We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service but beware of CONSTRUCTION!!!!”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service but beware of CONSTRUCTION!!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Solmar by using a Living Social promotion for a 4 day/3 night trip. I have mixed feelings about the resort.

Pros:
-Amazing food
-Attentive and friendly staff (Jose Luis, Ernesto and Jose were awesome!)
-Walking distance to the marina
-Rooms were clean and large
-Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our fridge.

Cons:
-CONSTRUCTION!!! It was right outside of our room and went from 7am-7pm.
-Everything shut down at 10pm- no more food or drinks.
-It took a long time to get your food during the meals.
-Can't go into the water on the beach
-There were leaks in the second bathroom under the sink and in the shower

The fact the resort was all-inclusive did make the trip a lot easier but I don't think I would come back to this resort. We went to the Playa Grande to play mini-golf and the difference between the two resorts was astounding. I can't be too upset though because you get what you pay for.

The staff was excellent and it was a nice little trip. The biggest issue I had was with the construction so wasn't the "quiet getaway" I had been hoping for. I will probably not come back to this resort.

Room Tip: As for rooms close to the pool and as far away from the construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AOlax28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear customer from San Diego, California;
I thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations on this visit. I am sharing your service's comments with our staff they will be happy to know their efforts are well appreciated by you. You can be sure we will handle things differently in the future. Cordially Luis A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    519
    193
    98
    55
See reviews for
329
816
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After losing mom and dealing with many other family issues, getting away to Cabo was a welcome retreat. The Solmar fit the bill completely. Quiet, easy-going, friendly people at the pool, pleasant employees, good food and great weather made for an awesome break from the real world. Solmar is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of the big resorts. We went on a timeshare exchange and took the all inclusive package add on. That was worth it because we would have spent that much on one meal per day! We graciously got upgraded to a bigger room but that was due to some very loud construction right out everyone's window. They are building a more lavish and upscale timeshare resort next door and that was probably the only really bummer of the trip. But down by the pool it was a bit quieter and after a few margaritas, you forgot about the noise. The beach waves drown out all sounds. You cannot swim on the beach at Solmar. Too rough. We did hike down the beach and climbed over the rocks to Lover's Beach near the Arch. You can get in the water there. We took a day snorkle cruise and a sunset cruise...both lots of fun. We spent a day on Medano beach which is horribly crowded but a great place to drink up some tequila and stroll the beach. It seemed to be where all the tourists and young people party. Fun for a visit but glad to come back to quiet Solmar. We did not do the timeshare presentation after hearing from the other guests that the schpeel is longer than they say and the attitude is relentless. All to save a few bucks on a tour or massage? Forget it. Besides everyone in town is trying to sell you a timeshare too. HA JUST SAY NO to all the sales pitches at the airport, hotel, boardwalk and beach and you will have a great time! By the way, it is a medium distance walk to the downtown or you can take a cheap cab ride. That is great versus all the other resorts all the way out along the bay coast. A cab ride from the airport is $80!! So do your homework and get the shuttles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blingle200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear customer from Tucson, Arizona;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are glad to know you could escape a little from reality and you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again at the hotel soon. I'm sure you didn't get a chance to do everything on your list.
Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My Dad brought me to this resort for a little daughter/father time and I love everything about this resort. The sister resort, Playa Grande, is grand, but more geared towards families and being extravagant. Solmar delivers a staff who remembers your face, welcomes you personally every day and takes excellent care of you at all times. As a first time experience leaving the states, this was absolutely amazing. A "MUCHOS GRACIAS" to Moises, Jose, Damian, Ernesto, Cita and the rest of the incredible staff here!!! Hope to see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear customer from Puyallup, WA;
Thank you very much to you and your dad for considering our resort to spend your holidays together, definitely the best moments are the ones we share with our loved ones. We are delighted to know that our friendly staff has contributed to make your vacation memorable. Please come back soon, I'm sure still you have many things to do with your dad. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had an excellent time at this beachfront hotel on Lands End near El Arco, located walking distance to downtown (or a $6 cab ride per car full!). The staff were amazing, and props deserved for Activities Director Sandra, restaurant greeter Ernesto, and bar-master Oscar! The food was delicious and well-plated, and there was good value in the all-inclusive option. As I runner, I appreciated the sidewalk from the hotel entirely through downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave95050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear customer from Santa Clara, California;
We thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience with others. Nothing make us happier than read you have enjoyed the resort, its cordial staff and the all-inclusive program worth it for you. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

All the staff was very nice, and the all inclusive aspect was amazing. We were able to order whatever we wanted (other than lobster and top shelf liquor) and didn't have to worry about being charged for it. This took a lot of the pressure off of having to order things based on prices. The food was excellent and always had beautiful plating. The room was gorgeous too and the bed was a king that was very comfortable. The landscaping is kept immaculate and the grounds are very beautiful. The swim up bar is a really nice touch to the pool. The only bad things I have to say are that because it is all inclusive (tips included too), the wait staff tends to take their time and sometimes we felt like they forgot about us. We did tip extra to try and get them to serve us quicker, but it didn't always work. Sitting down to eat a meal ended up taking at least 45 minutes because of this. The second thing that we didn't really like was that you had to sign a "bill" after every meal. All you have to do is sign it, but even if you ordered just a bottle of water, you had to wait for them to bring you the "bill". This wasn't a big deal, as we learned just to ask for the bill as we ordered a drink. This was just a small annoyance that kept us from leaving whenever we were done eating or drinking.

So if you have a little bit of patience, this place is awesome.

Room Tip: You need at least 45 minutes to sit down and eat a meal. Rooms near entrance require a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear customer from Milwaukee, Wisconsin;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I've put my staff on alert about the issue you mentioned; our goal is your complete satisfaction. At the same time we are glad to read you have enjoyed your All-inclusive program and the resort amenities. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had booked 4 different rooms for our family vacation at incredible prices, but that meant the reservations were unchangeable and the locations were not committed until our arrival. I always do LOTs of reading on Trip Advisor and was prepared for the dated bathrooms, but was a little nervous about not having firm commitments on the location of the rooms until our arrival. I needn't have worried. They took great care of us. They couldn't book all the rooms together (in fact, we ended up being very far apart, but that was OK with us because it allowed us to explore almost all of the resort). Since we were far apart, they offered us the 2-bedroom penthouse suite in exchange for 2 of the rooms and allowed us to preview it before deciding. It was the top floor of the very middle building and had a great view!! There was a large kitchen with full size appliances (cook-top, fridge, microwave, but no oven--we didn't need one anyway), dining table with seating for 6, and a large living area with large couch and loveseat. The master suit had 2 bathrooms (his and hers), and the 2nd bedroom suit (on the other side of the living area) had a single, but very large bathroom. The kicker was the triple balcony! Beautiful views from the top floor of the main building. I would warn others with small children, however, that we worried about our 4-year old grandson the entire time. The railings are very low and very far apart, so someone had to be with him at all times when he was on the balcony. Same type of railings on the walkways to the rooms, so we never felt comfortable letting him run ahead of us or look over the balconies on his own. Not too much of a problem, but we always made sure he was within arm's reach.

Yes, the bathrooms are dated, but they are VERY large and they had a lighted make-up mirror in mine, which I appreciated. The tubs were so big, they almost felt too big -- several in our group said it was almost like a small pool. lol The beds were also HUGE--nice when our grandson stayed in our room with us--he usually kicks one of us all night long, but we never felt him in this bed it was so big :)

Daughter & hubby had a 1 bedroom suite to the right of the resort if you're looking at the ocean. It was very nice, similar kitchen to ours, and the same bathroom setup as in our master suite. They had a private entrance to their room and path straight from their room to the beach. Son & girlfriend had a junior suite and it was the least desirable of all the rooms, to the left of the resort if facing the ocean. It had a mini fridge instead of a full fridge, did not have a separate bedroom (had a couch that a small child could sleep on), and was right by the construction. HOWEVER, even with being that close, they took a nap in the middle of the day, in the middle of the week when workers were in full force and they said the noise did not disturb them.

I appreciate the way the staff at Solmar treated us from our arrival until our departure. Valets were quick to bring our cars and I used the business office to print our boarding passes the day of our departure. I wish I could remember names, but unfortunately, I can't. The manager gave us free drink tickets and sent up a food tray to compensate for the rooms being far apart from one another. I had done research before about discounts for activities and needed to get vouchers from Los Cabos Magazine. The concierge was very accommodating and gave me excellent directions on how to get there.

Overall, the Solmar was just what we needed and expected for this trip. If you look at the pictures here on TripAdvisor, you will know what to expect. I will say that we visited the Playa Grande, and it was VERY beautiful (much closer to the type of resort that we usually stay at, but taking the whole family this time, we chose to save on the accommodations -- we weren't disappointed). The Playa also had more activities going on at the pool and our grandson enjoyed playing with the other children there, so we used the free shuttle to go there several days. Overall, the staff deserve 5 stars. The accommodations other than the bathroom decor deserves 4.5 stars. The bathrooms are probably a 2.5 -- having so many was great, but not much counter space and the tile was uncomfortable in the tub and uuuugly (didn't bother me, tho). Hey, you're in Cabo, just relax and enjoy the beautiful sound of the crashing waves!!

Room Tip: Obviously, the higher the better for the view -- there was an elevator in the building we were in, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLoverfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear customer from Louisiana;
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. I am glad to know our personnel took good care of you to make your family vacations memorable. We appreciate the 5 stars you provide us on service, this show the commitment we have to fulfill our customers’ expectations. It will be my pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in your next visit to Cabo. Warm regards. Luis A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

all the staff at the solmar were friendly helpful and resourceful. We had excellent service and food. Ernesto, Daniel, Samuel, Raul, Francisco, Manuel and Sandra were great!!! The hotel is in the perfect location!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear customer from Los Angeles, California;
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. It is gratifying to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and our friendly staff has contributed to this. It would be a pleasure to greet you here again on your next visits to Cabo. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,674 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing