We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time off to truly relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar Resort to your Saves list
Solmar Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER DEAL BOOK NOW
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“time off to truly relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed time to relax , because we both work a lot in stressful environments. We definitely wanted to avoid party animals or loud music. We chose to stay at Solmar. We enjoyed it, great choice! The resort is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The food is delicious, it's not a buffet where it's all you can eat, which makes it better. The dinning area is not crowed or loud. Having my cup of coffee while enjoying the beautiful sight of the ocean. Very calming and soothing. Our room was located at 3 minutes walk from the beach, where the waves are spectacular and delightful! We slept with the patio opened every night to the sound of the waves. Very pleasant! During April, it can get very windy, but mild to hot temperatures. So everyday was comfortable end enjoyable. We will definitely come back for a 3rd time!
I would recommend this place to any couple that needs to reconnect on some levels.... :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn2352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear customer from Montreal, Canada;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others! It is a pleasure for us to know you have found the perfect place to relax, definitely the ocean waves, sunsets and all these natural beauties that the Pacific Ocean offer us from this piece of paradise, allow to leave the stress aside. Thank you for your constant visits, it will be a pleasure for us to greet you here once again and provide you an even better experience. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    447
    160
    91
    52
See reviews for
258
669
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We purchased the LivingSocial all-inclusive package for our honeymoon. Solmar is kept very clean and the service is nice. We slept like babies in the king size bed, very comfortable. Upon arrival we have chocolate covered strawberries and champagne waiting for us. The hotel is dated but we loved the "true" mexican vibe. With the all inclusive you also get dinner at Puerto San Lucas restaurant and a shuttle there. This restaurant is AWESOME! There was a gentleman playing piano. They made fresh caesar salad right in front of us. I'd recommend you do not pass that up.
The beach at Solmar isn't swimmable but that's because it puts on a gorgeous show. The waves are huge and we stayed at the back of the resort and could hear them crash all night. So wonderful! We walked down the beach and climbed the rocks to Lovers Beach. This was a bit scary as the rocks at the bottom have a little sand on them but once you get over it's easier going down. Lovers beach is so great and swimmable. There are little caves you can explore.
We rented scooters for a day and drove them around town. We really enjoyed that. Everyone drives slow. Locals don't fully mind the "ALTO" (stop) signs and some cross streets have none so you just have to be careful. They're about $15/hr and $50/day but of course you can bargain with anyone there. That's off topic, I know, but when reading reviews I was looking for something about scooters and could barely find anything.
The food was good. We liked the snack bar the best at the top pool. They taste test their margaritas before they hand them out. They were perfect every time! The shrimp quesadillas with fresh guac and pico was DELICIOUS. I think I ordered that 3-4 times. Also, the surf and turf skewers were divine! My husband really liked the Sushi bar.
We really liked the location because it was quiet and you could hear the waves. When we drove our scooters through town at night there were TONS of drunk people and loud music. We were really glad to sleep away from that.
Overall, our experience was absolutely wonderful and we have no bad memories of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unmitigatedboor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear customer from Houston, Texas USA;
We thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your honeymoon, congratulations!! It is our pleasure to read you have enjoyed our secluded location as well as the amenities from your "Living Social" promotion. Please comeback soon and allow us to pamper you as you deserve. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our 3rd of 4th time stayijg at Solmar. The food is good although the portions are small. The resort ran out of bottled water the last day and a half we were there, although it could be purchased at the mini mart. Hmmm.....it's a great location, but will think twice before staying there again.

Room Tip: The older part of the hotel needs to be updated, but the rooms are clean, towels are changed out dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseypeople6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear customer from Trenton, New Jersey;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I would like to offer you an apology due to the atypical situation you had on the bar, I am working to avoid this happen again. By the other side we are glad you have enjoyed the Resort´s location. We hope to be honored with your visit once again and provide an even better experience. Cordially Luis A. Resident manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Fabulous room ! clean , BIG & great ocean view from every angle. Free parking for our rental car in an under ground gaurage. Jose Luis at the upper pool bar was GREAT ! even brought me out a special desert on my birthday after dinner at his pool side bar/cafe. David , with our bag service & rental car retrival. He had the air-conditioner on full blast for maximum confort once we slipped in to our car. Anahi, at the lower pool bar was all over the place . She was always smiling & pulling up the slack when small familys or low key university kids would show up. She would even walk down to the cabanas, in deep sand mind you, for coctail service on the beach ! Thomas , one of the mgr. was always checking on us to see if everything was going perfect. Talking biz venures with him was my favorite. Food , very good; not great but, for what we wanted it was a great fit. The grounds are very clean & tighty. Not super luxury, but a place to call home EVERY TIME YOU COME TO CABO.....

Room Tip: Don't be affraid to get one of the upper floors. Quite & stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear customer from San Diego, Ca. USA;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to read you have enjoyed your vacations and the facilities from the resort; certainly this is an icon in Cabo with an authentic Mexican charm. Your kindly comments regarding our personnel are gladly appreciated. They will be happy to read that their service has contributed to create good memories on your vacation. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you again as our guest. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just returned on Monday from 4 nights at the Solmart Resort. We purchased our vacation from a Living Social voucher. Check-in was easy and pretty quick. They do one "time share" pitch right when you arrive and invite you to a breakfast (which you do not have to attend). That was the only timeshare pitch at the resort.

This place is a solid B-. It's not fancy, but it's clean and the staff are friendly. There is only one restaurant and the food choices are limited. But for breakfast and lunch, it's fine and it's all included in your price. Be aware, however, that the wait staff DOES expect tips, although it's stated that it's included in your all inclusive price.

The wait staff at the pool is very good. Vicente is the best! Friendly, sweet and works his tail off! We tipped him daily because of the great service.

There are two pools - the main or "loud" pool and the quiet pool above. Sandra, the activities gal is great and has something going on daily at the pool if you are interested.

The studio room is small, but clean. Two beds took up most of the room. We had two small balconies, one of which looked out over the ocean. We even saw whales one afternoon.

Overall, if I was looking for an inexpensive vacation (minus my child), I would go back. I would not bring my child and there were few to no kids during our stay. It's a much more adult environment, especially with the all inclusive - adults drinking all day and children do not mix. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more than two people, I would recommend the room upgrade from the studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimKrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear customer from Portland, Oregon; USA:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your vacation and our staff has provided you a great service. On this season whales add a spectacular touch to the beauty spots of the Pacific Ocean you can enjoy from your balconies, we are glad to know you have enjoyed this. We will be honored with your visit once again and allow us to provide an even better experience. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a great time at the Solmar. We really enjoyed all of the food! Especially the sushi (Cilantro roll & spicy tuna), Yucatan Ceviche (spicy!), French toast, fajitas, hamburgers and the nachos. All of the food does take a while, so order right away and enjoy the view! Everyday we ate our breakfast with an excellent view of the beach. The drinks come a little faster, so waiting was never a problem for us. You just need to plan ahead when you are poolside(order your food as soon as you arrive). They could use another waiter around the pool, but we loved that food and waiter service was provided around the pool. We have never experienced that at other all-inclusives(usually you have to go to the food and get out of the pool). We felt very spoiled! The drinks were all pretty good. We felt the food and drinks were better at the Trebjol bar near the upper pool. Your food was made to order up there and right in front of you! The waiters and staff were all very friendly and helpful! One tip I would give them is to serve appetizer items first and then work on the main dishes. Also, Orbitz said tips were included which was not the case. They definitley expect you to tip, so bring some cash or just add it to your room. And yes you have to sign each time you eat, but once again just plan ahead. If you're done ordering let them know right away to bring your bill. When we were pool side we only had to sign once at the end of the afternoon, so it wasn't a big deal. I did see them forcing others to sign more often.
The resort is older and has a more authentic feel than the neighboring resorts. It is also much smaller, so you get to know people and staff around the resort. We liked being so close to the beach and we had a great view. You could hear the waves crashing and yes it would shake our sliding glass door. We found it was better to the leave the door open at night, so we would hear the waves but not the rattling. I would not recommend this resort if you are a light sleeper. We loved the large bathtub/shower!
There are a lot of stairs and our room was right above the upper pool, so it was a short walk to the main restaurant and pool. I enjoyed the walk, especially considering all we were consuming.
We enjoyed walking the beach and did the walk/climb over to Divorce and Lovers beach and then all the way back around the resort. It was really nice and no taxi required! Just where good climbing shoes and bring a little tip $. We also went to the Puerto San Lucas restaurant on our last night and it was lovely. The piano player is great and the clam chowder, Caesar salad, bread and martinis were excellent! I would highly recommend going just for a change of menu.
We also went down to the Playa Grande one morning and enjoyed a change of scenery. Plus the pools were warmer! There are a lot more families over there. We also checked out he Grand Solmar one evening and their pools were almost like jucuzzis!
We saw no kids at the Solmar- only a 14 year old. We appreciated that, since we left our kids at home. We loved our stay and would return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear customer from Fontana, CA;
Thank you very much for having chosen our resort to celebrate such special occasion, congratulations! It is our pleasure to know you had enjoyed your holiday and the amenities from the resort have been according to your expectations. Nothing could make us happier than our customer’s satisfaction. What a beautiful pictures you took from this piece of paradise, thank you for share them. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience, Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a great long weekend at Solmar! It was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We both had spa treatments, expecting it to be ok...as they don't rely on repeat clientele. It was amazing we both went back while we were there. The food service and waiting for our check was a bit slow and probably the only thing we didn't like.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear customer from Minneapolis;
Greetings from Cabo!! We appreciate very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. It is rewarding to read you had a wonderful time with us and have enjoyed our spa services, I am sure there are many other treatments you might try next time you be here. Please do not wait too long to provide us the privilege of your visit. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
#21 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#14 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#27 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing