it seemed best to suit our needs, after arriving we knew had made the right choice. The staff were all very hospitable with an extra recognition going to Vanessa at the front lobby, Vicente was extremely polite and very quick to serve us and took care of us at all times. Alejandro in the restaurant was also extremely accommodating and we found a great friend in him. His service was over and above the entire time we were there. Jose and Julio in the restaurant were also very friendly,polite and quick to care of all of our needs. Oscar at the poolside bar was very quick to serve us and did it all with a friendly smile, Emmanuel , a young man that served most of our breakfasts was very friendly and polite and accommodated our every request. All of the individuals named above were always at the top of their game and made us to feel at home , welcoming us with open arms, big smiles and complete professionalism at all times, while we established a great comfort in their service. I highly recommend that all these individuals get recognized for their effort made towards us on all levels of service and that the entire staff their be commended for the daily job that they all do. We plan on returning to the Solmar later this year and can hardly wait to re-acquaint with these employees who we consider to be our friends, we look forward to building more memories and will always make the solmar our resort of choice.
Thanks Alejandro , Vincente , Oscar , Julio , Jose ,Emmanuel and Vanessa ... YOU GUYS ROCK !!!!
Mike and Corinne Wood , room 2394 ... Jan 9 - Jan 19
We Miss you !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear customer from Port Moody, Metro Vancouver;
Thank you very much for having chosen our Resort on this your first visit to Mexico and trusting us. We are pleased to know that our staff has provided you with a warm and friendly service and made you feel at home. You can be sure we will take your comments in mind to compensate them according to our incentive program. Please do not wait too long to come back, it will be our pleasure to welcoming you again and provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings from Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Cannot say enough good things about this all-inclusive resort. I had an awesome time! The restaurant service was excellent! Every one of the servers took extra time to help with anything, including recipes of the good food. We had 2 decks on our room, so we got a cross breeze for sleeping. There was a turtle sanctuary on the beach, and we got to see some of the newborns. We stayed most of the time by the pool and the bar to get a great tan. Because the rest of the time we were on a great camel safari by Cabo Adventures and Whale watching. I had read the reviews of the noise from the neighboring building construction, and my concerns were unfounded. Hardly heard a thing! I guess I just focused on the beauty of the surroundings and the ability to be away from the snow and cold temperatures. Thank you, Solmar, for a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CElaine910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear customer from Chicago, Illinois;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, it is rewarding to read that you have enjoyed your vacation and our staff have walked the extra mile to full fill your expectations. What a beauty experience of witnessing the birth of baby turtles! I hope you had the chance to see also gray whales from the shore of our beach. Our winter is warm and good option to escape from cold weathers. We hope to see you again soon at the Resort and have the opportunity to pamper you as you deserve. Warm greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing