We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the solar December 2012, staff were very good, easy walk to the main restaurant, bar areas in the marina. Very safe in Cabo. If you don't have all inclusive it is a little pricey at the bars aan restaurants at the solmar. You cannot swim in the ocean at this resort, you need to cab, water taxi or hike over some pretty large rock formations

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skogeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear customer;
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to know our staff have provided you a very good services and you have found the resort with a great value. Please do not wait too much to come back it will be our pleasure to see you here again. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    526
    196
    98
    56
See reviews for
338
825
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This resort is a nice mix of "get away from it all" and "in the heart of the city". We (a couple 30-ish in age) stayed for 5 nights and had an awesome time. We didn't take real advantage of the all inclusive-ness of the resort because we are more the adventurous types. We hiked, rock climbed, snorkeled, swam, para-sailed, beach combed, party cruised, and enjoyed the night life of Cabo all within walking distance (2 miles) of the resort. And at the end of the day, we were able to sleep in a serene, quiet, peaceful, comfortable room.
We did take advantage of breakfast and late lunch daily. The service and food were great. Octavio at the sushi bar made our late lunch every day. He is really a great guy and an excellent sushi chef. I would rate him 6 stars.
We tried the dinner the first night and they must have been having a bad night because service was poor and the food came out cold. It really didn't matter because we planned on hitting the "big city" for dinner at night anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Chris R. from San Diego;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort. I am taking action to ensure the standard of food and service at dinner. We are pleased to know that our sushi chef has walked the extra mile to serve you as you deserve. Certainly our secluded location without be far away from down town allow our customers to mix tranquility and action if they desire. Thank you again for your comments; it will be our pleasure to greet you here again. Best Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We picked Solmar by reading reviews, and the all-inclusive option.We had a amazing time at Solmar and can not wait to come back. The staff were very nice and could help enough with any needs that we had. we had an amazing view every morning and sunset of the whales. We couldn't recommend this hotel enough. We have been home a week and are already planning a trip back with our family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear customer from Burleson Texas, USA;
Thank you very much for your kind comments! We are pleased to know that the reviews on the net and the all-inclusive program have been very helpful to plan your vacation. Our staff is happy to know that we have contributed to make your holiday a memorable. Please come back soon with your family, it will be our pleasure to host you again. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Solmar All Inclusive resort and it surpassed our expectations. Between all of us we had four rooms and every room had a great view of the ocean, they were big, clean, and comfortable. The pool was awesome and the pool bar was really cool. The drinks were good and they didn't skimp on the alcohol! The Solmar hotels were located kind of separate from all the other hotels in the area which was great. It was quiet and beautiful.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. It does take a long time for food and drinks to come once you've ordered them but that wasn't a problem at all. We didn't mind chatting and looking out at the ocean while our food came.
The food was good for the price we paid. The french toast, hot chocolate, sushi, and bloody marys were the four best food/drink items I had. We only ate one meal outside of the resort and it was SOOO expensive. We didn't mind at all eating three meals a day at the resort. You could choose from a pretty big menu of items in the restaurant, have a sandwich or other lunch items from the snack bar, or have sushi. We didn't get bored of anything.
This was the perfect place to stay if you are on a budget. All food and drinks included and were good. Great hotel and amenities. And it didn't cost too much at all. We hiked over the rocks to Lovers Beach which was amazing and quite an adventure. Go early in the morning (like 7am) so you can get back before the tide is too high. Wear sneakers!! It's not necessarily an easy climb! But totally worth it when you get there and great exercise.
There was ONE complaint while we were there. Our bathroom smelled of sewer the second to last day we were there. We called downstairs and they sent someone up to fix it. It really wasn't that bad and wouldn't prevent me from visiting again.
Great resort!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMHink15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear customer from Denver Colorado, USA;
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Solmar Resort. Thank you for your comments regarding the plumbing, we are working on it. By the other side, we are pleased to read that we have exceeded your expectations and that the All Inclusive program worth it for you. Certainly the location of the Resort offers privacy and quiet without being far from the city. Once again we thank you for your visit, it will be an honor to host you again and serve you as you deserve. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We selected Solmar All Inclusive by reading reviews. My husband has never been to Mexico, and was not very enthusiastic when we scheduled the trip. By the time we left Solmar, he was planning his next trip to Mexico. I would not change a thing about our hotel. The service was great, everything was clean and well taken care of. We rarely ate out because the food at the hotel was so wonderful. We loved the beauty of the beach and the thunder of the waves on the sand. The location was also great. We had a short walk to the Marina or down town. It was less than a 10 minute walk to get a water taxi to Medano Beach for a lively party scene. Next, I plan to encourage my parents to go to Cabo with us.

Room Tip: Some rooms had better views, and there was some construction noise on the West Side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Jamie S. from Coeur d'Alene, Idaho;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments on Solmar Resort experience. We are pleased to know that the service of our staff, facilities and location of the resort has been of your total satisfaction. We are looking forward to your visit in the near future, please bring your parents on your next visit, you will be very welcome. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for a week and chose the resort based on other trip advisor and expedia reviews. It is rated as a three star; however, the location is incredible, the meals are fantastic, the drinks are delicious, and the service was amazing! We really enjoyed listening to the crashing waves of the Pacific as we lounged poolside with delicious food and drinks. It was removed from the business of the strip of hotels along Medano beach located on a very private stretch of sandy beach on the Pacific side. Despite the seemingly remote, fairly quiet, but beautiful location it was a short walk to the Marina and town. We were upgraded to a one bedroom corner unit suite that has the most incredible ocean views from virtually every window and two of the three balconies! I would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in G tower and were not bothered at all by the construction noise of the new facility bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tedzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear customer;
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the service of our staff and the facilities and location of the Resort have been of your total satisfaction. Certainly the privacy of the beach allows total relaxation without being away from downtown Cabo. Nothing will make us happier that have the opportunity to host you again in the short future. Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been spending time in Cabo since 1994 and have stayed at the "old Solmar" for about a month for the past 19 years. Like all of the other "old Solmar owners", we are unhappy about the changes taking place, but understand that it is progress. We were lucky to have all those wonderful years at this wonderful place. Solmar has been our winter home along with many of our Solmar friends. We have met some of the most wonderful people in our years there and look forward to seeing them at the same time every year. We all would like it to stay the same but know it is changing and we are holding on to our Solmar culture until the very end. There are people who come and stay and week and think it is not as fancy as some of the other hotels, but it has history and a culture developed over the last 20 years by the owners and staff that work together to make it our home away from home. Some of those special people are Nicte-xa, our manager. Juan and Andres, our bell man along with Dave and Gerinomo. Our wonderful maids Martha and Gloria. We are card players and Gloria went out of her way to get us a cloth for our table, what a nice treat for us. Nicte-xa has helped us in too many ways to name but she always makes sure that we are happy and takes very good care of us. She is a treasure and we hope she never leaves. Old Solmar is the best place and we love it's environment and atmosphere. We know that some day we will have to lose it but we hope not too soon. We stay at Playa Grande some times but always prefer to go to Solmar. We hope that we never have to move from this lovely place and plan to keep spending our winter months there.
CABO LADY

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but keep in mind that the ones around the pool can hear pool noise. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabooldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear customer;
We are at Solmar immensely grateful for your preference over all these years. Certainly Solmar has been characterized by its friendly, warm welcome to our guests and I'm glad to read that our staff has done its best to meet your expectations and keep that spirit of service that characterizes the Solmar family. We are looking forward to your next visit on winter to welcome and serve you as you deserve. Anything you might need please do not hesitate to contact us. Cordially; Luis A. Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,709 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing