We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Honeymoon”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I had been pretty busy with work so we wanted a short impromptu honeymoon at a great value and we feel this resort more than delivered. Here are a few bullet points for people who use tripadvisor:

1) The construction was absolutely a non-factor, aesthetically yes it is not the best but the noise is so overstated on some of these reviews!

2) The service here is unmatched. I loved the people at this resort, and everyone came to work with a smile on there face and ready to work.

3) Cannot swim in the beach. I do not hold this against the resort as it appeared to me as a Cabo novice that a majority of beaches you cannot swim in, but just be aware of this when coming.

4) Pool was clean, great, and not packed.

5) Food... AMAZING. This is the best part of the hotel in my mind, not sure what they says about me but for all inclusive the food is by far the best... breakfast is unreal good.

Is it a 5 star resort? No, but unless you are drunk when booking the trip you already know this. The resort delivers as advertised and is a great value. I personally loved my first trip to Cabo and believe this resort had a lot to do with it and will strongly consider coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will-and-Karen-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been staying here for the last five years and sadly it has gone from wonderful to disappointing in my opinion...we rented a two bedroom penthouse only to wake up to a cockroach in the kitchen and very loud construction noise beginning at 7am. They offered to fumigate, which was not an option for us, and/or move us to another two bedroom next door (facing the marina with no ocean view). We come here to wake up looking at the Pacific Ocean. They continue to be nice however none of the "solutions" worked for us. Unfortunately, I would not recommend staying here for more than a night.

My other complaint is that the management allows guests at the pool to play their amplified music at the pool. Yesterday we had to listen to at least two very loud iPods playing country and rock at the same time. It is as though they have given up on setting a relaxing atmosphere for the guests.

This place has lost the magic it once had, I guess that is progress. The people are still nice though. :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank tonybain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Maybe on of the oldest resorts in Los Cabo at Land's End. Exceptional beach access (not a swimming beach on many days with riptides and large waves). The one concern was the neighboring Gand Solmar 9 story tower under construction next to the resort. Construction starts around 7 am and goes until 5 pm, 7 days a week, except holidays. Good news, the tower is soon to be completed in March 2014 after 5 years of construction. Friendly resort staff and very accommodation. Would encourage the all inclusive meal plan. Our family of 5 averaged $80 USD for breakfast, $130 USD for lunch and $200 USD for dinner at the resort prices per day. Add the drinks at the pool and we were over $600 USD per day. There were a few buffet dinner meals offered, food was good but not labelled and needed to ask staff for food descriptions. Also, they offered a few nights with live singing - not anyone you will see anytime soon on a Top 1,000 list.
There are 3 dining areas on site. The main restaurant, a lower pool/ sushi bar and a upper pool/ sports bar. The main dining room offers amazing views of the sea/ ocean and dining to crashing waves was very relaxing. The upper pool seemed to be more relaxed and quiet, probably because it does not have the swim up bar.
All in all, we had a great 2 week stay this year the last 2 weeks of December over the Christmas Holiday.

Room Tip: For the next few months, ask for a room away from the new Solmar Grand tower, VERY noisy. We were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was our second year in a row getting a great deal for a resort on the Pacific side of Cabo. This location is amazing! Other than that, not so much. The all inclusive is awful and I actually had an allergic reaction to the cheap booze they serve. I asked for top shelf tequila for my margarita and they didn't even have any on property! In Mexico! If you are looking for a bar to hang out, there isn't one. And the lights go out in all the common areas (which are few) at 10pm. The service in the main restaurant was so/so. Jose, the cook in the snack bar was amazing, but I wanted a bit more out of my dining experiences. The construction will wake you up. And it's 7 days a week. This resort was probably pretty awesome once upon a time, but I think they are planning to tear it down so they don't care much anymore. Last year's Groupon deal at the Pueblo Bonita Sunset Beach made this look like Motel 6. If you want a steeply little resort, and wake up before 7am, maybe this is for you. Sorry, but I suggest going elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sagesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear customer from Santa Cruz, California;
Thank you for taking the time to posting your review. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our location and the service from our snack bar's employee. I am working with the entire staff to ensure we handle things differently in the future in order to fulfill your expectations. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It's convenient, within walking distance of downtown, and I'm assuming at most times rather private and quiet. Yes there is construction going on, but despite many people's reviews, it's white noise and doesn't interfere with a day next to the pool with a book or drinking with friends. Great service, always friendly, and overly accommodating. Don't be fooled by the mixed reviews, it's a great place at a great rate with a feel of older Mexico, and very clean. My friends and I enjoyed ourselves immensely and cannot speak highly enough about everything. Keep your expectations in check and you'll have an amazing time.

I could go on and on about everything "extra" they did for our group. I know that my wife and I will DEFINITELY be going back.

Thank you Solmar!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear customer;
Thank you very much for your kindly comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your vacation and the locations of the resort. Certainly we are located in a secluded beach which offers spectacular views and tranquility without be far away from down town for those who enjoy the nightlife or just go shopping. I appreciate very much for having us chosen to spend your holiday, it will be our pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in the near future and provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings from Cabo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The employees of this Resort were wonderful. Our first day we went in with the American mind set that when eating things should be in and out and were a little put off. Then we realized we were on vacation and took the time to enjoy the experience. We had the pleasure of having the same waiter almost everyday. Jose Luis remembered after just one time how we liked coffee ect. And the Maitre de Ernesto was always incredibly pleasant. He even gave me a hug when he realized it was our last night. The food was fantastic and the room always made up. The only down fall would be the currents made it very unsafe to swim in the ocean by the Resort. But if ur willing to catch a taxi or walk a little ways you can get to the swimmable beach. I loved my stay at Solmar.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank architimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear customer;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your vacation and our staff has provided you a good customer service. Thank you for recommend our cuisine. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon. Be assured that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you're accommodated in everything you desire. Happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I both visited Los Cabos in 1986 and decided to return this December. We booked a week at the Solmar and also rented a car to do some sight seeing. The hotel was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. The location could not be better as it is located on a large beach just near Land's End, however, it is within a short walk to the Marina and Centro. There you can find abundant shops, restaurants and night-life for everyone. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to please. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the view of the ocean, well manicured gardens and pool areas was spectacular.One of my reservations was that the hotel was an all inclusive and one ordered from the menu. This doubt soon dissipated as the menu included variety and was of a high quality of any first rate restaurant. I actually got to meet and talk to the chef who explained his quest for excellence, service, and tasty food. An added benefit was that we were able to use the gym facilities for free at the Playa Grande Hotel which was just around the corner. All the people I talked to on the premises seemed to be enjoying their stay at the hotel .. I highly recommend the property and the surrounding area for a relaxing vacation in the sun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear customer from Bowmanville, Canada;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are glad to read we have exceeded your expectations. Certainly the secluded location of the Resort allow our customers to enjoy spectacular views from the Pacific Ocean and its tranquility without be far away from downtown and its bustle. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the customer service from our staff, your accommodation and the amenities from your all inclusive program. It will be my pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in the near future and pamper you as you deserve. Warm greetings from Cabo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,899 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,911 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $107 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing