We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got back 2 days ago, we stayed here at the Solmar all inclusive for the 2nd year in a row. Last year we stayed 8 days this year 11 because we didn't get our fill. We love it. yes, some things have changed there, the shrimp wasn't as big as last year and they seem to have reduced the portions and the menu a bit. but you can eat and drink anything and everything you want anytime of the day if you have the all inclusive. the location is fantastic! yes the timeshare people are a big pain, but you just have to tell them NO!! Yes the construction is a bit annoying but not that bad. we love the Solmar and would go back in a heartbeat!! we are so sad to be home!! Thanks Solmar for a wonderful vacation...Anna and Larry

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Ms. Anna Marie S.;

Greetings from Cabo!!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Solmar Resort.
Really we thank you for your preference, it is nice to know you have had a wonderful vacation, you deserve this and more. You can be sure we will do our best to keep you returning again and again to this your second home.

Once again thank you for having stayed at Solmar Resort and do not wait too much to come back and allow us to pamper you as you deserve.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    510
    188
    97
    54
See reviews for
315
792
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights, 6 days at the Solmar Resort in Cabo San Lucas. It was wonderful! I am already planning our next stay.

Let’s start with the pro’s about Solmar-

The location! It is located on a beautiful beach, very quiet. At night the only sound you heard was the waves of the ocean. You can walk right off of the pool/restaurant area and a few steps down is the beach. You can’t swim on this beach but the waves are still incredible to watch. The food is fantastic! For being an all inclusive we were really impressed. They only have 1 restaurant for the all inclusive but it has a pretty varied menu. They do have snack and sushi bar that is also part of the all inclusive. You do have to sign for every meal, soda, drink etc. which I thought was odd but don’t worry, you are not being charged. The hotel just needs a way to keep track of what you order, as well as give you plenty of opportunities to include gratuity. The atmosphere at Solmar is quiet and extremely laid back. If you are looking for the party Cabo scene then you should stay elsewhere! The best part of the stay for us was the relaxing pace. The other great thing about Solmar is that you can walk to downtown Cabo in about 10 minutes. So if the quiet got too much for us we could walk and find some spice. The rooms are older but have a cute Mexican charm.

If you plan on spending the day at the pool look up Vincente. He was one of the best pool side waiters we have had on a trip.

The con’s-

Yes, there is construction going on next door while they are building the Grand Solmar. Yes, you can hear it while you are outside, but they stop about 7pm and don’t start until about 8-9am. Inside our room we couldn’t hear the construction, and while outside by the pool we learned to tune it out. If you are a person who is extremely noise sensitive then you may not want to stay here, for us it was no big deal.

Yes, you will get passed over to the Solmar’s timeshare representative for the Grand Solmar upon checkin. We just had to keep telling her no, and would sign up for trips with the concierge when she wasn’t in the lobby. If we visited the concierge while she was there she would try and push a timeshare trip on us and offered to give us our trips at a discounted rate. If you are not interested in a timeshare tour you just have to keep telling them no, and yes it can be a bit frustrating at times.

Overall we had a wonderful time at Solmar and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ishinmiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES, CALIF.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived at the at the Solimar Beach Resort on Saturday Sept. 15 after battling through the time share agents at the airport. After our shuttle dropped us off at the Solimar Beach Resort we where told by 2 workers the resort was closed. Even though we have had reservations for over 4 months the management never had the courtesy to notify us of the situation. Another shuttle was called and we where moved to the Playa Grande. Upon on arriving there they seemed to have some confusion on if we were to be there. Then after check-in we where sent over to meet a young lady who was going to give us cards so we could get towels at the pool...this turned into a ploy to try to get us to sign up for a time share presentation, I ended up getting mad because We were there just to relax not to waste time being pressured by a time share sales person. After about 5 minutes of both Rosa and myself stating that there was NOTHING that could be offered to us that would make us sit though a presentation the young lady finally gave us our towel card and we headed for room. From this point on the vacation took an up swing..we found the room beautiful , the view of the ocean and surf fantastic, the location of our room quite and staff very friendly and helpful. We did have a very restful and fun time we just wish we did not have to fight with so hard with the staff at the beginning about time-share crap.

Room Tip: Stay at the Playa Grande
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jglinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Below is the review I submitted to the property management upon our return home, they requested our input. Let me give you some details about us first. We are a family of four with two boys ages 11 &14. We vacation a lot, hotels, condos, cruises etc. We prefer Marriott but by no means always stay with them. We traveled to Cabo after a very busy sports travel filled summer for a week of complete relaxation. We own this timeshare and use my mom's Desert Springs VII often so we know that daily maid service is a LUXURY at this resort:

We are owners of penthouse J582 (Nov.) and exchanged our week for a one bedroom G2361 during the summer (August 4-11, 2012)so our kids could come. The unit is not really big enough for a family of four, the chair-bed is tiny and the couch is smaller than normal. It made it hard for our two growing sons to sleep comfortably. Two couples vacationing together would be uncomfortable in this sleeps four, one bedroom. Also, one of the two cook top burners, the bigger one, did not operate properly making it difficult to cook. The kitchen appliances are very outdated. I do understand that a remodel is coming soon and a flat screen TV was installed while we were there. We cook in breakfast and lunch and had WhereinCabos.com deliver our week's worth of groceries when we arrived. I cannot recommend them enough!

The construction of Grand Solmar was mildly annoying, we chose to spend our pool days at Playa Grande or beach days at Medano. We got the feeling that the staff (restaurant/pool) were unhappy, possibly since the resort was shutting down for the season. We are not interested in pool activities so the lack of them was not a problem.

We did get the feeling that the visitors to the resort while we were there were locals who were brought in to fill the units. While this does not bother us as we love learning languages and cultures, it seemed like it was big, loud families taking advantage of the pool, a few of them in clothing instead of swim suits. Possibly they offer a discount for a few days and give them all inclusive? Not the normal timeshare resort feel that we are used to.

Javier at check in was very accommodating and helpful. Our maid Patty was fantastic and a treat to have every day! Armando at the Lobby Bar at Playa Grande was our favorite and we went over to eat dinner with him three different nights. We also always go to Romeo and Julietta's for dinner, a short walk down the street, they serve fantastic Italian food.

We don't know what will come of our unit or if we will be moved eventually to Grand Solmar. We will not likely come back to Solmar itself as we prefer Playa Grande and have stayed there twice.

Room Tip: Higher floor Beach club rooms have great ocean views but no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of being the guests at one of the most Authentic,Clean,Hospitable Hotels in all of Mexico. We have been going to Mexico for over 30 years with freinds, family, kids and we are so pleased with such a quaint and freindly Hotel located with in walking distance of town and one of few that have a Sunset view in the Winter Months. The food is cooked to order and the bartender is well versed. The fire pits on the Beach are warm and inviting as is the Hot Tub in the December evenings.We will be returning in December and are hoping the prices will be affordable. If you are in to a high rise active party atmosphere this is not for you.


Candy Rayburn Oregon City, Oregon

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I had a great 10 day stay at the Solmar Resort! All the staff were helpful and generous and added to the friendly atmosphere. The restaurant for the all inclusive was excellent and the servers were very friendly and enjoyable. Tomas, Moises, and Daniel were great! The activities director Jose was also very welcoming. You can't swim in the beach, but the views are spectacular and there are hardly any tourists to ruin the beautiful views. Upon checking in, we received a free upgrade to a Deluxe suite and were hardly hassled by any of the time share people. The smaller, less crowded atmosphere is great for families, individuals, and couples alike! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Rachel B. from Carlsbad, California;

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay in Solmar Resort. As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay at Solmar and the services received has been according to your expectations.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Come back soon!! It will be our pleasure host you and provide an even better service.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Solmar Beach. The rooms were very spacious and both the rooms and the grounds are well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. The resort is older and a little outdated compared to the new mega or luxury resorts but the size makes it really convenient and accessible to be at the pool and/or go back to our room. We had a view of the ocean from our room and Solmars private beach is beautiful and very nice to watch the waves. For a day of swimming and playing we took a water taxi from the Marina to Medona beach which was very entertaining and fun but the quietness of Solmar is very relaxing.

We chose not to do the inclusive because we enjoyed eating on our patio for breakfast, sharing a sandwich poolside and then going into town in the evening. We easily walked to town but sometimes took a $5 taxi back after dinner or dancing. The food we did have on property was good and reasonably priced. A market is within easy walking distance for small items or if you prefer you can taxi or drive to larger grocery store. For those that prefer the all inclusive I understand that they have an option to purchase a 'two-day' only all inclusive which is a really great way to get the best of both worlds.

The Grand Solmar "next door' was open but there is still construction which can be viewed and heard from Solmar. Sometimes that was distracting and other times interesting to watch. The best part of the new resort is that it is basically on the same property andwe were welcomed with open arms. We enjoyed the higher end luxury Grand Solmar and their other sister property Playa Grand next door. Staff was welcoming and there was no issue with us enjoying those pools or amenities. You can even charge back to your room at Solmar and take the short shuttle to/from Playa Grand. It was nice to have the variety with the three properties so close to each other.

I have done the 'timeshare presentations' before and find my time and relaxation is worth more then the freebie you get for the hassle so I recommend just saying a firm 'NO' upfront and they will leave you alone. It is easy to find discounts on excursions without wasting a few aggravating hours to get it for 'free'.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Powertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear customer from Washington;

On behalf of Solmar Resort, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service of our staff.
certainly the sea views from the hotel are charming from the incredible sunrises to sunsets and the closeness to down town without losing privacy is very convenient.

Thanks again for your visit, hope to see you soon again!

cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#21 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing