We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, does not merit the number 1 spot on tripadvisor”
Review of Misiones De Kino

Misiones De Kino
Ranked #12 of 634 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Misiones de Kino Pasta Bella & Bar “Where Mexico and Little Italy meet for a true culinary experience” We have dedicated our Restaurant in honor of Padre Eusebio Francisco Kino Eusebio Francisco Kino (August 1645 – March 15 1711) was a priest from a town in what is now northern Italy. For the last 24 years of his life he proved that Baja California is not an island but a peninsula by leading an overland expedition there. By the time of his death he had established 24 missions and visitas (country chapels or visiting stations). Misiones de Kino is our “visita” (visiting station) for new and old friends, to share wine and break bread with each other. We welcome you to come and enjoy the tranquility and seclusion of an early Baja style Mission. Misiones de Kino specializes in authentic Mexican, seafood dishes and exquisite Italian cuisine, all brought to you by our family Trattoria.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was a fine restaurant. When we went for dinner, it was empty, and it was down a poorly lit street, a little further away from the downtown area than other places we went to. Our food was good, the mojito I ordered was green (meaning it was made from some syrup, which is not what I hoped for), and came in a Texas sized goblet. The food was quite good.

That this place hit the #1 spot on tripadvisor provides an insight into how tripadvisor works - this wasn't fine dining, it wasn't the liveliest night spot, it wasn't the easiest to find, and it wasn't the cheapest. But it seems to have hit the sweet spot with its customers, and from other reviews, service and management seems to be very active in engaging with them. We found our servers to be very polite, and as attentive as necessary.

This is not the place for your special night out in Cabo, but it is a great place to have a dinner or two during the week you spend in Cabo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BairdWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for coming in and giving your feed back.

Let me reassure you we do not use premade mix, we make our Mojitos in the blender so the mint is infused through the entire drink with only all fresh ingredients, please know we will replace or remake anything at no charge we want our clients to be happy.

And yes I agree we are not fine dining and we are not a taco stop either, all restaurants our grouped together, so I am sorry if you were led to think other wise.

I hope you enjoyed dining with us, and will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 663 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Chippala shrimp is the best, it's a signature dish! But everything is great and the outside venue is a delight!

Thank debeaux77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

What can I say its all in the sauce! The Israel's secret Garlic sauce AKA Chilpala sauce has become our signature sauce, which comes in several of our menus dishes and a few off the menu too, ask for the Renee special next time you come, years ago she decided she wanted it over seafood with pasta and the word got around, hate to admit she was onto something.

Thanks again for coming in and spreading the news

See you next time, and if my wife is there she'll guide you wisely with the Chilpala selection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Overall great experience. We will be going back in August. Food was terrific but a little pricey by a few dollars. Still dinner, app, soup, and 4 drinks came to $72. Crab cakes delicious, tortilla soup mouth watering, scallops were large sea scallops,

The stop is added to our must visit each time we come to Cabo

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rusty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We made the list, we are honored. Sounds like you guys had a great meal and time. We look forward to seeing you in August, if you haven't came down before in August, its a bit warm, the good side is the town is a little less busy which is also nice.

Thank you for coming in and for reviewing us, your feed back means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am not sure this restaurant deserves the #1 spot for Cabo restaurants but it was very tasty and the service was friendly. We had a bit of trouble finding the place as it was off the main road and we had to walk through a dark street to get to it. I may not have gone if I was not with my boyfriend. But it was worth the search. Probably one of the best Shrimp Kebabs I have ever had! yum! It is clean and inviting and certainly worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Please thank your boyfriend for guiding you two in. We are off the beat and path, and if you haven't dined with us prior hard to find, but I am grateful you took the time to do it.

The best Shrimp Kabobs you've ever had, we like hearing that!

I hope we get to see you for another visit when your in Cabo again.

And thank you again for coming in and for telling others about your visit with us, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just discovered this intimate gem of a restaurant. Misiones specializes in upscale Mexican dining. The ambiance, like the food, was superb!

Thank Reina-de-cafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for the review, I am glad you enjoyed dining with us.

And thank you again for taking the time to review us, it helps our business and we appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misiones De Kino also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Misiones De Kino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing