We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice - but basic”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Elcho, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice - but basic”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Solmar seems a bit past it's prime, especially when compared to the gigantic and luxurious Grand Solmar being built only a short distance away. Not much for amenities, two pools, restaurant (very expensive), internet access that you have to pay for, and two bars, one in the main pool and one near the upper pool. Not much going on, no planned activities, very quiet (except for some minor construction noise - you can see the construction crane all the time). The staff, however, was very nice, and the rooms were clean if not outstanding. I would not suggest buying into the "all inclusive beverage package" because as soon as we did, the service - which was slow to begin with - got much worse. It was like a contest to see if we could get our moneys worth. We almost never had anyone ask us if we wanted drinks when we were sitting in the pool areas and basically had to get out of our chairs to get drinks every time - it was ridiculous. So, if you want to be pampered, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU. If you want a quiet place away from the action - you may like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debhat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Debhat70

Thank you for Taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort, your comments are of great Importance to us.

I offer you a sincere apology for the experience of atypical service you had. We have taken the necessary steps with our managers to meet our standards since because of our size the good service has been characterized us. At the same time I'm glad to know that our personnel were nice to you.

Certainly this is a rustic Mexican style resort privileged by it´s location sharing private beach with five diamond hotels at prices much more reasonable and a few steps of down town.

Thanks again for visiting us and sharing your experience.

cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    515
    193
    98
    55
See reviews for
323
804
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I spent 4 days/3nights at this resort, it is quiet, the view is breathe-taking, the food is delicious, and the hotel staff are some of the kindest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. I have only one suggestion, and that is the ditch the time share presentation...the experience is an invasion of time and cheapens the vacation experience. One of the reps, Angelo, was very rude and combative....a complete and total jerk. I had a wonderful time and had such positive interactions with the staff, I hate that one rude individual took away from that. Overall, I would encourage anybody traveling to Cabo to stay at this resort because it is beautiful and well maintained, but avoid the time share people at all costs.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground facing the pool, it was beautiful and very peaceful, at night I could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamala G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Tamala G.

On behalf of Solmar Resort We want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Please accept our sincerely apology due to the experience you had with the time share people. At the same time we are glad to know you have enjoyed our facilities, the food and the service of our personnel.

Once we appreciate your comments, as a valued guest, your opinion is of great importance as it helps us to get better.

We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late May and had an excellent time. Here's some highlights:
* Cheap: had a deal on living social and stayed for 4 days for $800 total. As it was an all-inclusive that meant free food and drinks all day. Also got 50% off of scuba diving through the promotion.
* Quality Resort: Room was great, we were upgraded to a luxury suite. The resort is definitely a little old, so some things didn't work quite as well as you would like (the room jacuzzi temperature wasn't hot, they had someone in to fix it the first day but couldn't get it to work. We didn't really care as we spent most of our time at the pool). The resort itself isn't enormous but has two pool areas and 3 bars and wasn't too busy during the week. Also, if you want to use the gym, their sister resort has a great one that is only a 3 minute shuttle ride away (and they run the shuttles non-stop).
* Awesome Food and drink: This was the biggest surprise for me, I didn't think the food would be that good of quality but it definitely was. Suggest the catch of the day for sure, also the nachos and shrimp tacos. And for drinks their pina coladas are great, otherwise I mostly drank beer.
* Pleasant staff: Everyone was very nice and attentive; we did notice that when the resort got busier during the weekend, the wait for drinks got a little longer but that's to be expected.
* Good location: only 15-20 minute walk from the pier and downtown Cabo

Only downside is the construction going on at their sister hotel nearby, but its not too loud and never bothered us. And its certainly not a resort like ME with parties going on non-stop, so wouldn't recommend to people looking for that type of experience.

I know we're looking forward to our next chance to visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bauer_justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear bauer_justin;

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort.

We appreciate your maintenance reports we are taking care. At the same time we are glad to know you had a good vacation with us and you have enjoyed our location, drinks, service and the food. Certainly due to our resort' size our chef can offer fresh food just cooked at the time providing good quality to our customers at difference of the buffet food.

Once again we thank you for visiting us, it will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Solmar 5/28-6/2. We had an excellent time with great food and great service. Cristina, our concierge was amazing. She was extremely helpful, nice and patient when helping us plan our activities. Javier was also very friendly and helpful as well. This is an older resort but well maintained. We would definitely go back. Service at the restaurant was slow at times, but it was worth the wait. There is construction going on (8am to 6pm), but it really didn't bother us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Ms. Maira;

First of all we thank you for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar.
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations and the service of our personnel. We are working with our food and beverage staff to make the service more agile.

You will be happy to know we are working to refresh our suites. We intend to make them bright, fresh and comfortable to our customers.

Once again we thank you for your visit, come back soon!!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed at the Solmar Resort 5/13 - 5/19. Staff was very polite and helpful and almost all spoke very good English. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and housekeeping staff was very good. Food was very good, whether ala carte or buffet meals. All-inclusive was the way to go for us. Location was great - 10 minute walk to the Marina and 15 to downtown. The only thing we didn't care for was the length of time it took to get a ticket to sign for the meal. I assume they do this keep track of their expenses, but it took awhile after we we done eating to get this. But overall, a great place to stay. We REALLY enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teerif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Teerif;

Thank you very much for taking a time to share your experiences at Solmar Resort. We are glad to know you have enjoyed the warmest of our personnel, our food, location and the resort. Thank you once again for your comments they help us to improve.

Come back soon!!

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Three couples spent a week at Solmar and had a great time. The resort was immaculate and the staff all spoke english and were very polite and helpful. The food was outstanding with a good selection. Make sure you go all inclusive because the prices for food and drinks to the time share owners was very high. You can not swim at the beach because of the undertows but you could lay at the pool and listen to the waves crashing. We used Transcabo transportation from the airport and the Solmar shuttle back and they were both very good. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get on a top floor with an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank abbytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear abbytwo;

Greetings from Cabo!!

We thank you for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar Resort, your comments are of great importance to us.

We are pleased to know you and your friends have enjoyed your vacations. It is our goal to full fill your expectatives.

Thank you again for your visit we hope to see you again with more family and friends, it will be our pleasure to host you.


Cordially

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENCINO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This was my second time today, but the first time for my husband. We had an amazing time together! We were there from April 26th - April 29th. It was perfect! We did everything that we wanted to do and even extra things that were not in our plan. The weather wasn't the greatest (it was hot, but not as hot as we thought it would be for late April). We loved where we stayed! The people that work there are great, the luxury suite was bigger than our one bedroom back home. We enjoyed having two bathrooms. The food was great! The mixed drinks were great (the ones I tried)! We just loved it! We want to go back again in two years to the same resort because we loved it to much! We had a great experience and so Happy that we stayed at Solmar Resort!

Room Tip: The best is if you get a view of the beach! The view is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LosChabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Los Chabos;

Warm greetings from Cabo!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort.

We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your vacation, the service of our personnel, the food, beverages and accommodation. It is our goal to full fill your expectative.

Thank you again for your patronage and do not wait too much to give us the opportunity to pamper you.

Cordially

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#21 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing