We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MT.Rushmore travelers”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MT.Rushmore travelers”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

From the time we arrived to Solmar resort we truly enjoyed all the amenities they had to offer from our jr. Suite ocean side room. We enjoyed the pool,drinks and dinning outside. We took our 18 yr. Daughter that always felt safe. We will go back to Solmar for our next trip.

Room Tip: Next time we will get connecting room, but we had plenty of room. It was always quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    530
    199
    98
    57
See reviews for
347
832
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent a week at the Solmar in November. One night was at the all inclusive rate and 6 nights with a time share.
The all inclusive was awesome, being able to dine and drink with no bill. The alacarte is great. Food was excellent and presentation fabulous.
Once the time share kicked in we found the restaurant very expensive.
The room was funky and clean. The space was great. The resort is under construction which takes away from the overall beauty, however we still had a great time. The staff was wonderful and the customers were a nice mix. The walk to the marina was perfect, where there are plenty of restaurants and bars. The new Lands End is unreal. Pools are excellent. But, again expensive.
The beach is beautiful to look at, but the surf is pure suicide.
I'll return to this resort.
Too bad this site does not have a rating titled "good". The ratings jump from average to Very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed 1 night at the resort after a dive trip with the Solmar V, and it was very pretty when we walked in to the resort. They allowed us a early check in and that may have been why we got a room next to the office. Pretty noisy until about 11 pm, then at midnight started the watering plants by an employee. The water sprocket was on our outer wall, and the pipes were inside our walls, so every time they filled a bucket, you could hear them as well as them talking.
I think it was just luck of the draw the room we got and probably the rest are just fine. The place is lovely and the ocean is close to the resort. Walk down the beach and see the main town, but not able to walk thru to it, that's OK.
Restaurant was nice on the property and we had a good time watching the ocean out fron during the day. You cannot swim in the ocean due to rip currents. Swim pool is very nice. I would go back but watch what room you take.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the office and water outlets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Been a fan of Solmar, its extra friendly staff, and unique location, for quite a while. With the new Grand Somar construction, however, the "old Solmar" is literaly getting left in the dust. The staff remains way above par, and friendliness abounds, yet the physical changes cannot be overlooked. The old swim up bar by the pool is gone, the views are dramtcially altered with the new buildings and the general laid back atmosphere is less evidednt. Such a shame. Once all the new construction is done, in a couple of years, the grand vistas will be lost for the current building, with only peeks between the new highrises. But then, the Grand Solmar views will have become the premier choice.

Progress? Improvement? Hard tos ay, but change is never so simple, especially with such a unique locatiion on the beach closest to the arch. Somewhat bittersweet.

Room Tip: Upper levels offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I first visited Cabo in 1980 and fell in love with Solmar, purchased a timeshare in 1998 & another a couple of years later. We loved it so much we wanted to share with family & friends. Now for the last few years i wonder if I will even go back. I have lost the beautiful Lobby, the great resturant built in to the rocks, the view, the original swim up bar, the access to the beach everytime I go there is another thing gone. I do not see anything taking its place of any value. We now share the pool with cruise ships overflowing with babies in diapers in the pool. Who wants to go in after that??? As an owner you are ignored at the pool it is all about AI or cruise people. Food & drinks are not what they use to be. I even heard the cruise people state that it is a rip off. I heard they paid $85.00 per person for food, drinks and use of pool.

Along with the private parties that go on way past my bedtime. No more real happy hour since almost everyone is AI and it makes no difference.drinks and food are not what they use to be. What do they care since it is cruise ship people or AI? and they wonder why we are unhappy?? and don't want to buy at the Grand??

To top it off they had newly hatched baby turtles in a box showing them around the pool and had an activity to put them in the ocean @ 5 p.m. that night. Supposedly they were saving them from predators.

Very disappointed with the way things are going. All about the $$$ no longer Senior Blunes who cared about the people and wanting to make a nice resort to be enjoyed by families.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Babbit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Been going to Cabo since 1986 when there were only three resorts.....sure has changed.
Very commerial and expensive in town......especially restaurants.....The cruise ships visit four times a week......so be prepared for crowds......Solmar is in the stages of re-building...be ready for lots of noise and dust....lf your looking for quite this is the wrong resort......A taxie into town will run you around $6.00 one way.......From talking with quite a few cab drivers Cabo is expensive compared to other mexico destinations.......Solmar is devided by two resorts...the new grand solmar......and the remaining older half.........Solmar has only one restaurant due to the on going construction.....food is average yet expensive..plan on paying around $28.00 average for breakfest for two.....and dinner much higher......You might want to buy your own food and especially beer,etc. in town.......you save in the long run.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gruberbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I visited the resort in October 2011 with my sister, cousin, her cousin and grandmother and a friend for my cousin's 30th birthday.

Upon arrival to the hotel lobby I was shocked to see what it looked like. The lobby wasn't even on par with an economy motel's lobby, which worried me because with all the research we had done I definitely hadn't seen anything like that in the photos. However, after the check-in process we got to our room and it definitely wasn't as bad. It was dated, but it was spacious and charming, and had great views. We arrived 20 minutes prior to them shutting down the kitchen and drink service (10pm, which I feel is entirely too early). The staff was happy to serve us drinks and whatever we wanted off the menu.

Found out the next morning that there actually isn't a workout room on-site, but a couple hotels down the beach at Playa Grande. Their workout room, and hotel for that matter, was beautiful. They also seemed to have all of the activities going on at their hotel as well. Depending on who you asked at our hotel, we could have participated in the activities.

Many times when we asked for bottled water we stood for 20 minutes waiting for it when we were right next to the swim-up bar and it should have easily taken 2 minutes.

Drinks were very watered down. Even asking for a double didn't seem to help. The only wine included in the all-inclusive package was wine in a jug.

The staff was very accommodating and twice set up dinner tables for us on the beach.

The resort was very close to bars downtown.

The food was all very good. The sushi bar set up at the pool was excellent. I would definitely go with the all-inclusive option as the prices listed on the menu were outrageous.

The water is too rough to swim in at this resort's beach. (I knew that going in, but just FYI).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoJillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,123 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,748 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing