We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time at all-inclusive, great stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time at all-inclusive, great stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

First time at an all-inclusive...used a deal from Living Social...we were just a couple looking to get away from the grind for a few days; do something totally chill while having the option of ramping up with activities. This was a very good choice for that.

Don't be fooled...this isn't totally getting away. You'll be surrounded by people from other places, and a bunch from the SF Bay Area (like us), that are there to unwind. If you're looking for seclusion and get in touch with nature....beyond walking on the beach..you won't find it here.

But it was perfect for unwinding. The lunch menu seemed to offer the most diverse, as breakfast and dinner were limited to buffets. The all-inclusive does not include cocktails or liquor that include top-shelf spirits, but that didn't stop us from making sure the drinks were free-flowing. Food was great!

The rooms were clean, and restful. We were upgraded to a large suite which included a second full bathroom, a small kitchenette, and a 2nd balcony.

Generally the wait staff were helpful, even if they seemed to be overwhelmed at times resulting in slow service, but we weren't in any rush. I wonder if what we experienced is part culture clash also. Im from SF and when I order something, even if it's small, i sort of expect it to be addressed somewhat promptly. I think what we ran into was not bad service, but perhaps the laid back culture. At times, it took food and drinks almost 30 minutes to reach us. Think Speedy Gonzalez vs Slow Poke Rodriguez. Yet the service was always friendly and served with a smile.

Front office staff, bell staff were absolutely wonderful and helpful.

This place offers wonderful value and we'd definitely stay here when in Cabo again. Check out Missy S, review as well, as hers seemed to describe this place as we experienced it as well.

One last thing, suggest getting pesos at an ATM where you'll get an better exchange rate. This isn't a knock on Solmar, just a fact of life.

Room Tip: The Grand Solmar is currently under construction directly next door. You'll hear construction n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heavyjumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear customer;
We appreciate you for taking the time to express your experience with others. I offer you an apology due to the slow service you have received at times, you can be sure it is not due to a culture clash, thus I am working with my staff to improve it. By the other side I am glad to read you have encountered this place with a wonderful value. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    499
    188
    97
    52
See reviews for
312
778
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just got back from 7 days at Solmar. The place exceeded my expectations. From the front desk staff to the maids everyone was was so friendly and hospitable. Mary our housekeeper was there daily to freshen up the room , she made that place spotless and clean smelling. If you stay here I recommend a 1 bedroom two large size bathrooms make it nice. The food was very good we had a lot of sushi from the sushi bar. The only thing I would recommend is a better variety at breakfast. Too many carbs, but very delicious. Our bartenders at the pool bar were awsome my drink was never empty. Loved Jose Luis very funny, Moises and all of staff at the restaurants and pool bar. If you are looking for the 4 seasons this isn't the place for you, but if you want a worry free vacation it is excellent.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom on an upper floor for best view. Close to the pool less noise from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear customer from Placentia, California;
We thank you for your kind comments. It is our pleasure to read you have enjoyed your vacations and the warm service from our personnel. Thank you for your suggestions, I will work with my staff on them in order to full fill your expectations. Please do not wait too much to come back and allow us to pamper you as you deserve. Warm greetings from Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this trip as a quick, inexpensive get-away for the 4th of July weekend, and we were pleasantly surprised around every turn at the Solmar. The first surprise was a room upgrade to a lovely, spacious suite with two bathrooms, a living room, and a kitchen. The next surprise was the spacious, sparkling pool. We never once experienced a shortage of lounge chairs or the towel game that you’ll find at large all-inclusive resorts. What a relief! The way the pool is positioned, the afternoon sun hits the swim-up bar, so the afternoon was the perfect time to grab a snack and a drink in the pool. The service at the pool and restaurants was attentive and genuine. Our first night at dinner a buffet was served. Most of the dishes were fish-based, and neither of us loves fish. We asked if we could order chicken fajitas and our server said it was no problem at all. Dinner was served a la carte on the following two nights, and our meals were delicious. The flank stank was especially popular with a lot of the guests. Breakfast was also terrific, and I loved the omelet bar and French toast. I like good food and have been disappointed at other all-inclusives in the past, but that was not the case here!

Nicte-Xa at the front desk was wonderful and provided excellent customer service. Moises was our favorite server at the pool bar. He was always friendly, helpful, and on-point! Francisco was also great. The guys working at the front (helping with taxi’s and welcoming you back after a night out) are excellent. Their customer service and willingness to help out with anything and everything was much appreciated!

The location of this hotel was another great surprise. The walk to the marina is only a few minutes, so it makes exploring the town that much more convenient. I’ve stayed far from town before, and I can see now that this Land-End location is the way to go. It’s very likely that we’ll be back for a stay at Solmar all-inclusive or even one of its sister resorts (all located on the same strip of land). There was a nice breeze coming in off the ocean, but when we went into town the breeze disappeared- another reason the location was a big plus. There was construction going on, but it didn’t bother us one bit.

We love small boutique hotels with a personal feel, but for this trip we were also looking for an all-inclusive to make it an economical trip. We found the Solmar to be a nice blend of both worlds. THANK YOU to everyone at Solmar that made our trip so much fun!

Room Tip: Building D is central and faces the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoneyBeeMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear customer from Aliso Viejo, California;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with others. It is rewarding to read you have enjoyed your holiday. I am sharing your review with my staff, they are happy to know that their customer service is well appreciated for you. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in the short future. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall the resort was better than others I've been to. The pool bar was nice but could use an additional bartender when things start hopping. If you go get Damian as you waiter at the pool, he is outstanding and keeps up with your drinks, sometimes before you want another one it's there.

Menu is limited. It got old after 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdue79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear customer from Merrillville, Indiana;
We are pleased to read you have enjoyed the Resort and its amenities. Thank you for your suggestions and good thoughts about our staff. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you again in the short future. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tres Pinos, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just returned from Solmar--Playa Grande in Cabo San Lucas and may I say what a fabulous time we had! After 25 years of always vacationing with the kids we finally took our own vacation and "wow" does not justify this trip. The accommodations were superb and the pool area was perfect. This hotel is centrally located, with easy walking distance to the docks and shopping! We were given the best service from Fernando, he is so pleasant and fun to be around which just added to our trip...I think we've made a friend for life. We can't wait to return to visit this wonderful place and of course to see Fernando! And, we meet some amazing people that we'll never forget!

Tami
From California

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear customer from Tres Pinos, California;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your upgrade and the customer services from our personnel. We certainly look forward to your return visit in the near future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

SolMar was just Okay. We checked in and they stuck us in a room on the ground floor with a view right into the concrete wall of a facility that was being constructed next door. It was ugly, noisy, and depressing - especially if we were going to stay a week. I insisted that they give us another room. Which they did, but they charged us an additional $40 per night. Oh well. the new room had a great view of the pool and ocean from the top floor. Interesting though - they did not have a TV in the living room, only in the bedroom. We didn't sit around watching TV though so it was okay. Food was about average for resorts in Cabo. The staff was friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are away from the construction going on. Get a room on as high a floor as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear customer from Thousand Oaks, California;
We appreciate very much your comments; I am working with my staff to handled things differently in order to meet our customer’s expectations. I will be an honor to greet you here again and have the opportunity to provide you an even better experience. Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just returned from vacationing in Cabo for the first time. Our stay at Solmar was fabulous. The housekeepers, waiters, and staff were attentive and friendly. Don't expect a five star hotel, as it is one of the older hotels in Cabo. But you can expect good food, comfort, clean, great location and meticulous landscaping. It's a 5 minute walk to the Marina and 15 minutes to downtown. We would return to Solmar again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear customer from San Antonio, Texas;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are delighted to know you had a fabulous stay and you have enjoyed the friendliness from our personnel, our amenities and the charm of an authentic Mexican style resort. Certainly our location can´t be better offering privacy at just a few steps from down town. Certainly we will be looking forward to your return visit. Warm greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing