We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly experience!”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Walla Walla, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly experience!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our entire family of 12 just returned from a family Christmas vacation at Solmar. This was my husband's and my first time in Cabo and what a fantastic experience! This was in large part due to the amazingly helpful, warm, and friendly staff at the Solmar Resort. We want to name just a few, however this doesn't limit our list, but are just a few names that stand out: office - Edmundo and Javier were ALWAYS cheerful, friendly, and helpful; activities- Patti Winkler who spent countless, PATIENT hours in activities for our grandchildren; restaurant - Tomas (the very warm and friendly man in charge), Daniel, Samuel, Diego (young and happy!), Vincente (poolside) and many more; the beautiful and VERY friendly lady in charge of the spa (I am embarrassed, but don't have her name) - all three adult females had the BEST massages; Marcos the fishing expedition expert (all four adult males in our family had an exciting and successful fishing experience); last, but certainly not least, our rooms were kept emaculately daily (beds even turned down in the evening!) even with artistically folded towels and toilet paper! It all was wonderful!! The food was always delicious and presented elegantly. They had special buffets several times, including Christmas Eve and Christmas dinners, each with entertainment and a pinata for the children. The Mexican buffet night food was delicious and the entertainment (dancing) was amazing! The only slightly negative thing was the restaurant and poolside service was often slow.

Thank you so much to ALL at Solmar. We will recommend you to all and any of our friends and anyone who reads this review!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Kathy R. from Walla Walla, Washington;

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your first visit to Solmar and Cabo. It is nice to read that our personnel have done everything possible to make your vacations a memorable experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    525
    195
    98
    56
See reviews for
336
824
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I spend 4 days at the resort over christmas 2012. This was our first taste at staying at an all inclusive resort, and Solmar did not disappoint. We had booked the flight and resort through expedia. When we reached on the 21st Dec around midnight, we were given room 2152. It is a junior suite, and extremely small. It almost felt like the walls would collapse on us.( yes i am a little claustrophobic).The next morning we went to the front desk and asked for an upgrade ( the deal we had got on expedia entitled us to one free room upgrade). We were promptly given a new room, 2242, and this one was perfect, Almost twice in size and had the most breathtaking view. It overlooked onto the main pool with the swim up bar and then the pacific , with the tejaban's beautiful thatched roof to our left. If you get a chance make sure you get one of these rooms . 2242, 2243, 2241.
We mostly ate at Tejaban. The food is all made to order , and it tastes absolutely sublime! I am from Northern california and i have had my share of mexican food , the food at solmar was way superior than i have had anywhere. The service was very slow thought, time to bring the food after ordering could well stretch upto 40 min to an hour. So make sure you always have enough time in hand for these meals. We also tried the snacks at the Trebol Bar. Again the food is superb. Must try items include the fish fingers with tarter sauce, chicken skewers, calamari and shrimp fries. Some more food items that we were in love with are as follows:
Breakfast - Omelet factory
eggs benedict
waffles with coconut icecream
for dinner: chicken with vegetables- soft and delicious
Fish fillet with sea food.
Fettuccine marinara- one of the best i have ever had.
And for desert the chocolate cake is an absolute must. my husband loved the flan too.
What really stood out was the young men who made and brought us our food. They were so endearing, jovial, hard working , we were very touched. I have to mention some of my favorite names here:
Diego- filled up my coffee each morning, thanks Diego.
Placido- served us some beautiful snacks at the Trebol bar.
Javier- very good looking young lad. We had mistaken him for Shia Le bauf:)
Emmanuel.
Raul
Tomas- the restaurant manager was great
Jose.
Julio.- always with a smile.
Thanks you all for the beautiful experience, you are the reason we shall be back soon.
One tip is to stay away from all time share reps, including at the airport right after you cross customs and baggage. Just ignore them and you will be ok.

The beach - is private with no vendors, very peaceful, especially to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. However the beach is NOT SWIMMABLE because of the crashing waves. So if your primary purpose is to swim you might not want to stay here, The closes swimmable beach is a 10 min walk from the resort. We both dont mind walking, so we went down to swim almost all of the day s.
Also, if you want to do activities like whale watching, and paragliding and stuff you will have to go down to the marina, which is about 15 min walk from the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveLover1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear customer from Mountain View, California, USA;

Greetings from Cabo! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your experience at Solmar and the benefits of the "all inclusive" program. The fact of cook the meals “a la carte” gives our customers the freshness and good taste of the food. It is nice to know our personnel has worked to serve you as you deserve.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to host you again..

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driscoll, ND 58532
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the Solmar in CSL, Mexico over Thanksgiving. It was very clean and everyone was so helpful. The food was excellent and the staff at the resaurant were so much fun and so attentive. We attended the Mexican Fiesta on Sunday evening. It was Fantastic - all the beautiful attire and singing and dancing and great food!! The grounds were beautifully kept and out suite was so comfortable. The view from our balcony was so nice with the view of the ocean. We met visitors from all over the United States and many were repeat customers. It was such a fun, relaxing place to stay. We will definately be back. Thanks to everyone that made this vacation so much fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyvacation001pjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear customer from Driscoll, ND;
It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your vacations and the service and attention from our personnel. Thank you for your comments regarding the food and Mexican fiesta, our goal is to help you to create wonderful memories on your vacations. Please do not wait too much to return and allow us to provide you an even better service at Solmar Rersort.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited the Solmar Beach Club for the second time and we loved how clean and well cared for the place is. When we checked in it was not as comfortable as last year. There was one girl that was checkng us in and being in Mexico many times we always want to see our room first. Just in case. Well that was a problem for her. So the bell man (great guy) took us up to see the room and it over looked the roofs with a sliver of an ocean view. We like to go this time of year (Dec.) because it is very quiet and not many people at the hotel. We came back to the Front Desk and told her that wasn't going to work. So as we expected we get the " There are no other rooms available and to up grade would be another $280.00. We asked to see the manager, "The manger is off until tomorrow. OK, what is thier name and how do you spell it?" That was what it took and on the phone she was and upgraded us at no charge to a nice room. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth and then you must talk with the Timeshare lady. I wasn't having that so my husband took care of it and said we aren't buying and NO THANK YOU !! The charges started adding up $60.00 for internet for the week it was part of the all-inclusive. They serve your meals to order and the food is great but now they are starting to do more buffett style. We understand the economy is hitting everyone but we didn't expect to pay for the cost of helping with the construction of the Grande Solmar. It is very Grande but we like the authentic small hotels. We understand it will be torn down to make room for more buildings at the Grande Solmar. But not for a while. The service at the restaurant was usually about 45 minutes for your meal. The staff was mostly curtious and Thomas was always on top of things at the restaurant. Loved Vince, smiles for ever and Patty the Activities Director was great, what an asset. We will be moving on, so sad. Thank you again for sharing your beach and staff with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Ms. Candy R. from Oregon City, Oregon;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar during your last trip to Cabo.

I met with our front desk manager and took actions regarding her staff. Winter is the busiest season in Cabo nevertheless we would like to have happy customers in Solmar by hosting in the best locations available.

Our goal to implement a Mexican buffet on Sundays with a ballet and live music and a seafood one on Thursdays is to offer more variety of meals to our customers. Besides to those buffets our customers can still order a la carte.

By the other side I am happy to know that the restaurant staff with Tomas have provided you a good customer service.

Once thank you for your feedback. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Have been to Cabo before but this was the first time at Solmar. Just what we were looking for! Had a fab suite, service was over the top, and very private. Everyone there was amazing, but have to point out Teresa at the front desk and Gilbert at the poolside bar. They were outstanding in every way!!! Love y'all!!! Thanks for making our trip Great! XO

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear customer from Dallas, Texas;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort!
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations and the customer services from our personnel, especially from the registration desk and pool service. Thank you again for your visit, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the short future!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hola! We stayed at the Solmar Nov 30th -Dec 9th. We had a fabulous trip! Before arriving I was in e-mail contact with Luis the resort manager. He was helpful and welcoming in every way. It was finally nice to meet you Luis! We were not asked more than once to attend a time share presentation. I liked that!!!
We had room #2483 and it was perfect! A breath taking view and we could hear the waves crashing at night. I could see the construction next door at The Grand Solmar but it did not take away from our view one bit. We also found that the noise was not as bad as I thought it might be from reading the past reviews. I loved the pool and found our perfect spot to spend our days. Right in front of the jacuzzi facing the ocean. Once again the noise from next door did not disturb us. We were to busy enjoying ourselves and the people around us.I kept asking myself "What is everyone complaining about so much? Really..some people you just can not make happy ..no mater what!" We had the all inclusive, which was my first time doing that. I loved it! Everything was made to order. Everything we had was great! The sushi is up there with with some of the best I have had. I can't say anything bad about the food. It was all wonderful. Pizza, Mexican, American. We had 2 dinners at the resort. One was fish that my husband caught and the other was our last night. We had breakfast and pool food mostly. My husband caught Dorado's and the restaurant cooked them 3 different ways for us. It was de-lish! Thank You Tomas for arranging that and setting up a beautiful table for us overlooking the ocean! We really enjoyed the staff and they welcomed us smiling everyday. It seemed as if they were enjoying our company as much as we were theirs. I miss their smiling faces! Tomas you were wonderful. Can't say enough about you! Thanks to the pool guys Vincente and Gilbert! You were so much fun!! What a smile Gilbert has! Gonzo behind the bar did a great job. Salvador took care of us at every breakfast! All I can say is that we had wonderful service, a great room and a fabulous vacation. Thank You everyone at the Solmar. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: High floor facing the pools and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoveCaboxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Greetings from Cabo!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar Resort.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your suite, the ocean view and the customer service from our personnel, you deserve this and more!

You are right, the pacific ocean offer us a beautiful spots and good fishing opportunities, we are glad to know your husband has had a good fishing.

Once again thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your holidays. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
803 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,026 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room itself was decent. We had a 1 bedroom unit on the ground level which was great for my elderly mother.

The bad news is that when you have a darn construction zone going 5 feet from your window it makes for reading a book on the balcony or taking a nap impossible.

They should have taken this room out of service during construction but during high season they will sell any darn room to get money.

I have been to SolMar before and will come back but this was not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,700 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing