We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort, great for a few days or week long getaway”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Resort, great for a few days or week long getaway”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My daughter choose Cabo and this resort for her wedding. we spent almost a week at this great, classy resort, which started a few days before the wedding. The entire wedding party stayed there. We enjoyed the resort amenities and all inclusive during the days and met for breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday.

They arrange for a special dinner right after the wedding, setup right on the beach and had live music with a special meal prepared for the wedding party dinner.

The service, food, rooms and staff were all super professional and friendly. We ate so much so Sushi and had drinks by the pool. Had a great massage by the beach.

I am certainly planning to go back for vacation soon and frequently.

Room Tip: When you venture out of the resort for snorkeling or scuba diving or any tours, go with the reputabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    526
    196
    98
    56
See reviews for
338
825
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Solmar Resort was fantastic! If you are looking for a location that provides an authentic Mexican hacienda feel, very large and comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, clean grounds, great food and drink, great service, and all at a reasonable price, this is the place for you! There are "fancier" places in Cabo for sure, but we aren't the type that wants fancy. We wanted fun, comfortable, clean, excellent meals, good people, and that's exactly what we received. This was our first time to Cabo and we would go back to Cabo and Solmar in a heartbeat!

A few specifics...we went deep sea fishing and brought some of our fresh Dorado and Marlin back to the resort. The chefs prepared a seafood feast for us that was to die for! They prepared it sashimi style, ceviche, grilled, blackened, and fried. We were so fat and happy that we crawled in bed stuffed and content by 9:00! Ernesto is the Tejeban restaurant manager and he was a delight! He was so friendly and made sure we thoroughly pleased and satisfied every time we went to the restaurant. The resort is also a very short, easy, and safe walk from the marina and all of the action in town. If you want a taxi to or from it was only $6.00. The concierge and front desk staff was always very helpful and made it easy to book excursions and find out any info we needed. If we had one complaint, and it wasn't a big one, the bartender at the main pool was very lack-luster in his charisma. Jose was prompt with our drinks but not one to smile, joke, or play music that the crowd wanted to listen to. A great personality from a bartender should be out there at the pool.

All in all, fabulous trip! Go check it out...you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: There is construction going on at the property but we did not hear it at all from our room. We aske...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked a 10 day all inclusive. They are building Grand Solmar RIGHT next door and specifically requested to be far away from that. Our first room was directly adjacent to construction. Went back to reception, they moved us to building G upstairs but only from Thur-Sat since the owners were arriving Saturday. Then we moved to building B for rest of the 7 days which was much better, closer to only restaurant and lower pool.
The pool...when we were in the second unit we were directly in front of the upper pool. However that pool only remained open until we moved, it then stayed closed for the remainder of our stay. We received AWESOME service from GERARDO at upper and main lower pool area every time!
The construction lasts ALL day long, there is no music in the pool area to try to drown it out. Machines, tools, hammers, ALL day long! =( The bigger problem we had was the jacuzzi closing at 10pm. After spending the entire day in the sun and walking all over town we were looking forward to soaking in the jacuzzi. Nope, sorry get out at 10pm to put chemicals in? There were no children, no one being loud, no drunk people just couples relaxing and yet their policy is to shut it down at 10pm. We went to the firepit the night we got kicked out of the jacuzzi and that was the 2nd time they actually lit the firepit. NOT daily. =(
Restaurant...the upper restaurant was closed for the season so we ONLY had the main restaurant as an option. The sushi bar was ONLY available if we were at the pool, had it once and it was fine not a lot of flavor but still fine. The main restaurant was where we were sadly disappointed. Having only ONE restaurant option at an all inclusive, same menu for ten days, a la carte but of the same exact food every day was not good. There are plenty of people working and taking orders but several times throughout our stay getting our food took more than 45 mins, occasionally cold or would come covered in onions even when ordered without. We were NOT sending it back after waiting so long to get it. Sometimes taking our order took up to 30 mins to get someone to stop at our table. Sunday's they have their buffet dinner. THAT was delicious and since we served ourselves it was great, food was hot and yummy. We actually stopped eating here the last three days of our vacation since, same food, same slow service, sometimes even cold food. The two managers would come by to check in and we would ask them to find out about our order but that didnt seem to hurry anything up.
Maintenance...resort is beautiful, clean, swept daily. Our last 3 days we were lucky to get LORENA, she went above and beyond with flower petals and swans!! LOVED her!
We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Until construction is completed next door there arent rooms where you dont hear work all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

this my first review, i thought i had to write considering they were a few misconceptions about this resort.

this is my second time to cabo (3rd to mex), however had more fun this time around, mainly due to the resort.
checking in
i had read reviews about construction noise, so at check in i requested something away from the noise, they gave me a nice suite, 2 bath, living room/bedroom (upgraded without charge). few min after, we were sent some choc. covered strawberries courtesy of the manager.

facilities,
we were at the upper pool, however it was not maintained, and second last day, they started doing maintenance on it. we mainly stayed at the lower pool near the restaurant with was well maintained and temp was good.

Our mattress was quite soft, (only complain)

food,
food was very good, we had buffet only on one night, but everything was a-la cart. even though it was mainly the same menu, it didnt bother us as were were here only for 4 nights. Good presentation, and tasted quite good aswell. sushi wasn't as good, but hey! this is mexico not Japan or Vancouver.

my only complain was nachos w/cheese, were microwaved, so were soggy.

service
service was amazing, i think this was the best part. everybody worked to please , even though we tipped , i saw many people who didn't, however they were still getting good service.

alcohol
they just used bottom shelf liq. but that was fine, drinks were strong if u asked them double, and beer was canned, not watered drown draft beer alot of resort use.

location
its towards the end of the beach. however in cabo , they arn't many places u can swim, however the "arch" is quite close by, you can go outside the resort towards the town, when u get to the bottom of the hill , (opposite the marina) turn right and keep waking, (good 15-20) min walk, or was on the beach towards the rock, somebody will be waiting there to guide u across the rocks towards the beach (10 min hike through the rocks) make sure u have speakers, we did bare food/sandals , we tipped the guy 4000$ mex, 4$.

its quite close to marina, but not too close, which is good.

NOISE
we only heard noise when were were in the pool, we didnt wake up to drilling or any other noise, and it didn't bother us.

checkout was smooth aswell.
no issues, not extra charges,

WOULD RETURN,,,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We bought a Living Social deal for 3 nights for this resort, but upgraded out after the 2nd night to one of their sister resorts, not necessarily because there was anything wrong but it wasn't what we were looking for. The resort is bit old and they do not organize any events or anything of that sort, if you are looking for a quiet time in Cabo this might not be bad idea. The service was spot on all in all, we particularly liked the restaurant...we like no frill restaurants with great food and this was perfect for us.

Room Tip: There is construction going on in the adjacent property, so try to get a room away from it and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balaji_231182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I just returned from celebrating my birthday at Solmar All Inclusive and I loved my experience. The services, rooms, pool, and FOOD were amazing. The staff is the BEST ever at customer service. The all inclusive deal is GREAT. Every dish that I enjoyed was great! I felt like I didn't want to leave the hotel because everything is so accomodating. When I go back to Cabo, without a doubt in my mind, I am going back to Solmar. I loved that I could have my 3 year old son and it was not a crazy wild party seen, although their were a lot of drink flowing. BEST and MOST relaxing birthday ever!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellieH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Used RCI Points: not disappointed. Yes, there is construction and yes, it is distracting. Solutions? First, ask for a room far away from it; staff will accommodate if possible (thanks, Raymundo). Second, take the shuttle to Playa Sol Mar or walk the 5 minutes to their pool area. No cost and no noise. Literally 3 blocks from the Marina and all it has to offer; but walk just a few blocks on and you find small shops, restaurants and more.

Back to Sol Mar: pool is nice, easy walk from the rooms. Good pool bar and Tejeban is a good place for dinner. La Roca, located on a different Sol Mar, is a golf cart shuttle away and a place you MUST dine at! Breakfast buffet is full of bright, fresh food and outstanding Mexican coffee...and fresh-squeezed orange, papaya and pineapple juices. For dinner, La Roca is a well-priced, 4 star experience. Wait staff has been well-trained on fine dining and the food? Fantastic! one of out best dinners EVER. really.

Staff of note: Erick, Cristina and Andres; friendly, ready-to-help. (special thanks to Cristina the concierge; she quickly solved a minor problem)

You will not be disappointed in Sol Mar.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed "away from the construction" and ask for an ocean view; we were here dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JStark50266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,707 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing